We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel despite active renovation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Clovis, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel despite active renovation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

As our hotel choice for a long weekend trip to Santa Fe, we enjoyed just about everything about the Courtyard. Our room was cool and comfortable, and not knowing what the rooms looked like before the remodel, we loved the décor (very similar to other Courtyards we've visited in the last few years.) I found the beds very comfortable, but my spouse said they were a little hard. We stayed in a corner room on the third floor (great for our family with two kids!) Our children enjoyed a few swims in the pool! We managed to only visit the lobby twice, so I can't speak for the food options, but it's my understanding that they are typical of Courtyard hotels. There is quite a bit of renovation going on around the property, but we never once heard any of it! The only signs of it are pallets of material in the back parking lot, and when you walk through the hotel corridors, you see rooms open as they are being remodeled. We had an issue it check-out with our reward points, but it was resolved quickly, and it was of no fault of the hotel's...probably my fault upon booking or a glitch in the rewards system. But Esther at the front desk was quick to fix it! Thanks so much, Esther! The only reason we've given this hotel a 4 and a not a 5 is that there were a few smokers sneaking out the back door (at the corner where our room was located) and even on the third floor, smoke came up to our room through the a/c intake. It was noticeable enough to be annoying, but we were fortunate to not have a room full of smoke. I'm not sure this would have been the case on the first or second floors. Hotel policy requires a distance of 15 feet from the property, which would have ensured us clean air, and it's a shame that guests can't follow that rule. When we brought it up with the staff, they said they would check and see if there are signs at that entrance. All in all, it's not a dealbreaker, and we will likely stay at this hotel again....we'll just request a room away from any exterior doors!

Room Tip: This hotel is larger and more spread out than other Courtyards, so consider asking for a room closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    127
    72
    21
    23
See reviews for
75
126
20
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Though the hotel was undergoing a renovation, we found the Courtyard by Marriott as expected -- a great value. We especially loved the barista in the restaurant, who was courteous, friendly and very knowledgeable about coffee. The room we stayed in was fully renovated and very spacious. It was clean and smelled fresh as well. We didn't visit the pool but it looked like it adjoined a charming courtyard. Though the hotel was away from the center of Santa Fe, it wasn't too far out. We also found some great shops to hunt for antiques and other collectibles along the way (and a Whole Foods for breakfast goodies). One final note: the renovation/construction noise was not troublesome and in fact, we heard nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room away from the main road and the construction staging area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Renovation, yes, hospitality, off the charts. Friendly and helpful. Our room, a suite, was apartment size and the bed was so comfortable. The atmosphere is simply relaxation. The pool area is clean and salt water. The restaurant served AMAZING meals and not horribly priced.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a trip across america. The reception was nice, clean and modern, Staff were polite and friendly. We were advised of the current building work and were given a choice of what floor we wanted to stay on and chose the newly refurbished third floor.

Having gone to our room we were not disappointed, free WI FI, modern and clean room with a large bed. Access to the indoor pool was on the ground floor and you have to remember your room key to get in as there is a security lock on the door which is good as well as the door leading to the car park. The pool is nice and big, with two seperate whirl pools and towels provided.

The location of the hotel is yards away from a fairly new retail outlet centre offering shops, bars and restaurants. As you drive out of the hotel turn right and its about a five minute drive. We went to Buffalo wings then to the cinema to catch the latest releases.

The hotel provides a bistro style cafe/restaurant offering various healthy meals, which were very tasty. There are niche little private pods where you can watch tv and relax whilst eating your breakfast. The one main problem with the bistro is no beer on tap. This would be a nice addition but despite that its pleasant enough.

If travelling to Santa Fe again I would return here.

Room Tip: We went for the third floor which had just recently been renovated, the room was large, modern and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a hotel of pluses and minuses. Got off to a poor start when the receptionist advised my husband to drive the car to a back door of the hotel while I pushed the empty luggage trolley across an inside courtyard to meet him. This was a ridiculous exercise which exposed my husband to the filthy tradesmen entrance followed by a trip in an equally dirty service elevator. It would have been far simpler to have left the car where it was and push the luggage on the trolley. ..
Our king bedroom suite was very pleasant and recently renovated and the newly refurbished public rooms are a delight. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were lumpy and made it difficult to get to sleep

But the staff could do better. It would have been nice to have been acknowledged (rather than ignored) when we came back into the hotel in the evening and when we left. When we did some food shopping from the hotel 'market' the receptionist incorrectly informed us we had a microwave in our room!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Of all the hotels I’ve stayed in, Santa Fe’s Courtyard by Marriott is easily in my top five.

Even though part of the hotel was under renovation, that didn’t keep us from enjoying our stay at all. Actually, we barely noticed the construction.

Guest rooms were clean and comfortable (we fit three people in one room).

We especially loved the hotel’s lobby, equipped with semi-private booths for lounging, a separate gathering area, and a fireplace. Next to the lobby is a dimly-lit restaurant and coffee bar where I was able to finish some work while munching on a pizza.

There’s even a temperature-controlled pool and two hot tubs, which, amazingly, I had all to myself during my stay. All three seemed brand new. My guess is they were part of the renovation.

The staff treated me and my friends like royalty.

The only catch is that breakfast is not included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us during your last trip to Santa Fe. I am very glad that you like our new refreshed Lobby too. The media pods are my favorite part of the new lobby too as they are perfect for watching your own TV and still receive table service in the evenings! Thank you again for your feedback!

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Gove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHLAKE, TEXAS
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Even though the hotel is not in the "center of things", the experience of staying there more than made up for the distance. Not only did the hotel have a shuttle back and forth to the downtown, but the staff were overly accommodating. Something we have come to expect - and be grateful for - when staying at Marriott's properties. In particular I wanted to say thank you to Chris Baby, Angela Salazar and Esther Rojas - for making sure our stay was a success.

Room Tip: We ended up with a small suite - separate bedroom and sitting area. Great idea for keeping a marria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback regarding your last stay! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I will let the team members you mentioned, know that they did a terrific job. I am sure they will be as delighted as I am, as we strive to make every guest feel at home while they are staying with us. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Gove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Address: 3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Motor Hotel featuring pueblo-style structural details & decor, located 4 miles south of downtown & the historic Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
Santa Fe Courtyard
Santa Fe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.