We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We enjoyed a lovely weekend in Santa Fe, and it all started with the Hacienda Nicholas. We were greeted so warmly by George, who explained our surroundings and the workings of the inn and showed us to our room, the Cottonwood. While small, it was perfect for us. It has windows that can be opened, a large bath, and a comfortable bed. It is right off the main room which is very convenient to access all the tourist info they have plus the happy hour and breakfast. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the owner, Carolyn, was a very gracious hostess. We enjoyed the happy hour wine and snacks, and the breakfasts were delicious. On top of all this goodness...a very good location for walking and touring all of Santa Fe. That is the icing on the cake! We never had to move our car all weekend - perfect! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
George, a Santa Fe native, is a real treasure! He has worked at the inn for close to 12 years, and knows everything about Santa Fe and the surrounding areas. We are lucky to have him as part of our team. I am so pleased that you loved every aspect of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    41
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
293
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the Nicholas suite and it was perfect! Still a little jet lagged (coming from France) the friendliness of Carolyn and the whole staff helped a lot. They booked the restaurants for us and Happy Hour was really happy...The room is beautiful, the bed very comfortable and the sheets incredibly soft. The location is great: you can walk to almost every point of interest and I wish I will come back some day.
Merci à tous

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Merci mille fois pour votre critique magnifique! It was a pleasure having you as our guest at Hacienda Nicholas. It is good to know that our beds provided the comfort you needed to recover from your jet lag, and that we were able to help you find just the right restaurants. Hopefully the rest of your American tour went fabulous well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently enjoyed a 4-night stay at Hacienda Nicholas and found the accommodations to be lovely...we were greeted warmly & professionally, including a tour of our suite. Carolyn and her staff are gracious, the breakfasts are superb and fully satisfying. The other guests we met were also a joy to share space with during our comfortable stay. Also, the location of the B&B is very close to the old Santa Fe market....easy walk, plenty to see and do, great restaurants. We anticipate another opportunity to visit and look forward to spending time again at Hacienda Nicholas. Thank you Carolyn and all your great staff!
Thomas & Joel

Room Tip: Nicholas Suite was really a charmer....lots of color and ambiance for a great Santa Fe stay!
See more room tips
Green Features: One has the option to reuse towels (less laundry) and the bathroom soap/shampoos are dispensed, eliminating waste. We appreciate "green" places to stay!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Thomas and Joel,
We are so very happy you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay in the Nicholas Suite. I only wish we had been able to plant during your stay, but we actually did have freezing temperatures again right after Mother's Day this year. Now the patio is ablaze with color! Hopefully your next visit will coincide with Santa Fe blooms - you were such charming guests and we look forward to seeing you and your adorable Smart Car again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Caroline and her staff were very hospitable. Breakfast and and the 5:00 pm wine hour in the relaxing courtyard added a plus to our mini vacation. Walking distance to the Plaza and Canyon Road make this a convenient location. Loved the sheets.

Green Features: The inn was environmentally friendly. Soap and shampoo dispensers rather then wasted plastic bottles.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write of your positive experience at Hacienda Nicholas - we are so glad to know how you enjoyed the staff, food service, location and bedding. Hope you get to come back again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hacienda Nicholas last week. The location is great, in a quiet area just a few blocks from the Plaza. We chose the Sage Room, which is the smallest room, but very comfortable for 2 people, especially since we could use the large shared living room and patio as we liked. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. Carolyn and her staff were all friendly and very helpful, with plenty of good suggestions for restaurants, activities and excursions. Breakfast was delicious, with a different hot dish each day. Hacienda Nicholas is a wonderful base for exploring Santa Fe and the surrounding area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for writing so favorably of your stay in The Sage Room. As you say, it is our smallest room, but provides comfort at a good value, with convenient access to the larger common areas. Our aim is to provide a warm environment, a gracious and helpful staff, tasty breakfasts and a good night's sleep - it's good to know we met the mark!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We can't thank Carolyn and her staff enough for making our stay at Hacienda Nicholas just what the doctor ordered...three days of R&R and I wanted more. The location is perfect for exploring Santa Fe on foot, and only about a block from our fav margarita watering hole and restaurant, The Shed. We enjoyed meeting the friendly staff as well as the other guests...all in all it was perfect. If you are lucky, you will be there when the blue corn and blueberry waffles are the breakfast selection. If not, there is no unlucky...everything offered is superb. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
How wonderful to learn you got the R&R you were seeking. I am so glad the location, just a couple of blocks from the Plaza, provided such quick and easy access to your favorite restaurant! The Shed makes does great margaritas and yummy enchiladas, etc. Thank you for most favorable review of the inn, our staff, and our breakfasts. We shall indeed look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I hit the jackpot with this one! I was looking for something quaint and friendly, trying to avoid a typical hotel, while still being in walking distance of the plaza. This is exactly what I was looking for. The property is well maintained and so lovely with the landscaping. My room was clean, comfortable and charming. I had the best sleep in their bed...very comfortable and the linens were incredibly soft. The added touch to an already wonderful b & b was the hospitality. Upon check in I was greeted and escorted to my room where I was shown the amenities and given a map of the area and told about some of the popular sites. In the morning we were served an amazing homemade breakfast. Delicious! Carolyn, the owner, was helping to serve breakfast and was incredibly warm and friendly. After breakfast I left for Taos and Carolyn tipped me off on the high road to Taos (I would have just taken the freeway otherwise) and that drive turned out to be the highlight of my day. It's incredible! Whenever I'm in Santa Fe in the future, I will always stay at the Hacienda Nicholas B & B.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We are tickled pink that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at Hacienda Nicholas, from the comfort of the beds, decor, cleanliness, food and hospitality. That High Road to Taos is definitely the way to go, with stops at the Sanctuario de Chimayo and the Ortega weaving studio, not to mention the fabulous views and picturesque villages along the way. I do hope you are able to get back to Santa Fe before long - it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again, and to help you find all sorts of fun things to do in and around the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.