We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapelle Street Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Chapelle Street Casitas
Save Saved
You added Chapelle Street Casitas to your Saves list
209 Chapelle Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Boise, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

As I tried to find a reasonably priced, pet friendly location within walking distance of the plaza in Santa Fe I searched the internet and made phone calls to ferret out any "special deals". I read every review posted here on TripAdvisor. Sometimes pet friendly and clean and reasonable and good location don't come together but they did at the Chapelle Casitas and my skeptical husband was won over with the addition of an absolutely wonderful and inventive breakfast. These places have character and a few warts... but so does Santa Fe. Paul and Janet could not be better better hosts. Paul in particular provided wonderful assistance and guidance; he is really an ambassador for his adopted city. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    4
    5
    10
See reviews for
15
32
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Last Thanks giving my girlfriend Liz, myself and our good friends Kris and Lisa decided to head to Santa Fe NM to Mountain bike and relax for the holiday. Liz found the Chapelle Street Casitas on line and booked the stay with Paul who runs the front office. We needed a place that would allow Dogs, as we as well as Kris and Lisa both have dogs. Paul informed us that the dogs were no problem. We arrived kind of late in the evening and even though it was after the front office would normally be closed... Paul was waiting for us to show us our cabin and see that everything was satisfactory. When we opened the door to the Chapelle street D cabin we were instantly charmed by the nostalgic old world charm. With a wood burner in the corner and old wood flooring we knew we were going to love the place. We quickly started a fire with the wood that Paul provided us and snuggled into the couch and watched a movie. The next morning we walked over to the historic plaza ( two blocks) had some coffee and walked the dogs around. The next day Kris and I went over to Dale Ball trails and mountain biked for a while. This was a nice trail system that is well marked. We didn't try the brakefast until the third day. It was out of this world! If you like the charm of small cabins and want to be close to the plaza and all of the good restaurants then you can't beat the Chapelle Street Casitas!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

A few of these casitas should be skipped, but when you find a good one, the value is amazing. Paul is a treasure, and the location could not be better. Way better than staying in a hotel. If a generic hotel experience is what you want, the Posada or the Holiday Inn are right up the street. This is for someone who wants to relax and go local. I try to stay there every year. I always recommend it, with the reservation that some of the rooms are not up to par.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Our family of four (mother, father, and two adult sons) spent a week in Santa Fe during July 2009. I would say that Santa Fe combines the most varied landscape and largest number of activities for the visitor of all the major scenic areas that we have visited over the years. The city itself is charming and offers endless options for dining, shopping, sight-seeing, strolling, or just taking in the ambiance. The Santa Fe Opera is reason enough to travel to the area, with its combination of superb music and theater and its spectacular location overlooking the desert and mountains. The numerous scenic drives including the high road to Taos; the drive to Los Alamos, Bandelier National Monument, and Jemez Springs; and the Turquoise Road with a side trip up to Sandia Crest are irresistible attractions that prevented us from seeing as much of Santa Fe as we would have liked. The bottom line is that there's really just too much to do in Santa Fe if you only have a week (or maybe only a month or maybe only a year).

We stayed in a 'casita' on McKenzie Street, one of the units managed by Chapelle Street Casitas Santa Fe Vacation Rentals. The charming house was extremely comfortable and in an extraordinarily convenient location. One moment we might find ourselves strolling around Santa Fe's Plaza, only 3 or so blocks from the casita, and shortly thereafter driving on the highway into some of the most gorgeous scenery imaginable.

Needless to say, we would return to Santa Fe in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

My extended family and I have just completed a three night stay at the Chapelle Street Casitas. Some of the casitas featured novel amenities like roaches and showers decorated with hair. The linens and towels allow you to play fun games like "I wonder what that stain is?" and "Find the gum in the pillow." Some of the rooms also feature air conditioners that let can you pretend that you're sleeping at the end of a runway. Of the 6 casitas that my family stayed in, only one did not feature these amenities. It was 321 McKenzie unit 8 which we would recommend to anyone staying at the casitas. Avoid the Adelante house, 216 McKenzie and the 316 Staab duplexes they are where the special "amenities" were found.

All of the problems could easily be fixed with a quick trip to your favorite big box retailer and a cleaning service. The casitas are uniquely decorated and have nice large spaces for group gatherings. The casitas are also within walking distance of everything your would want to see in historic Santa Fe. Our host Paul was friendly and very knowledgable about the area.

So if you don't mind that your linens were probably first put to use during the Reagan administration and you want to be close to historic Santa Fe, the Chapelle Street Casitas might be what you are looking for. But for me I think the next time I visit Santa Fe I'll look for a place a little cleaner.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The Chapelle Street Casitas offer lots of value for the money. Paul is a wonderful host, and he is most helpful about places to eat and so forth and so on and very accommodating. The breakfasts we had were excellent. The unit we stayed in was very clean. The location cannot be beat, and we had a wonderful time. My only quibble, and this may matter more to travelers who have more expectation of luxurious surroundings, is that there are a few things that need to be updated: linens and bed pillows are two examples. That being said, I will still recommend these accommodations to anyone looking for a place to stay that is close to the plaza, safe, and, in the end, pretty nice.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We had a great time-caught up with family members on their
> way back to Arizona. Met other guests staying in your casitas. We will
> definitely be back. Loved the Skip video--we brought our dog Dylan
> with us and he loved walking around the neighborhood there.
> That was the first time we visited Santa Fe in about ten visits and
> could walk everywhere from your place -great location.
> See you soon !!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chapelle Street Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapelle Street Casitas

Address: 209 Chapelle Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Vacation Rentals Chapelle Street Casitas Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Casitas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapelle Street Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;