We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas while visiting Santa Fe. We parked our car and did not need it until we left the city. The bed and breakfast is so close to almost everything you will want to see, it is a perfect location. And the décor of our room and the main room were great, every morning a fire was set in the fireplace, and breakfasts were delicious. Everyone who works at the hacienda was great too. They were always willing to help you find something or suggest places to visit and had maps and informational brochures available. Breakfasts were a great time to meet other guests too, and they also offer an evening gathering to help with dinner plans and such. We have stayed at several b and b's and this is definitely in the top group as to location and helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the wisteria room, which was a narrow room with a very nice sitting area. It suited us...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very concerned and have many green practices in place.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We so appreciate you writing this wonderful review on your week long stay at Hacienda Nicholas, and are delighted to know that we were able to assist you so well in terms of activities, restaurant selection, and overall friendly service. We are so fortunate to be located within just a few blocks of both the Plaza and Canyon Road, allowing for limited use of one's car. Santa Fe is a great walking town indeed. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    39
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
288
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here for a week in March, our first visit to Santa Fe. The Hacienda was just what we were looking for in a B & B. Very close to the central plaza; friendly and helpful innkeeper and staff; delicious breakfasts and evening treats available; comfy and homey living room/dining room. Very conducive for guests to mingle and converse, which we enjoy at B&Bs. We just wished that the weather were warm enough to sit longer in the central courtyard for a real southwestern feeling! Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Cottonwood was our small bedroom just off the common dining/living room. I am a light sleeper but he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review of your week at Hacienda Nicholas. We are always thrilled to read of guests enjoying the hospitality, location, food service and ambiance of the inn. Too bad we can't change the weather - March is always so hard to predict, as it can be up in the 60's one day and a light snow flurry the next. At least the fireplace provides a welcome respite. Hopefully you will be able to return one day when breakfast, along with the wine & cheese hour, take place in the outdoor garden courtyard. As for the quiet of your room, even though it was right off the common room - our thick adobe walls are excellent at sound-proofing as well as keeping out the summer heat or cold of winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very nice location, friendly and pleasant personal. Reasonably priced for.
It has a local flavor and Inkeepers are very knowledgable and ready to help with your activities.

Beds are not comfortable, bedding could use renovation

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you found the bed in your room to be uncomfortable and would love to know which room you were in so I can personally check it out. We typically get nothing but rave reviews on the beds, which are Sealy Posturepedic Pillowtops, providing a firm mattress with soft cushioning on top. That mattress, paired with our Comphy microfiber sheets, tend to make people very happy with their beds. In fact, I have been asked many times what sort of mattresses we have, as people want to buy the same for heir homes. However, if there is a problem with a certain bed, I would absolutely want to check that out and take care of it immediately.

Of course for those who prefer a hard mattress, with no pillow-top, I can understand that you would not like the bed, and apologize for that. Because we get such great feedback on these beds, we have the same mattresses in all rooms, so would not have been able to offer you a different option in another room. Again, I am so very sorry about that.

We are all delighted to know how much you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.

Thank you so very much for your feedback, and I do hope to get further information so I can look into the situation carefully.

Carolyn Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We decided at the last minute to stay in Santa Fe this past weekend and were very pleased with the location, very close to The Plaza, the rooms, the service,thanks Merilee, and the food. I would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for going out of your way to write of your experience at Hacienda Nicholas. I will certainly pass along your compliments to Merrilee, who goes out of her way to be a warm and gracious innkeeper. We are all delighted that you found your stay to be so excellent in every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's a pleasure to be able to publicly compliment the Hacienda Nicholas B & B in this forum.
We had the pleasure of staying for three nights. Our Chatelaine Carolyn had left directions to our room as we arrived late. Damn snow in Denver.
The room was perfect, a little on the small side for two international trevellers, but if I could keep my wife out of Macy's we wouldn't have had this problem:-)
In any case, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom, while older still clean and neat and the surrounding area very quiet.
Breakfast is a community table if you wish, and the food is par excellence' cooked to perfection.
It seemed we had kicked a goal, as all our fellow Haciendarians were similar spirits. We certainly enjoyed a long lazy chat with Bob and Christine and followed that up with a dinner.
Carolyn is there every week morning and she is a charmer - truly.
Yes plaudits here, reasonably priced, beautiful Santa Fean atmosphere, wonderful service and comfortable beds.
Oh, and it's within walking distance of all the sights.
10/10

Room Tip: Every room seemed exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Believe me, the pleasure was all ours to have you and Nelliette as our guests recently. It's not often we get visitors all the way from Australia, and you are excellent ambassadors from your country. It was fun to see how well you hit it off with your fellow guests, which often happens when guests choose the option of sitting at our community breakfast tables. Thank you ever so much for your kind comments. We would love to welcome you back to the Hacienda Nicholas, should your travels bring you back to this side of the globe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here right before Christmas and it was wonderful in every way. Fabulous location and a wonderful breakfast with tons of options...healthy and less so....but the best part was the 5pm social hour. You get to mingle with the other guests over a glass of wine and snacks. Super fun with wonderful conversations with folks from all over. No doubt, I would stay again !!!

Room Tip: I was in Sage and while small, it was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Christmas is a beautiful time in Santa Fe, and visitors can enjoy the farolito lined buildings and Plaza lights from Thanksgiving through New Year's Day. It is good to know the breakfast offerings worked well for you - we do try to have a wide variety of foods and to accommodate specific dietary needs as well - and that you particularly enjoyed the Wine & Cheese Hour. We were thrilled to get the first B&B Wine Permits in the state, and love hosting this nightly gathering. We shall look forward to your next visit, and wish you a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Recently we returned from a week-long trip to New Mexico – specifically to Santa Fe and Albuquerque. We stayed at three B&B’s total; with our first stay in Santa Fe (as that was where we arrived via plane) and then a few nights in Albuquerque. Our trip ended with a stay at the Hacienda Nicholas B&B.

Having had a positive experience from our first B&B stay in Santa Fe a few days beforehand, we had cautious but somewhat high expectations of H.N. Upon our afternoon arrival for check-in, we found the front door was locked at Hacienda Nicholas. Calling the number for Hacienda Nicholas, I spoke with the office manager (?) about checking in and she asked if I had received an email with check-in instructions. I checked my phone and sure enough, there was an email sent the day of check-in. While I am not finding fault for the timing of the communication, it would have been nice to have received instructions a day or so before arrival – so as to prevent any panic (I admit that I panicked a bit) and allow for guests to be a bit better prepared. We ended up picking up our check-in info and room key from their other B&B location and after a mis-billing incident, we self-checked in and got ourselves settled at Hacienda Nicholas. I am not sure if we were a one-off incident but I just wanted to be truthful about our B&B experience.

Thankfully, the rest of our stay at Hacienda Nicholas erased any doubts that creeped in from our check-in/billing incident. We booked the Sunflower suite, which is a private and cozy space, away from the main house but one can easily access the main house via a lovely interior courtyard. The hacienda is a traditional Santa Fe lodging and has a unique story to it. The interior is simply but tastefully adorned. Our suite was well furnished with a nice fireplace. Our suite was really comfortable and there was just something really peaceful about sitting in our room with the fireplace going. The lodging is an older building and as such, has decent amenities – which fits with the feel of the place. If one is expecting hi-tech, modern sinks and showers – this won’t be the place that will have that.

Carolyn Lee and her staff are gracious and wonderful hosts. We met Carolyn and some of her staff at breakfast time and we were made to feel really welcomed at Hacienda Nicholas. Carolyn is extremely knowledgeable about the ins and outs of Santa Fe, as she is a long time resident of Santa Fe and can give wonderful recommendations about eateries and things to do in Santa Fe. Breakfast was a delicious affair on the two mornings that we were there. It was Blue Corn Waffles the first morning and Roasted Poblano Chiles with Quinoa & Chipotle Cream Sauce the next – decadently delicious! Also available were fresh fruit cups, yogurts, cereals and granola. One definitely will not starve for breakfast at Hacienda Nicholas. Breakfast is served in a lovely and tastefully furnished common room. A nice fire was going in the great fireplace – which was a nice welcome for the morning. Dining style is family style but there are enough spaces at the two tables that allow one for private dining (if one chooses).

Hacienda Nicholas B&B is super convenient as it is only a few blocks away from the Plaza. One of the things that we most enjoyed about our stay at Hacienda Nicholas was that we were able to comfortably walk to the Plaza and restaurants (about 3 blocks down on Marcy street). The neighborhood felt safe, even at night time. Being able to walk into town gives Santa Fe visitors a different perspective than if one had to drive to different places all the time. It was nice to have that alternate perspective.

Overall, we had a wonderful time at Hacienda Nicholas and will definitely go back again. We would recommend Hacienda Nicholas to anyone wanting to experience traditional Santa Fe lodging that is in town and for the hospitality and service that they provide. Some other noteworthy positives about Hacienda Nicholas that makes them stand out are that they make conscious efforts to recycle and be environmentally friendly, as well as being thoughtful about their healthy breakfasts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Manager at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Goodness me, what a lovely review you have written of your stay at Hacienda Nicholas! It is gratifying to know how much you appreciated everything about your stay, from the Southwestern decor to the service, the regionally-inspired breakfasts to the convenient downtown location.

I feel badly that there was confusion regarding your check-in. We do our best to ensure that guests are informed of our check-in procedure at the time of booking, both verbally and in writing. An email confirmation is sent out once the reservation is made, outlining the check-in at The Madeleine (just across the street) and the necessary driving directions. All arrivals prior to 5pm are checked in by the Madeleine Innkeeper, and the Hacienda NIcholas innkeeper is around from 4:30-6:30/7pm to assist guests and to host the Wine & Cheese Hour.

I certainly understand how it is when one is booking a trip - there are so many emails and details to track: airline reservations, car reservations, multiple lodging confirmations, etc. I regret that our initial email to you, outlining the check-in procedure, got lost in the shuffle.

Because there have been a few others over the years who have also gone first to the Hacienda Nicholas for check in, we will now be sending a second email with a subject line of "Check-In Instructions for the Inn" which will follow the "Confirmation for the Inn" email. I am sure it will help clarify the check-in procedure. Thank you for letting us know of the situation so we could make some changes in our procedures, as well as make the necessary billing adjustment.

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time at Hacienda Nicholas, and that we were able to make up for the initial confusion. Have a wonderful 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.