We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, quirky and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Save Saved
You added Silver Saddle Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Saddle Motel
2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, quirky and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I love this place. It is a small, family owned inn. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The place is cowboy themed and a lot of fun. It is clean and well maintained. The included breakfast is simple but complete.

I will be back when I come through Santa Fe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    105
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
151
43
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I liked this hotel the moment I pulled in. Very Vintage and Retro. I was traveling with my two Saint Bernards. We were in the Buffalo Girls room. The place was really clean. the towels semi-thick. Water pressure had some pressure. NO FUNKY SMELLS. The rug looked up dated and very decent. Bed was wobbly/bouncy, but comfortable. They had Xfinity, I got pretty decent channels. I got to see my shows.The outlets...lol...you'll see. They worked. I could hear the neighbors faucet when brushing their teeth.That's because the TV was off.The furnace worked well.The room was nice and toasty and the location was safe and secure. The front office had a pleasant atmosphere because the People who work there ROCK! and breakfast was great for those on the go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at the Silver Saddle Motel during a roadtrip. The exterior of the motel had loads of character with old american cars parked outside. The reception area was also full of character and the owners and staff really friendly. We stayed in The Gambler room which was very homely and full of character. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom and shower very clean. The breakfast area was in the lobby and a great selection was provided including fresh fruit and jam in jars instead of sachets. There was a great choice of pastries and muffins too! A great little motel with plenty of charm and character. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Silver Saddle motel is conveniently located on Cerrillos Road, a short distance from the plaza, the museums, and the Interstate.
The rooms were absolutely clean and attractive. The staff were wonderful for giving advice for walks, activities and restaurants. An aedequate breakfast of cereal, fruit, bagels, and hard cooked egg is included. And, the charge was very reasonably priced. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room #1 had a big bathroom. There was some noise in the a.m. for breakfast preparation, but otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Family run motel, which is more what you would expect from an independent motel. Great, charming rooms, which are clean and spacious. The breakfast had great variety. Wireless worked well. The owners give good advises on the activities and sightseeing around Santa Fe.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

During our trek around New Mexico, SS by far offered the most memorable hotel stays. We stayed in the Willie Nelson room: clean, comfortable and spacious. Kitschy decor and pictures of Mr. Nelson filled our room. That's the thing about this hotel, there is so much character. If/when we go to Santa Fe, we'll definitely have to try another room.

Breakfast is basic, but enough to get you through the day. There's oatmeal, breads, bagel, peanut butter, packaged pastries, coffee, juice. If you're looking for something more hearty, ask the knowledgeable staff for recommendations. Speaking of, they're very friendly and attentive. I witnessed an interaction where a group of friends arrived early and the clerk offered them early check-in...nice touch.

The hotel is about three miles outside of the plaza. There is a bus that offers direct service to the center of town. Seeing that we had a car, though, we opted to drive. Again, the ever-helpful staff pointed out places where we could park for free.

Silver Saddle is a really great place to stay. It's comfortable and the staff are very helpful. If you find yourself in Santa Fe, be sure to stay a night (or two).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable king bed, although there seemed to be plastic sheeting on the mattress (as noted by others). Bathroom was small, but clean, with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast in the lobby was the best part of the day; a great opportunity to see the quirky characters who stay here. The motel was quiet, despite being located on one of the main roads into Santa Fe. The room decor is adorable--we stayed in the Wyatt Earp Room. The rate was $45/night plus tax. Friendly staff. Biggest drawback is that the motel is pet-friendly, so my husband suffered from allergies during our entire stay. And the room smelled like bleach.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowgirlup2, Assistant Manager at Silver Saddle Motel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and we always use our customer's feedback to continuously improve our motel. Only a select few of our rooms are pet-friendly and we do our best to place guests in rooms according to whether they have a pet or not. It's our policy to perform a thorough cleaning of pet rooms after a stay which includes washing all linens – blankets, pillows and comforters. Also the majority of our pet rooms have tile floors to aide with the removal of pet hair. Once again thanks for your input and we look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Charming, Roman...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Inn of the Five Graces
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
1.0 mi away
El Rey Inn
El Rey Inn
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Romantic, Free...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
14.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Saddle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.