We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charm city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Saddle Motel

Save Saved
You added Silver Saddle Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Saddle Motel
2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“charm city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

this motel is full of character...a very helpful, courteous staff...very comfortable rooms with lively decor...and you can't beat the price...I would recommend this motel to all my friends...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    101
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
146
42
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay for 4 nights while visiting Santa Fe and Taos. Only a short drive to the historic and downtown area of Santa Fe made this a great central location. The staff is very friendly and helpful with answering questions and providing suggestions and directions for things to do. I stayed in a cowgirl themed room, which was tasteful, yet still unique, fun, and different than any standard commercial motel or hotel I could have stayed in. With all the western decor, comfortable chairs and table, television, and mini fridge, this room felt more like studio living than a standard motel room. I stayed here by myself and felt safe in the area and especially liked the convenience of parking in front of my room which made for easy unpacking. If you're looking for a charming, clean, comfortable, and bright place to stay and don't mind being a few miles from the main parts of downtown, then I couldn't imagine it getting any better for a Santa Fe trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a last minute hotel in Santa Fe and decided to check this one out due to the reviews. Because the hotel we stayed in the night before was a total let down, we asked to see the rooms before booking. We were not disappointed. It's a small hotel, but very charming with clean and uniquely decorated rooms. We chose room 1 since it was empty and bigger than the other double bed rooms. It was very roomy, had a large shower, microwave, frig, and a lot of cable channels. The beds were comfortable and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had great conversations with the man who checked us in and the woman who checked us out in the morning. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Clean, nice looking, friendly staff. Only budget place we could find that allowed dogs. $10 fee for each dog and we had two so we paid $80 a night. Our dogs barked when we left them there for dinner and some guests complained and they just called us and told us to come back. they were really nice about it and didn't kick us out or anything. Strong air freshener smell and everything is really old but I really appreciate places like this. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We liked the Silver Saddle for its pleasant retro feel and friendly service. Apparently it is appreciated particularly by foreign visitors eager for an experience of the area other than the sterile chain motels. Good value, clean; friendly service. Has been owned for many years by a mother and daughter who live at the motel. Pleasant patio; bikes available. Was recommended to us by Santa Fe friends who have been recommending it to their guests for many years.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Wa.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

One of the nicest budget properties! Cute room, we stayed in Calamity Jane. Flat sceen t.v., free wi-fi that worked well. Room had a fridge and microwave, and the bed was comfy. Smallish room, but adequate for a few nights. The free continental breakfast consisted of toast, bagels, cereal, milk, bananas, apples, coffee, tea, o.j. and hot cocoa.
This motel is reminiscent of the Old Route 66 family motels of years gone by! Very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We were several doors down from the road. Not sure if it's noisy closer to the road, however. Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Great experience! The staff was friendly and wonderful!! The motel had a great retro feel to it..had the character of the west. Rooms were very clean!! Great additions were the microwave and refrigerators in the room. Beautiful flat screen tv and well connected wifi. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Continental breakfast met our needs. There was something for all of us. We didn't have a plan when we arrived in Santa Fe- when we asked for recommendations, we were given a great plan. I never would have discovered the church in Chimayo had it not been recommended. The staff knows the area and I noticed that everyone was given personalized service. The money we saved staying here makes travel affordable. It was a great value. It was a nice change from the chain hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Saddle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Saddle Motel

Address: 2810 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silver Saddle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Saddle Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Saddle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.