We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Inn of the Turquoise Bear to your Saves list
Inn of the Turquoise Bear
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   342 E. Buena Vista St., Santa Fe, NM 87505   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Perfect Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Dan, the proprietor, is an innkeeper extraordinaire. In addition to being a fabulous cook, he has gone to great lengths to think of every little thing a traveler might need for comfort and convenience. From the sumptuous breakfasts to the flower-filled gardens gardens with plenty of outdoor gathering places to my well appointed room (St. Vincent Millay) I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and felt I lacked for nothing. Note: If you are sensitive to traffic noise, you might want to bring ear plugs. The Old Santa Fe Trail is a vital artery for local traffic and you will definitely hear it if your room is street side. But it makes for easy access to the Plaza or Museum Hill, so I like to think of it as a human acequia, directing the flow of lives and life to the heart of the city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
It was so great to get to know you Elayne during your visit to Santa Fe and stay at our Inn. We know you were seeking a great home-base to explore all Santa Fe has to offer while also enjoying our acre of lush gardens for some relaxing down-time! We look forward to pampering you again should you return for a visit. Happy Travels Elayne!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
100
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We have been coming to the Inn of the Turquoise Bear for years and were sad to see that the Inn had been sold to new owners. But our fears were misplaced because the Inn is as fun and welcoming as ever with the addition of new upgrades. Dan is a terrific host and he has wisely kept the old traditions including the evening wine gathering and the hot breakfasts. The lemon ricotta pancakes were incredibly good. The Inn has charm to spare, a wonderful location, and it's a historical landmark. We have already made reservations for next year's opera trip to the Turquoise Bear.

Room Tip: Book early, although they really don't have any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Sam & Wes, thank you for the kind review. As new owners, we love our returning guests. We get to learn more about the property in the past. We enjoyed getting to know you better with wine and cheese on the Patio before you left for the Opera. We look forward to your return next August! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When we came there I was completely unprepared to what I saw - an old adobe house in a beautiful garden, surrounded with pines and flowers. The rooms have separate entrances and are small, not very comfortable according to modern standards, but this place is so special I would never exchange it for modern comfort. Plus, the size of the room is nothing really, as you have this charming garden, the living room furnished in old-fashion but beautiful style, the breakfast room with an incredible view. To get to Santa Fe central plaza is ca 10 minutes walk.
This place is hstoric and charming, and very, very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Inn and truly enjoyed it! Dan and Greg do a great job making sure each guest has an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was great and the Inn and the grounds are just fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for the review Jim! It was great seeing you and Chris again. It was fun meeting adorable Marley during your visit. Hope to see you again and again. Perhaps the family can meet you mid-way next time to enjoy the Inn and all that Santa Fe has to offer! Safe Journeys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

As usual, we enjoyed our 7th stay at the Inn which was during our yearly trip to Santa Fe for opera, music, museum tours, great dining and hiking. This is a beautiful property, short walk to the plaza and dining, well maintained, helpful and courteous staff and great breakfasts. I'd recommend it without reservation.
Kris and Dennis

Room Tip: This is a picturesque and historic property where rooms are arranged in separate units, all quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Kris & Dennis. Thank you for the review. It was great getting to know you better on your return trip to Santa Fe and the Inn. You took advantage of all of Santa Fe's charms...hiking, art markets on the plaza, fine restaurants, and some down-time on our patio. We're looking forward to your visit next year during the Folk Art Market! Be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

In the past, I have made comments about my annual trips to Santa Fe for the Santa Fe Opera, the Chamber Music Festival and other events that make the summer very delightfully musical every year. I have been a regular visitor to the Inn of the Turquoise Bear for these stays and have been most pleased by the accommodations. There has been little change there now that they inn has changed ownership. The new owners have not been there very long and I am sure that they will make some changes as they learn the personality of the Inn and its loyal customers. I will happily write more later as I find how the Inn evolves.

First of all, the Inn itself is very much 'old Santa Fe' rather than the newer lodging facilities around the city which make the visits to Santa Fe as original as a visit to 'any-city USA'.
The Turquoise Bear is a delightful experience in itself. It attracts lodgers who also are there for the music festivals as well as the galleries and museums to explore for 'off hours'. Those lodgers repeatedly come to the Inn from across the country and the world and become a wonderful part of what I enjoy about this Inn. The breakfasts become discussion groups about yesterday's (or last night's) performances.

There have not been many B and B's where I have stayed which have such freewheeling conversation. The diners are not separated out into private tables as you might find in other Inns. There is one enormous table for breakfast, but if there are those who wish to avoid the conversation, there are patio 'cafe tables' for that or for overflow.

Since I mentioned breakfast, I must mention that the nature of the breakfast has changed with the new owners. The 'cold table' with fruits, cereals, breads (with a toaster) is exactly the same. The hot breakfast has changed in that there is not a menu any more but a breakfast entree available. That entree changes daily and if a diner does not wish the entree of the day, an alternate is available (eggs any style with sides as desired). This past week, I decided to keep to the entree and had a delightful breakfast every morning. I have no idea of what the future holds, but my mornings had fajitas or quiches for the most part. There was a fresh fruit smoothie every morning (many made from home grown fruits and berries) which, even though it was different each morning, I became an addict for them.

I am sure that I am missing something that I had planned to say, but I will have more to say following my next visit, I am sure.

I want to assure the old 'regulars' at the Inn of the Turquoise Bear that while the place has changed from what you remember, it is still a wonderful place to stay and I plan on remaining a returning reg

Room Tip: Every room is different and each room has its quirks. Your choice should probably be made based upo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Bob, we're already looking forward to your next visit! It was a pleasure having you stay with us for a nice long visit. We enjoy when our guests reunion here, hearing the stories from past stays and getting your feedback on our future plans for this historic estate! Thank you for your kind review! Hurry back Bob!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We spent one night while passing through Santa Fe, but wished we could have stayed at least 2 more. The inn is an absolute delight - charming room, whimsical gardens throughout the property, delicious food, and wine on the terraces in the evening. Dan and David even accommodated our golden retriever (and welcomed him with what appeared to be homemade dog treats). A 10 minute walk to the historic downtown. All in all - highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turquoisebear, Owner at Inn of the Turquoise Bear, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! Our four legged guests deserve to be treated to a stress-free visit also! Our 3 pet friendly rooms are situated such that privacy is created for all! They particularly enjoy our ample gardens. We hope to see you again when you can stay a bit longer to enjoy Santa Fe and our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Turquoise Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Turquoise Bear

Address: 342 E. Buena Vista St., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn of the Turquoise Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm Santa Fe style and charm in this quintessential rambling adobe estate occupying an acre of terraced gardens walking distance from the Santa Fe Plaza, Canyon Road, and Rail Yard. Our Santa Fe bed and breakfast will pamper you with gourmet breakfast, afternoon tea, twilight social reception, and concierge service. Guests will also enjoy complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi internet. Constructed in Spanish-Pueblo Revival style, our Santa Fe inn dates to the mid-1800's and is one of Santa Fe's most historically significant buildings. Located just 6 blocks from the Plaza, Canyon Rd, restaurants, shops and galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Turquoise Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Bed And Breakfast
Inn Of The Turquoise Bear Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn of the Turquoise Bear, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.