We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really elevates your Santa Fe visit....you'll love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Winter Getaway
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really elevates your Santa Fe visit....you'll love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were lucky to be booked in to the delightful "Chamisa Suite" at the Hacienda Nicholas B&B for two nights at the end of May.... what a wonderful stay. The owner, Carolyn, and every one of her fellow staff are welcoming, and truly want you to enjoy your visit to Santa Fe. The room was immaculate, private and looked on to the courtyard.... where morning breakfasts and afternoon Wine & Cheese could be enjoyed. The food was wonderful - beyond our expectations. Hot breakfast entrees change daily, and are accompanied by many additional choices of fruit, yogurt, great coffee and the most amazing homemade granola! The staff are happy to hear of your day, and offer helpful suggestions for choices in museums or restaurants to visit. The location can't be beat, for easy walking distance to the Old Town, Canyon Road galleries, etc. You'll be glad you stayed here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    33
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
248
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I have been visiting Santa Fe for the past 15 years and have always stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas, The Madeleine or the Alexander Inn. It is the perfect place to stay. Carolyn and her entire staff are so friendly and attentive to your needs. Great breakfast, close to the Plaza plus they have a wonderful spa on sight called Absolute Nirvana that you must visit. Just left there last week and I'm ready to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed here three times and enjoyed each stay. It is close enough to the plaza for an easy walk. There is also a small park close by that our dog loved.
Breakfast is very good meal, juices, yogurt, coffee, both regular and decaf, etc. I love the bread they get from a local bakery. Just delicious.
The cookies are a good treat after a long walk or hike.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas in December 2013 and January 2014. We then stayed at the cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent six nights-four in the Wisteria and two in Sunflower suite. Every aspect was top shelf-Carolyn and the staff were very attentive,friendly and professional. The breakfasts were fantastic! They were so inventive and delicious-one of the best of any inn we have stayed in. We also enjoyed the quiet courtyard and the great location in general-A lovely inn that we think is the best in Santa Fe!
Maryann & Judy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Santa Fe, and it all started with the Hacienda Nicholas. We were greeted so warmly by George, who explained our surroundings and the workings of the inn and showed us to our room, the Cottonwood. While small, it was perfect for us. It has windows that can be opened, a large bath, and a comfortable bed. It is right off the main room which is very convenient to access all the tourist info they have plus the happy hour and breakfast. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the owner, Carolyn, was a very gracious hostess. We enjoyed the happy hour wine and snacks, and the breakfasts were delicious. On top of all this goodness...a very good location for walking and touring all of Santa Fe. That is the icing on the cake! We never had to move our car all weekend - perfect! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
George, a Santa Fe native, is a real treasure! He has worked at the inn for close to 12 years, and knows everything about Santa Fe and the surrounding areas. We are lucky to have him as part of our team. I am so pleased that you loved every aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the Nicholas suite and it was perfect! Still a little jet lagged (coming from France) the friendliness of Carolyn and the whole staff helped a lot. They booked the restaurants for us and Happy Hour was really happy...The room is beautiful, the bed very comfortable and the sheets incredibly soft. The location is great: you can walk to almost every point of interest and I wish I will come back some day.
Merci à tous

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Merci mille fois pour votre critique magnifique! It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Hacienda Nicholas. It is good to know that our beds provided the comfort you needed to recover from your jet lag, and that we were able to help you find just the right restaurants. Hopefully the rest of your American tour went fabulous well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently enjoyed a 4-night stay at Hacienda Nicholas and found the accommodations to be lovely...we were greeted warmly & professionally, including a tour of our suite. Carolyn and her staff are gracious, the breakfasts are superb and fully satisfying. The other guests we met were also a joy to share space with during our comfortable stay. Also, the location of the B&B is very close to the old Santa Fe market....easy walk, plenty to see and do, great restaurants. We anticipate another opportunity to visit and look forward to spending time again at Hacienda Nicholas. Thank you Carolyn and all your great staff!
Thomas & Joel

Room Tip: Nicholas Suite was really a charmer....lots of color and ambiance for a great Santa Fe stay!
See more room tips
Green Features: One has the option to reuse towels (less laundry) and the bathroom soap/shampoos are dispensed, eliminating waste. We appreciate "green" places to stay!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Thomas and Joel,
We are so very happy you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay in the Nicholas Suite. I only wish we had been able to plant during your stay, but we actually did have freezing temperatures again right after Mother's Day this year. Now the patio is ablaze with color! Hopefully your next visit will coincide with Santa Fe blooms - you were such charming guests and we look forward to seeing you and your adorable Smart Car again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.