We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Rest Court

Save Saved
You added King's Rest Court to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King's Rest Court
1452 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Bend, OR
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This place is a little run down BUT the room was super clean and well maintained. Easy access to room and well managed property. Terrific value and centrally located with tons of services such as restaurants and stores up and down the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
24
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

My Daughter and I had the Kings Rest Court picked out from online information. When we got there we were surprised by how run down the place looked. I asked for a key and took a look at the room. Glad I did. While the bathroom was clean, the room had peeling paint and a carpet that looked like it had never been cleaned. We returned the key and headed on down the road.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found our room very comfortable- actually two rooms, which was an unexpected boon, as I could escape the TV. The place was scrupulously clean. It was Indian Market weekend, but they didn't jack up their rates (unlike almost all other motels). The motel dates from 1939 and boasts that it had the first neon sign in Santa Fe. There's covered parking, although 30's cars were smaller, and some present day patrons prefer to park in the open air. We had no trouble fitting with a modern SUV. It was truly a trip to the past, but less expensive than a time machine and close to downtown Santa Fe. It certainly will be my choice of a place to stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

On a recent trip to Sante Fe we booked a room at this hotel. It is a no frills place but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. We used our own pillows as theirs were a bit "tired" overall for the price it was a good choice and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

So we didn't have reservations and walked in to check out the rooms. They are a little drab and very dated but we were looking for a little character and the price is right and the location is a little closer to the Plaza than some of the other chain hotels. We were looking to stay in one of the old Route 66 hotels. I can see why some people comment on the room heater, it is vertical and about 6' high and to the right when one enters, I don't know how hot it gets but it might be an issues in such cramped quarters. It was hot for us so we didn't use it. The bathroom is on the older side but the bed was comfortable and there was hot water. Overall, it feels like a motel and we appreciated it for the character as well as affordable price. It is <2km to the Plaza so was very convenient. The front desk was efficient, not overly friendly but not troublesome.
There is some road noise audible but nothing that disturbed our sleep. I had to mention it to my partner for him to pick up on it and he's usually the one with difficulty sleeping. We had #5 which is next to the check in area, so you could ask for something a little further back off the road - but we were there for one night and it really didn't bother us.
We probably wouldn't go back but for the price and the nostalgia, I don't regret staying there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at Kings Rest Court for the Indian Market. We had Room #11, which has 2 separate bedrooms (quite convenient). The family that owns this place does a great job with customer service and cleanliness of the rooms. We had a very comfortable stay, and it was easy getting to the market. Although it is older than me, I wish I looked this good!

Room Tip: Far away from road. For 2 beds try #11, it has two separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I encountered a front desk clerk who became belligerent in response to my (diplomatic) dismay over the motel not having my reservation and having booked the last non-smoking room just seconds before. I tried to laugh off his attitude and he literally mocked my laugh. I told him that I would report this to the CVB and Better Business Bureau and log a bad review online and he told me I could call CNN for all he cared. Though this was a business trip and I could have reserved a higher priced chain motel, I chose to stay at an independent operator. Though brief, it ended up being one of the worst experiences I've ever had at a motel and I've traveled the world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Rest Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Rest Court

Address: 1452 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1930's, Kings Rest Court, is located in Santa Fe, NM, where heritage, history, unique attractions, museums, natural beauty, and outdoor activities are waiting to be discovered. We are just minutes from the Historic Plaza, Golf Courses, Casinos and the Santa Fe Ski Basin. Diverse attractions, location, and affordable accommodations make Kings Rest Court Santa Fe the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your King's Rest Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Rest Court Hotel Santa Fe
Kings Rest Court Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Rest Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.