We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask and you shall receive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast
229 McKenzie Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Evergreen, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ask and you shall receive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

That is the truth...anything I needed, I just had to speak up and someone came around to take care of it. Parking was a bit of an issue,,,,and they were out there right away. I could not work the TV...too many remotes and there they were again, to help me. And then a few days before I was getting ready to leave, I asked for a dolly if they had one. So there it was, right at my door on the day before my departure. I was truly pleased with the service. Karen in the breakfast area was on hand to help me make a reservation to go to the Georgia O'Keefe home...and she also made yummy breakfasts. And it was clean, too. What more could anyone want?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    10
    18
    12
See reviews for
28
88
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This bed and breakfast has the best prices in town and is conveniently located near the down-town. I've stayed at Casa del Toro every time I have visited Santa Fe in the fall. On one of my stays, they upgraded me to an entire house for only $88 at no extra charge (it was not booked at the time). The breakfast has always been tasty and hearty, depending on who the current cook was. Some may complain of how old each casita is and mis-matched the furniture is, but I enjoy how rustic and eclectic each is. My rooms were always clean as well. The only thing I would warn against is insuring that you don't temporarily park in a non-parking spot, as you will get a parking ticket from the city very quickly! I also recommend Bumblebees right down the road and the little French Cafe. All very good! Casa Del Toro is the best place to stay to save money and experience authentic Santa Fe. I would stay here any day over a motel/hotel on the main-strip. If you are wanting an five out five stars experience, this isn't the right place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The 2 bedroom B&B was fantastic! The place was clean & has a well laid out floor plan. The 2 bedroom were at opposite end of the house which gave us our own privacy if needed. Also had a small family room with a television or you can sit in the living room-dining room.

One of my favorite artist, Georgia O'Keefe Museum was just 700 feet away! Many great restaurants and museums were within walking distance.

Fantastic location for a great price! Definitely will be staying here again whenever I am in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I wanted to take a trip to sante fe saw this so called "bed and breakfast" getting there we drove in circle trying to find it when got there the office which wasn't an office at all was closed and there were keys with names in envelopes which none of them were ours had to call them to get our room. When they gave us our key we came to our place which had looked like a run down old shack. The place was old looking and smelling there were roaches crawling around the house and inside looked nothing like the pics posted on website. There was no iron hair dryer shampoo that were suppose to be provided and the dishes that were there were filthy. The only good part about the room was the bed was comfortable. The breakfast part was no breakfast in bed I have ever seen u had to walk blocks away to eat mini pastries and tea and coffee. I was very disappointed in this place!!!! Would not recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I assume people read only the 5-star and 1-star reviews, right?.

Well, I read the Terribles and I agree with most of the analysis. But for my purposes, these qualities make for an Excellent.

We stayed for three days in the two-bedroom duplex at 316A Staab ($88/night). Here's what it looks like:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_vXT33zvaaM

You can spit on the O'Keefe Museum from there. The Plaza is another two blocks.

It had a full kitchen (with plates & cutlery in the cupboards) with laundry facilities. The bathroom was sunny (a skylight) and new (remodeled). One queen and one king bed, on either side of the bathroom.

In general, the placed seemed spotless, clean and maintained. But yes, there was water damage on the wall and floor of the queen room. I wasn't bothered by it. (I don't think mold is allowed to grow in New Mexico.) The floor was a bit dusty everywhere, probably because all the windows are left open. Yes, even in July the adobe keeps the heat out. The "swamp box" referenced in on of the Terrible reviews was capable of cooling the whole apartment, but it didn't seem necessary most of the time.


It's a ten minute walk to Albertson's, and a 1.5 miles to Trader Joe's and Whole Foods. The local bus ($1 per trip, $2 for day pass) will haul you and your groceries back.

If you're an attorney, in town for a trial at the federal courthouse; or if you have some government business; you probably won't find a better intermediate-term accommodation. It's a block to the federal building, and about 4 blocks to the Capitol.

Canyon Road is easy walking/pedicab distance. The pedicab is actually kind of expensive, at a dollar per minute. Here's the view: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FggNvA923BU


If you go to Canyon Road, I recommend visiting the Wiford, even after business hours: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a9p5uLPAbQg

Room Tip: There was a barking dog next to the "office" house at 323 Mackenzie. The rest of the neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This a perfect location. Restaurants, shops, and galleries are a short walking distance. Nice place for the price and the best value in Santa Fe in my opinion. The place is clean and cute, but like mentioned above, the location beats it all. The Hosts are very nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, at the Staab St location. Really liked the location as downtown was completely walkable. (Some people might think 1 mile too far)
The room was not fancy, in fact rather antiquated. Everything functioned well, though. We were very happy with the value, and personal service we got.
Also note that B&B is for certain rooms only.
I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast

Address: 229 McKenzie Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable bed and breakfast in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Toro Hotel Santa Fe
Casa Del Toro Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.