We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing b&b with a great host in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Santa Fe Winter Getaway
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Amazing b&b with a great host in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We decided to reserve here after reading reviews in Trip Advisor. The location is very central and Santa Fe is one of best city in US. The owner, Carolyn and Mary Ann, daytime staff were extra helpful. They make sure everyone is satisfied with their stay. The decoration of both of the inns( specially common areas) was done very tastefully. Bravo ! The breakfast menu was changing daily and it was always delicious. You must try the homemade granola with vanilla yogurt! Definitely will stay again. Thank you Hacienda Nicholas !

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    35
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
256
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waskom, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My family & I stayed at "The Cottage" and it was above an beyond our expectations. We were also traveling with a Boston Terrier, so the fenced-in yard was a big plus, since our dog is used to being free, but has been tied to a leash the whole trip. The Cottage sits across the yard from Carolyn Lee's (the owner) house. She came and introduced herself, visited awhile, made sure we had all we needed, made a few restaurant recommendations, and she even let her dog out to play with ours.
The Cottage at Hacienda Nicholas went beyond my expectations. I'd rather stay in a B & B over a hotel any day, and this is one of the better ones I've been in.
Great breakfast in the morning, held at the main hacienda, about a block away. Dine inside, or out on the patio.
The perfect home away from home (hell; I didn't want to leave!).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We love to return to Hacienda Nicolas each summer for the opera. Carolyn and all the staff are so welcoming and accommodating and provide a special place in Santa Fe to stay and relax. We stayed in the Chamisa Suite, where we have stayed before, and found it comfortable, quiet, and charming. We also make our reservations far ahead of time, as the rooms book early because of the wonderful staff, location, and ambience. We have stayed at many different B&Bs, houses, and other places in Santa Fe and we find the Nicolas our favorite place.

Green Features: Hacienda Nicolas goes out of its way to be an environmentally-friendly property and have spelled it out clearly in their literature.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The location, the service, the breakfasts and afternoon snacks, the caring staff are all prime reasons we keep returning. In fact, we schedule the next year before we leave. Some things are best NOT left to chance. The rooms are quirky, and not all are as large as you might be used to at a more modern space. But, this is Santa Fe and these properties - the Hacienda Nicholas and the Madeline are from another time. That said, I will gladly give up a larger room for the quality of bedding, caring personal service and the extra effort the staff puts out to make us comfortable. As an example, our morning breakfast person was coming back Monday night and she was concerned that we might get wet at the Opera, so she volunteered to bring back raincoats and umbrellas for anyone in our group who needed one. Additionally, for me, it is special to be within 2 blocks of the plaza and 3 blocks of Canyon Road. We park our car and do not move it for days, until we go to the Opera or out to visits friends who live away from the heart of town.

Room Tip: Talk with Regan, the reservations person, to make sure the room will meet your needs.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally- friendly. recycling is encouraged as is reusing towels and not changing the sheets every day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The initial impression upon arrival was welcoming. The staff was friendly and assured us that they were interested in meeting our expectations. We were checked in and shown to our room. Unfortunately, the Chamisa Suite did not meet our expectations (musty smell, not as pictured on web-site, very cramped)-so we went back to the Madeline and found the Inn-Keeper to be supportive of our concerns and helpful. She got George, the reservation guy, who was professional and offered another room for our second night and a per night discount.

We felt satisfied with the arrangement and stayed the night in Chamisa.

The Chamisa suite rooms are small, and the furnishings and placement have no flow or ease of use. The king bed is huge and high in a small low ceiling room. The bathroom is small as well. On a positive note, the rooms are also charming with the fireplace. Maybe better for cooler weather, we found the room hot- an air conditioner is high in the ceiling and does not provide cool air to the sleeping area. Carolyn said she added a slim fan after hearing our complaints about this.

The price is premium, $220 a night for Suite-at best this is a junior suite, but really it is a room with a small full bath, and an entry way with closet. Room priced too high.

We decided not to stay the second night.

After a very nice breakfast with personable service, we headed back to the office to say we wished to check out, in spite of the previously offered discount.

George got Carolyn, the owner who listened to our comments, and made sure we knew she was listening. In fact we received an follow up email asking for more details. Carolyn responded that she found the comments helpful and went right to work on what she could.

The Chamisa is not the right room for us,there are others that are charming future possibilities.
Way to go Carolyn and Staff your caring customer service, leaving us with a positive experience, in spite of our dis-satisfaction with the Chamisa suite.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We truly appreciate your feedback, and that you let us know your feelings while you were with us so we could better accommodate you. Thank you for writing of your fabulous experience in terms of customer service, staff interactions, and your enjoyment of our breakfast.

I agree with you that the Chamisa Room is small: like you, I myself would prefer one larger room, though many guests really love the cozy feeling of this particular room. We do our best to communicate the set-up with our prospective guests by writing in the room description that it is "two small adjoining rooms", and showing photos of the two small rooms. I am happy to know that you noted other rooms that will work for you on a future visit.

You are correct that the AC is installed close to the ceiling, and it appears to be working efficiently. George and I checked the room temperature upon your departure and found it to be just under 70 degrees. I added the fan should future guests wish to feel the breeze of this cool air.

We do charge $220 for this room during the height of the summer season, as it has a king bed, private entrance off the garden courtyard, includes a full breakfast plus evening Wine & Cheese, and because we are located just three blocks from both the Plaza and Canyon Road. I am sorry you feel this is not a fair price for the room, though again, am happy to know you find our other rooms to be charming and well-suited for your future visit. We shall look forward to the pleasure of accommodating you again, and appreciate your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Grove, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Carolyn does an outstanding job of helping travelers with questions about where to eat, how to get to tourist attractions and even where to buy silver jewlery! She even offered to have one of her staff print out our boarding passes for our flight home since we would be out during the day!! We loved the outstanding breakfasts, homemade cookies and snacks available throughout the day, and the happy hour too! The courtyard for meals and conversation was inviting and the close location to downtown Santa Fe was nice! We would highly recommend Hacienda Nicholas B & B Inn for vacationers. Carolyn and her staff will help you with every detail of your vacation in Santa Fe!

Room Tip: Our room was small but adequate; we did not spend a lot of time in our room as we were out and about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This last minute reservation was a delightful surprise! It was centrally located, walkable to stores and Plaza, and very charming. The owner and staff took a personal interest in each guest - and I appreciated the focus they gave to sustainable practices. I had the best New Mexico breakfast and they then emailed me the recipe!
I will go there again with pleasure!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.