We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the better Marriott qualities but not all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Some of the better Marriott qualities but not all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

You can soon tell that this wasn't built to be a Courtyard but another chain. The staff was friendly and efficient, one of the things we acknowledge and appreciate about most Marriott properties. Our room was clean and we had no problems with it at all. The tiled, open corridors can be noisy but didn't pose a real issue. Our 2nd night there, a large family was put in the room next to us, and I think they decided to leave the room, then return, one by one at 6 a.m.! It was very annoying and made me wonder if there could be some way to separate couples from families at these larger properties. It would certainly have been appreciated! This hotel is 4 miles from the Plaza area and all the action. A weekend in July is such a busy time there that we tired quickly of the traffic and drive to get into town. There were some restaurants in the area so didn't have to go far for a meal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and comments regarding your stay with us; I understand how it can be frustrating when next to larger families when trying to relax. We make every attempt to place our guests in the best area of the hotel that fits their needs. However, it is difficult at times when the hotel is constantly full during the summer season. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to your next trip to Santa Fe!

Sincerely,

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    132
    78
    22
    22
See reviews for
79
131
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is a 1980 Holiday Inn in Marriott clothing. Perfect example of how not to refurb a hotel. Room still smells of cigarettes, floors creak and the beds are cardboard with pillows to match.
Stay in a top floor room youll have a fighting chance to rest, no insulation between floors!
Sooo disappointed. If you dont care and can sleep anywhere this is a great choice! Seriously consider other lodging!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Please accept our apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. Unfortunately, we did not come close to meeting your expectations. I can assure you that your comments are not taken lightly, especially the smoke smell, since our hotel is smoke free. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure this does not happen in the future, if you would be kind enough to let me know the room you were in, we can address this issue.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and show you have great of a hotel we are! If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800

Sincerely,

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfair, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Showing signs of age. Our room had stains on the carpet, grout in the tub had mold and we had no microwave. There was a frig. Very disappointing. I'd look for another place to stay. Very noisy with tile floored corridors. Had a swimming pool but didn't use it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We appreciate the feedback and comments regarding your stay with us; I do apologize for condition of your room during your stay. All feedback, positive and negative is reviewed with all team members - if you would be kind enough to let me know the room you stayed in so we may address this room as we recently finished a major renovation and what you experienced is disappointing to hear. Thank you very much for your business and we hope you will give us another chance on your next trip to Santa Fe.


Steve Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We needed a handicap room & were traveling with our granddaughter, so we needed 2 beds. We were told that all handicap rooms have only 1 king bed & the room was not large enough for a rollaway. We had contacted Marriott before leaving home & received the same response. Since we were meeting family members there & wanted to take the opera shuttle that stopped there, we went ahead w/our reservation for 2 queens, non-handicap. The bathtub was a real challenge.
Courtyard has a complimentary shuttle to downtown Santa Fe, which we took & were told by Lawrence, the driver, to call about15 to 20 minutes before we wanted to be picked up. When we called, we were told that the shuttle was taking someone to the Albuquerque airport & wouldn't be able to pick us up for 2 hours. Since we had to be ready by 4:30 to board the opera shuttle, we were in a bind. We were told that Santa Fe has only 1 taxi company, so we'd be better off taking the city bus. The receptionist told us where to catch the bus. We waited for over 30 min. when someone on a bike came by & told us the bus wasn't stopping there because of construction. We had to walk 4 blocks to the new bus stop.
We had lots more walking than we ever expected & were less than happy when we finally arrived back at the hotel.
The communication at the hotel needs to be improved. Promises need to be honored (like having the shuttle available).
The hotel manager finally agreed to give us one night free.
Courtyard does not offer breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you providing feed back on your most recebnt stay.

Please accept my apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. We did not live up to our normal expectations during your stay.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and the feedback you give about your experiences with the shuttle and staff give us items to correct so they do not happen again int eh furure. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Despite our request for two king rooms, we were given two queen units that were handicapped accessible. The bathroom featured an enormous plastic and metal shower bench that made it difficult to use the other bathroom features properly.

The air conditioner in our room sounded like a diesel freight train idling all night long, and providing almost no cooling. The desk was notified of the problem, promised someone would be around right away to get it fixed. Over an hour later we decided that because we were tired we would just go ahead and go to sleep.

GOOD LUCK WITH THAT. Sleep was almost impossible because of the rumbling and roaring of the air conditioner unit. The rooms we had looked very dated and threadbare . . . certainly not the quality we have been used to receiving at Courtyard for many years.

We definitely will not stay again at the Santa Fe Courtyard, and possibly will begin avoiding Courtyard altogether.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your most recent stay.

Please accept our apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at our Hotel. . Unfortunately, we did not live up to our expectations and dropped the ball. I can assure you that your experiences are not the norm for our property. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit and your issues have been addressed with Engineering and the Front Office.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Stephen Smith
General Manager
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Destination trip for small family reunion. Property was clean, updated and conveniently located. Staff was exception with the guest's visit always at the forefront. Special kiddos to Desiree (front desk) and Roberto (Bistro). Both went above and beyond to ensure our visit was both memorable and worry free.
Will definitely consider for our next stay even though it is out from downtown. They offer a wonderful shuttle to and from the square. Some of our party decided to stay longer and the shuttle made the transition worry free. Thank you for a great get-a-way!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for sharing your most recent expereinces about the Santa Fe Courtyard by Marriott. We are very pleased that your stay was excellent. We always strive to provide our guests with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is always aprreciated and shared with staff - in particular Deserea and Roberto this time who were able to help make your stay 'Great"! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Santa Fe.

Stephen Smith
General Manager'
505.473.2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Used reward certificates for a 2d stay here; went to Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Opera.

In brief, this is a clean, but older hotel. Not many amenities. Would be suitable for business travel or budget vacation, but certainly not a hotel for a romantic getaway. Appeared to be kid friendly with an indoor pool. Located in an area of town replete with strip malls; easy drive to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts on the Santa Fe Courtyard by Marriott. We are delighted that you chose to stay with our property.

Again, thank you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,
Stephen Smith
General Manager
505-473-2800
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Address: 3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Motor Hotel featuring pueblo-style structural details & decor, located 4 miles south of downtown & the historic Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
Santa Fe Courtyard
Santa Fe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.