We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy historic inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Turquoise Bear to your Saves list
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
342 E. Buena Vista St., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3rd Night Free!
Ranked #4 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
1 review
“Cozy historic inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

The inn was perfect for our weekend getaway. Our room was very comfortable and private. The breakfast was so delicious and we looked forward to each morning. Innkeeper gave us good suggestions while in Sante Fe including a great hiking spot. Easy walk to shopping and restaurants. We got a nice surprise with some beautiful snow! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
48
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this inn for 6 nights and picked it because of its ratings and reviews. We wanted to be close to enough to walk to downtown Santa Fe, but not stay in a downtown hotel because we had planned to drive around to see the surrounding area of Santa Fe. For its location, this inn is great!

We flew into the Albuquerque and rented a car and drove about 1 hour to Santa Fe. If you think you don't want to rent a car, then there are also airport shuttles between Albuquerque airport and the hotels in Santa Fe. It's nice to have a car to explore the surrounding area of Santa Fe, but you really don't need a car in downtown Santa Fe. The parking can be limited and you have to pay for parking in downtown Santa Fe. The inn is about a 15-20 minute walk to downtown historic Santa Fe. Of note, there is a small sign for the inn, and when we were driving in the dark, it was easy to miss this sign, but GPS directs you correctly. There is free parking at the inn.

We arrived after hours, but Dan, the host and innkeeper, had left a key and welcome letter in an envelope taped to the main entrance door. Because there is so little crime, there was no need to worry about the key not being there. Coming from a big city where you have to think about crime, it was refreshing to not have to worry about crime. We stayed in the O. Henry room, which is attached to the main house. There are other rooms that have separate entrances, but we didn't mind being attached to the main house. There was also a separate side door entrance that we could use to access our room, if we didn't want to walk through the main house.

Our room had a queen bed with a private bath. The room is spacious with a kiva fireplace that we could use every night. The bed was comfortable. There was a small TV in our room, which was nice. There was a small armchair next to the fireplace and two nightstands, so each of you could put your phone by the bed. There are lots of outlets, even one had an outlet extender, so you could charge whatever electronics you needed. There was also a heater unit in the bedroom and the bathroom that was working well and much appreciated since it snowed during our trip there.

Because this is a historic house, you walked through the small closet area to get to the bathroom. We didn't mind this at all. There was a luggage rack that we could use and it was nice to hang up coats in the closet. The bathroom had good counter space and there is a hairdryer.

The inn is very clean, and we loved this.

The inn has a small courtyard in the back, but we really like the breakfast room and the living room. Breakfast was great. Each morning, there was always a smoothie of the day served in a tall shot glass. There was continental breakfast with juices, water, tea, coffee, bread, pastries, fruit, and yogurt that you could nibble on while you were waiting for the hot item. The breakfast entree would alternate between sweet and savory each day. The quiche and frittata were great! I like savory breakfast, but the Dutch baby pancakes were good, too. The smoothie and the breakfasts were adjusted according to the guests' diet preferences. So, if someone had a dairy allergy, then the smoothie would not have dairy in it. Also, if you didn't want the hot item for breakfast, Dan could make you something else.

Greg, one of the employees, was also around during breakfast, and he was really helpful with Santa Fe information and attractions. He is super friendly, pleasant, and knowledgeable.

Wi-fi is free and worked well. I had no issues or glitches with slow wi-fi. There is one computer and printer that you could use in the office area that leads to the kitchen. Because we had our phones and tablets, we only used the computer to print out boarding passes. There are also maps and tourist pamphlets in the office area.

We had brought our reusable water bottles, so it was great that we could fill our water bottles for our trips.

Dan was great with recommendations on what to see. If we were interested in something, he would also add on other tips and tricks, which was great! We had planned to go to Bandelier National Monument, but he said to add on Los Alamos to see the free Bradbury Science Museum in Los Alamos, which was not that far. We had hoped to see the Valdes Caldera, but the road was closed that day due to an accident. He had also recommended taking the high road to Taos with stops along the way and then taking the low road back to Santa Fe. These recommendations were all good.

Every evening from 5-6 pm, there is a wine reception. There are also fresh baked goods each night available. The selection changes daily. The cookies were so good! Because you had access to coffee, tea, or hot chocolate, it was great to have cookies and hot chocolate in the evening.

Overall, this inn is great because of its location and walking distance to historic downtown Santa Fe. The inn is cozy, clean, inviting, and pleasant. Dan, the innkeeper, and Greg, one of his employees, are great. The breakfasts, wine reception and nightly baked goods were wonderful. It is also easy to talk to other guests to see how their day was and to be inspired by their adventures.

I would definitely recommend the Inn of the Turquoise Bear.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dog friendly! Off leash even. Rooms are clean,property is beautiful, breakfast was amazing. Easy walk to the city center. Wine at 5, and visiting with Dan and Dave was a treat also. Hope we can make it back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is always a pleasure to have an experience and/or facility to be better than expectations. The Inn was immaculate, grounds were better than pictured and management could not have been more helpful and interactive.

Will plan to stay again when we return to SAnta FE.

Room Tip: Witter room/suite was outstanding as well as the Okeefe - family stayed in both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time at The Turquoise Bear. Dan is an excellant host: he suggested places for dinner & even made our dinner reservation for us.
Our breakfast the following morning couldn't have been nicer or more relaxing!! Everything homemade & delicious. Dan even took the time to sit & visit with us after breakfast.
We definitely plan to return & would recommend The Turquoise Bear to anyone visiting Santa Fe.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Dan & Dave run a very special place! Very conveniently located in Santa Fe - close enough to walk, far enough to enjoy the quiet at night. The rooms were exceptionally clean. Breakfast is a gourmet treat every morning. In the evening, more homemade goodies are put out along with complimentary wine, so visitors can sit in the parlor and talk, if desired. The outside is a mix of fountains and cacti, giving the Inn a very "oasis in the desert" feeling. My fiancé and I had a wonderful time here and would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dan was wonderful, the Inn was just what we were looking for... close walking distance to shopping, restaurants and interest points. The Inn was warm and cozy even though it turned cold outside. The fireplace was wonderful with snow falling outside. The breakfasts were terrific with options and hot selections of the day. And the wine....it was fun to sip and share local discoveries with the other people staying there. All in all, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed the Inn very much. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaman room with a separate entrance, fireplace and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn of the Turquoise Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Address: 342 E. Buena Vista St., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm Santa Fe style and charm in this quintessential rambling adobe estate occupying an acre of terraced gardens walking distance from the Santa Fe Plaza, Canyon Road, and Rail Yard. Our Santa Fe bed and breakfast will pamper you with gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, twilight social reception, and concierge service. Guests will also enjoy complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi internet. Constructed in Spanish-Pueblo Revival style, our Santa Fe inn dates to the mid-1800's and is one of Santa Fe's most historically significant buildings. Located just 6 blocks from the Plaza, Canyon Rd, restaurants, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Inn of the Turquoise Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Bed And Breakfast
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Turquoise Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.