We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the better Marriott qualities but not all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #36 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some of the better Marriott qualities but not all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

You can soon tell that this wasn't built to be a Courtyard but another chain. The staff was friendly and efficient, one of the things we acknowledge and appreciate about most Marriott properties. Our room was clean and we had no problems with it at all. The tiled, open corridors can be noisy but didn't pose a real issue. Our 2nd night there, a large family was put in the room next to us, and I think they decided to leave the room, then return, one by one at 6 a.m.! It was very annoying and made me wonder if there could be some way to separate couples from families at these larger properties. It would certainly have been appreciated! This hotel is 4 miles from the Plaza area and all the action. A weekend in July is such a busy time there that we tired quickly of the traffic and drive to get into town. There were some restaurants in the area so didn't have to go far for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jean_2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a 1980 Holiday Inn in Marriott clothing. Perfect example of how not to refurb a hotel. Room still smells of cigarettes, floors creak and the beds are cardboard with pillows to match.
Stay in a top floor room youll have a fighting chance to rest, no insulation between floors!
Sooo disappointed. If you dont care and can sleep anywhere this is a great choice! Seriously consider other lodging!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
10 Thank ModBiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. Unfortunately, we did not come close to meeting your expectations. I can assure you that your comments are not taken lightly, especially the smoke smell, since our hotel is smoke free. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure this does not happen in the future, if you would be kind enough to let me know the room you were in, we can address this issue.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and show you have great of a hotel we are! If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800

Sincerely,

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Showing signs of age. Our room had stains on the carpet, grout in the tub had mold and we had no microwave. There was a frig. Very disappointing. I'd look for another place to stay. Very noisy with tile floored corridors. Had a swimming pool but didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We appreciate the feedback and comments regarding your stay with us; I do apologize for condition of your room during your stay. All feedback, positive and negative is reviewed with all team members - if you would be kind enough to let me know the room you stayed in so we may address this room as we recently finished a major renovation and what you experienced is disappointing to hear. Thank you very much for your business and we hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to Santa Fe.


Steve Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We needed a handicap room & were traveling with our granddaughter, so we needed 2 beds. We were told that all handicap rooms have only 1 king bed & the room was not large enough for a rollaway. We had contacted Marriott before leaving home & received the same response. Since we were meeting family members there & wanted to take the opera shuttle that stopped there, we went ahead w/our reservation for 2 queens, non-handicap. The bathtub was a real challenge.
Courtyard has a complimentary shuttle to downtown Santa Fe, which we took & were told by Lawrence, the driver, to call about15 to 20 minutes before we wanted to be picked up. When we called, we were told that the shuttle was taking someone to the Albuquerque airport & wouldn't be able to pick us up for 2 hours. Since we had to be ready by 4:30 to board the opera shuttle, we were in a bind. We were told that Santa Fe has only 1 taxi company, so we'd be better off taking the city bus. The receptionist told us where to catch the bus. We waited for over 30 min. when someone on a bike came by & told us the bus wasn't stopping there because of construction. We had to walk 4 blocks to the new bus stop.
We had lots more walking than we ever expected & were less than happy when we finally arrived back at the hotel.
The communication at the hotel needs to be improved. Promises need to be honored (like having the shuttle available).
The hotel manager finally agreed to give us one night free.
Courtyard does not offer breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you providing feed back on your most recebnt stay.

Please accept my apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We did not live up to our normal expectations during your stay.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and the feedback you give about your experiences with the shuttle and staff give us items to correct so they do not happen again int eh furure. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Despite our request for two king rooms, we were given two queen units that were handicapped accessible. The bathroom featured an enormous plastic and metal shower bench that made it difficult to use the other bathroom features properly.

The air conditioner in our room sounded like a diesel freight train idling all night long, and providing almost no cooling. The desk was notified of the problem, promised someone would be around right away to get it fixed. Over an hour later we decided that because we were tired we would just go ahead and go to sleep.

GOOD LUCK WITH THAT. Sleep was almost impossible because of the rumbling and roaring of the air conditioner unit. The rooms we had looked very dated and threadbare . . . certainly not the quality we have been used to receiving at Courtyard for many years.

We definitely will not stay again at the Santa Fe Courtyard, and possibly will begin avoiding Courtyard altogether.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your most recent stay.

Please accept our apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. . Unfortunately, we did not live up to our expectations and dropped the ball. I can assure you that your experiences are not the norm for our property. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit and your issues have been addressed with Engineering and the Front Office.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Destination trip for small family reunion. Property was clean, updated and conveniently located. Staff was exception with the guest's visit always at the forefront. Special kiddos to Desiree (front desk) and Roberto (Bistro). Both went above and beyond to ensure our visit was both memorable and worry free.
Will definitely consider for our next stay even though it is out from downtown. They offer a wonderful shuttle to and from the square. Some of our party decided to stay longer and the shuttle made the transition worry free. Thank you for a great get-a-way!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for sharing your most recent expereinces about the Santa Fe Courtyard by Marriott. We are very pleased that your stay was excellent. We always strive to provide our guests with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is always aprreciated and shared with staff - in particular Deserea and Roberto this time who were able to help make your stay 'Great"! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Stephen Smith
General Manager'
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Used reward certificates for a 2d stay here; went to Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Opera.

In brief, this is a clean, but older hotel. Not many amenities. Would be suitable for business travel or budget vacation, but certainly not a hotel for a romantic getaway. Appeared to be kid friendly with an indoor pool. Located in an area of town replete with strip malls; easy drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts on the Santa Fe Courtyard by Marriott. We are delighted that you chose to stay with our property.

Again, thank you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Smith
General Manager
505-473-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe, The Hacienda and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
4.2 mi away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
14.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Address: 3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Motor Hotel featuring pueblo-style structural details & decor, located 4 miles south of downtown & the historic Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
Santa Fe Courtyard
Santa Fe Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing