We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really surprised and disappointed in Marriott. The rooms need some updating or at least refreshing, ours was a little dingy and musty. Had a hard time with the key and found out another guest had the same problem. We realized the hotel lobby and restaurant are in the midst of renovation but the menu for dinner was very limited but the food was good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny G, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Nanadw,

Thank you so much for your feedback during your last stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Santa Fe. I wanted to let you know that our lobby renovation is now complete and our new Bistro is open! The Bistro now offers a wide selection of entrees and appetizers including Thai sweet chili wings, tomato mozzarella flatbread and Maryland jumbo lump crab cakes. As well we are proudly serving Starbucks coffee so you can enjoy your morning latte with breakfast. We would love to see you again to see our new refreshed look.

Thank you again!
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    132
    75
    22
    22
See reviews for
77
132
19
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We got a great rate on this hotel because of renovations. Our room was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Very few guests were there. We were just there overnite so did not need pool time. They are renovating the restaurant too so they had a bar and appetizers in the evening (which served as dinner for us). Free breakfast was a beautiful buffet with great fresh fruit, made to order omelettes and everything else delicious. Remodelling should be done in a month or so. We really enjoyed the renovative experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear SarahP, Thank you very much for your great comments. We have tried very hard during our refreshing period of the hotel to make things very comfortable. Moving our restaurant and bar into one room made a real "bar and grill" type of atmosphere. We are now back into the new and refreshed lobby space and will be opening the new Bistro on March 1, 2013. So I hope that you will come back and see our brand new hotel as soon as possible. Thank you again for letting us know about your recent stay. Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I really liked this hotel. The courtyard left a lot to be desired as far as a view goes, and we did find a condom wrapper in one of the drawers in the room, next to the bible, but aside from that the room was clean, and the layout of the place was great. We were able to find our way around town very easily. The concierge recommended a place to go for breakfast, and it is still by far the best breakfast my boyfriend and I have ever had. It is a little bit far from the main attractions of Santa Fe, but not anything terrible. The hotel breakfast was also good, and people came there to eat that weren't even staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Okruhlik1, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. I am delighted you liked the location and the breakfast. We have a great central location and one that makes getting to all the attractions very easy. Our front desk staff loves pointing not only attractions but also great restaurants around the city. Santa Fe is noted for it's culinary excellence and we want people to try these fun places. Thank you again for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott in Santa Fe. Hurry back soon. MIke Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Picked this hotel because of its Marriott Name. You know what your getting when you stop at a Marriott but the staff and service we received were fantastic. We had left behind a coat at another Marriott early in our trip and the team at Santa Fe tracked down the lost item and had it posted to their hotel before we departed 3 days later and never charged us for the postage or the hassle.
The only down side to the hotel is the gym equipment is a little dated but in the grand scheme of things that is not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Skelton87, thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent visit to the Courtyard by Marriott in Santa Fe. I am delighted that we were able to help you with your lost item. Our staff truly enjoys helping our guests anyway they can. Our hotel is going through the first phase of a refresh and the fitness center is part of that refresh. We will have all new equipment by March 1, 2013. Thank you again for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott. Please come back and see us real soon. Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is probably a good hotel when it is not under reconstruction!
We checked in on Dec 28th 2012 to find that the reception, lobby, bar, restaurant and swimming pool were all closed due to major ongoing construction. There was no indication of this on the hotel website. (We complained to Marriott and they were apologetic and I see that they have now updated their website to indicate that the hotel is being renovated.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear SydW, thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Courtyard in Santa Fe. We are refreshing our hotel but the lobby, the bar and restaurant have all been relocated not closed. The restaurant and bar are still offering the same drinks and the same steakhouse menu that we offered before just in a different location. All of this information has been on all our websites since early November. By late February you will be able to experience our new lobby, a complete new market area, a new menu in the Bistro restaurant and the exciting new "Go Board" which is the latest in technology and information systems. Please come back and us. We would love to show you all the exciting new amenties. MIke Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean and the room was fine (though there were no electrical outlets near the bed for plugging in cell phones). They were undergoing renovations, but it wasn't an inconvenience. What I didn't like was the layout of the hotel. Room doors all open to the outdoors. It's designed around little courtyards, 3 floors high. This is probably lovely in the summer, but it gets really cold in Santa Fe in the winter! Brrrrr! You have to bundle up to walk to breakfast! (Breakfast, BTW, was better than average.) So - stay there in warmer months, not in colder ones!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear EllzeyB, thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Santa Fe. Our refreshing new lobby and Bistro will be complete by late February and it will show case a great new menu, a new market area and the "Go Board" which is the latest in technology and information systems. Santa Fe has gone through an unusally cold winter but the temperatures have gone up into the mid to high 40's and it is beautiful for skiing and shopping. Thanks again for letting us know about your recent visit. Please come back and see us and see all the new amenities. Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for a night while in town. Lobby was closed but still checked in quickly. Looks like it willl be nice when they are finished in the spring. Rooms were clean and comfortable as on previous trips. Pool is closed right now. Didn't have breakfast here, but in the past it was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear TomH, thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent stay. All the changes are very exciting. Next spring we will be able to present a whole new look but with the same great service. New lobby, new pool and spa as well as a whole resuarant concept. Lots of fun!!! Thanks for your comments about the rooms. Our housekeep team works very hard and it's great to hear from our guests. Please come back and see us real soon. Mike Shoffit, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe

Address: 3347 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient Motor Hotel featuring pueblo-style structural details & decor, located 4 miles south of downtown & the historic Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Courtyard Santa Fe
Santa Fe Courtyard
Santa Fe Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.