We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaman Room was a winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Turquoise Bear to your Saves list
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   342 E. Buena Vista St., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RELAX & REJUVENATE DEAL
Ranked #2 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Golden, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shaman Room was a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a wonderful visit at this gorgeous inn. We stayed in the Shaman room with blooming lilacs outside our large window. Stunning property, fantastic breakfast and afternoon treats, and welcoming staff. Great time! Thank you, Dan!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
71
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hospitality, location, history, comfort, breakfast---all superb!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dennis and I just spent 5 nights in the Georgia O'Keeffe room at this beautiful bed and breakfast! We loved everything about this inn. The breakfasts that Dan prepared were simply excellent and something we looked forward to each day! The accommodations were divine, the bed was super cozy and comfortable, and the inn itself, with it's long history, was just gorgeous. If you want a place to relax and yet have the convenience of walking to the plaza as well as the art galleries on Canyon Road, this is the a perfect place. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are decorated with objects and books, and the entire experience was one of the best we have had in our travels.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We traveled to Santa Fe with our small dog and are always particular about our accommodations for us and our dog. We stayed four nights in the Shaman Room, which is one of 4 pet-friendly rooms. The room was perfect for our small dog and us. The large room has its own exterior entrance, separate from the other rooms in the B&B, with a king-size bed, fireplace, small private bath and beautiful views of the gardens complete with seating areas/patio furnishings. Our dog was greeted with a bag of treats just for her, water and food bowls and a small sleeping pad! Very considerate. Dan, the innkeeper, was very hospitable and helpful with directions/maps and local recommendations. Breakfasts were always excellent with a variety of hot/cold choices. The inn is 7 blocks from the Plaza and very walkable.

Room Tip: Rooms have either private or shared bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A wonderful B and B in a beautiful setting in Santa Fe with a short walk to the plaza. Rooms are named for various authors and artists who visited the area. Breakfast was superb with a knowledge of the area thrown in. A perfect place and a perfect trip!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for four nights a couple of weeks ago. What a wonderful B&B! The history of the property is amazing and Dan will be glad to share it with you.
We liked the walk down to the plaza, although the narrow sidewalks were somewhat dim at night. This Inn is very close to some of the oldest churches and buildings in the US. A short walk and you will be right there.
If you would like to eat someplace else not on the plaza, there are several nice restaurants along the stroll to the plaza from the Inn. We ate at the Rio Chama Steakhouse and found it to be very good.
One hint: The liquor store just south of the Inn on Old Santa Fe Trail looks kind of sketchy but we stopped in for a bottle of wine and found it to be a pretty cool place. Great wine selection and friendly staff.
We stayed in the Millay room which has a private entrance and a small fireplace. It was very nice. The bathroom needs some work but Dan told us that renovations were to be started on it by the middle of April.
Breakfasts were great and it was great fun t talk with all the other quests! what a nice mix of people! We also enjoyed a cocktail and snacks out on the veranda. We can't imagine how nice the grounds will be in the summer.
We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed 3 wonderful nights in the D.H. Lawrence room - spacious, airy, comfortable bed and plenty of space for relaxing. The house is open to guests to sit in the welcoming front living room, patios, etc., with coffee and fresh baked goodies each day. Delicious breakfasts served at lovely communal dining table - great way to start off the day of exploring Santa Fe and its many delights. Dan was a wonderful host, happy to share about the fascinating history of the inn as well as local sights and recommendations. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn of the Turquoise Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Address: 342 E. Buena Vista St., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of the Turquoise Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm Santa Fe style and charm in this quintessential rambling adobe estate occupying an acre of terraced gardens walking distance from the Santa Fe Plaza, Canyon Road, and Rail Yard. Our Santa Fe bed and breakfast will pamper you with gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, twilight social reception, and concierge service. Guests will also enjoy complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi internet. Constructed in Spanish-Pueblo Revival style, our Santa Fe inn dates to the mid-1800's and is one of Santa Fe's most historically significant buildings. Located just 6 blocks from the Plaza, Canyon Rd, restaurants, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Orbitz so you can book your Inn of the Turquoise Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Bed And Breakfast
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Turquoise Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.