We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Santa Fe Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast
229 McKenzie Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My Favorite Santa Fe Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We drive back and forth to Colorado several times a year and always spend a night or two or three in Santa Fe. We have stayed in several of the different Casa Del Toro units and have found them very comfortable, clean and well priced. Casa Del Toro is very pet friendly and is within short walking distance of the plaza.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    32
    10
    18
    12
See reviews for
28
87
32
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brewer ME
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My sister and I went down and stayed in the large casita ("room 9 Super Deluxe Patio and Hot Tub") with the outdoor jacuzzi. The casita was pleasant with a great kitchen and unexpected laundry on site. The ceilings were high and rooms were full of sunlight. There is a beautiful courtyard with broken seating. Georgia was a wonderful hostess with helpful info on the area and fantastic cook. Overall the walls were all painted cream with little to no decor, the furniture was shabby and the carpeting in the bedroom needed to be replaced. The jacuzzi was slimey and a great disappointment since we paid quite a bit to have it. We only used it once for a very short time and we were totally grossed out.
Getting the housekeeping in was like pulling teeth and then they were selective at best. I recieved an email from Paul the owner about two months after my stay. I answered his questions honestly and never heard back. I don't think I will do business with him again but I will stop in and say hello to Georgia.

Room Tip: Don't rent this casita at this price unless they have made upgrades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadeltoro, Owner at Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
We are definitely upgrading. Carpet was replaced after their stay. So was the "shabby" furniture. We have a distressed leather chair/recliner in this unit and it got a little TOO distressed. We took it to a local craftsman and had the leather replaced with an old Navajo rug and it looks fantastic!!

This has been a very difficult summer with heat and fires and I am sure the fires in particular, soot, contributed to the hot tub problem. We check the tub after every check out. I am sorry these women had a difficult time. We did refund them one night stay and offered them a free night the next time they come to Santa Fe.

As she said, overall this is a bright sunny room with a beautiful patio, a great breakfast, and great service. A couple of things slipped through the cracks but we are definitely closing up the cracks and hope she comes back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed in a casita for one night while in Santa Fe for business. Great location but I would not stay there again. The casita smelled like some kind of chemical which I finally figured out was probably bug spray or a bug fumigator.
The air conditioner - right next to the bed - was so loud I ended up sleeping on the couch.
There was a used towel left on the hook on back of the bathroom door.
Overall not a pleasant experience at all - a very unrestful night.
I did not have breakfast since it was served from 8:30 to 9:30 am and I had an 8 am meeting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadeltoro, Manager at Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
The thing that concerns me the most in this review is the smell issue. I have not been around much the last three years, I have been dealing with family issues back in Kansas. One of the first things I noticed when I got back was this funny odor in the rooms. I tracked down the cleaning crew and found out they were putting some sort of weird wood flooring treatment in the water they were using to mop the floors. I put a stop to that right away. It was about 2 days before this gentleman posted his review. It was definitely NOT any kind of insecticide and the rooms smell MUCH better.

As far as the A/C, it is less than 5 years old. There has been a lot of soot in the air and we did clean the filter after this review was posted. I think it's fine.

I am sorry the towel was left behind the door. We definitely did not do it on purpose.

And if you ask for an early breakfast we can definitely provide it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights at the 324 Staab St address. It's a 1 bed rental. On the plus side: walking distance to Sante Fe Plaza, good price and a lot of room.
Down side: didn't feel safe as solo female traveller, it's on ground level and some of the windows had bars over them. One window had no bars but had tape patching part of it together. The neighborhood was pretty dark and desolate at night, didn't like walking back to room at night. Unit also had swamp cooler which is either on or off, there was no adjusting the temperature settings. Wi-fi was low bandwidth, it was really difficult to maintain a Skype call.
Best thing about the room was the guy who came to fix things (couldn't get the tv to work)-he spent over 20 minutes with me showing me the best places to go on the map.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at Casa del Toro for ten days, and the room I picked was more like a studio apartment than a hotel room, which was very convenient for an extended stay. I had a well-equipped kitchenette, a sofa, kitchen table and chairs, along with the usual bedroom items. The room wasn't fancy but it was clean and pleasantly decorated. The locations is excellent, within easy walking distance of the plaza and all of the old Santa Fe attractions. The neighborhood is quiet and safe, with many dining options within a five-minute walk, and very little car traffic. The staff was friendly and responsive to problems. I only had breakfast there once (I had to leave too early for breakfast almost every day), but it was delicious and had an excellent local flair (I'm talking about some great posole here!).

Drawbacks... the main one for me was the air conditioning. The room had a single window unit mounted next to the bed, and it was really loud and rattled especially when it came on. I'm a light sleeper, so many people might not find this problematic, but it kept me awake quite a lot. Because the room is ground floor, I didn't feel safe sleeping with windows open all night (plus my visit coincided with the terrible wildfires in Arizona so you wouldn't want that smoky air in your room). Also, the cleaning service was not daily. I knew that I wouldn't get new sheets and towels daily because of New Mexico's water restrictions, which was fine, but my trash was only emptied out once during a ten day visit.

I would stay here again. I might try to stay in a different room or ask about the A/C before committing to a room, but I would definitely stay here again. It's a great deal for a budget traveler.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Staff was very friendly and the breakfast always with green chile was a nice touch. Good location in a quiet residential location. I had a nice apartment right next to the main office.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We are not usually critical but there are several reasons we will not stay here again. Our 4-night reservation for a room we picked from the photos online was made well in advance, but 2 weeks before we were to arrive we received word that our reservation was "upgraded" to a unit that we did not and would not have chosen. Breakfast hour was ONLY 8:30-9:30 and doors were locked until that time so we weren't able to have breakfast on the days we were to meet friends at 9:00 a.m. At one time we stepped out of the unit for a moment and closed the door, unfortunately locking ourselves out with no key, no phone, not even our car keys. The lobby door was locked and only an emergency number on the door (but we had no phone). Thankfully there were neighbors who let us borrow theirs and someonethen did finally shuffle down the street to let us back in our room. We enjoyed seeing Santa Fe, but would not stay here ever again. The room was also noisy with sounds we could not identify ... like "settling" ... but the place was already 100 years old. It was a relief to start home (again without breakfast).
.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casadeltoro, Manager at Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
This is the type of complain that leaves me shaking my head. If possible, we always upgrade our guests and In our mind we definitely upgraded them. They went from a smallish studio to a room that is 3 times the size and has a full kitchen, a king bed, and a fireplace. We are HUGE fans of old adobes and the room we upgraded to is a totally restored adobe. I can't understand why they did not like it.

In any event all they would have had to do is ask to be moved back to their original room and we would have been happy to oblige.

The same thing goes for breakfast. If they would have asked for an early or late breakfast we would again have been happy to oblige.

Shuffling down to unlock the room? We have three people who live withing 1/4 mile of the inn. I was there within 5 minutes of receiving notice of their being locked out. We have staff on site 12 hours a day, and on call 24/7.

The noise? As the sun sets and the roof cools off it will occasionally pop. Again it's 2 foot thick adobe. Not much noise is going to get through there.

The lesson? If you want something, ask for it, we will do our absolute best to take care of you!! That's how we roll!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast

Address: 229 McKenzie Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable bed and breakfast in the heart of the Santa Fe Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Toro Hotel Santa Fe
Casa Del Toro Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Toro Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.