We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great service in beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming, great service in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas for three nights in August. Beforehand, we had read raving reviews on Trip Advisor and the experience totally lived up to our expectations.

It is a small, environmentally responsible bed and breakfast with about six rooms all connected to a beautiful courtyard. We stayed in the Sunflower room which had a kiva, sky lights, private bathroom and a comfortable king size bed with soft bedding. The white cotton bathrobes added to the simple, but luxurious environment.

The food was wonderful. Every morning Anna made something new - blue corn pancakes one morning, a frittata another - every morning served with fresh fruit, muffins, cereal, coffee, tea and juice. Snacks were left out throughout the day. Always fresh - cookies, brownies, or muffins with iced tea or lemonade. Between 5 and 6:30, appetizers were available which were just as delectable - homemade guacamole, cheese and crackers, etc. Note- most everything was homemade and organic.

Next time we come to Santa Fe, we will return to the Hacienda.

  • Liked — Service, food, comfort
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    41
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
297
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

For the past six years, my husband and I have stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas while visiting Santa Fe. We had tried several other locations before we found this gem. There are a variety of accommodations, both large and small, to suit everyone's needs. Each room is tastefully decorated, very clean, and well-appointed. It's location is ideal for those who enjoy walking, since it is a short stroll to most Santa Fe museums and shops.

Each morning Anna or one of the other innkeepers offers a delicious hearty prepared breakfast with a choice of juice, freshly brewed coffee or tea, fresh fruit, and dry cereal,

In the afternoon, Kevin sets out a tray of his delectable baked cookies to have with lemonade or iced tea. .. a welcome treat after a day of exploring the city and the area..

In the late afernoon, wine and cheese are offered to the guests before they head off to their favorite restaurant. Over the years, we have met many people and made some very special friends at both this informal gathering and the relaxed breakfast . In fact, one of the enduring charms of Hacienda Nicholas is the the warm ambiance created by the friendly, efficient and helpful staff.

  • Liked — Convenience, ambience
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

the rooms were comfortable with ample room for luggage without feeling squashed. the robes were a nice addition.
towels were plush, toiletries were excellent and ecological as were in dispensers without throwing away plastic.
morning cook made excellent breakfasts with an ample variety for any taste bud. loved the 5 p.m. wine, cheese,fruit and salsa each nite.
the staff gave great travel tips to us all... would stay again in a heart beat......

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Forrest Gump might say that even more so than life, with B&Bs you never know what you're gonna get. We've stayed at a lot, and have experienced the bad, OK, pretty good, and, on rare occasions, the sort of experience that makes you continue to foresake the convenience and predictability of hotels. Hacienda Nicholas was one of these rare gems, It's in a great location, to start. Add to that beautiful, comfortable, well-maintained rooms furnished with a clear sense of place. A beautiful outdoor courtyard. Creative, tasty breakfasts that leave you in anticipation of what the next morning will bring. A reception each night with wine and an array of tempting, homemade snacks. And a staff that is available extended hours and eager to share their knowledge of Santa Fe.

Upon reflection, it was the best B&B experience we've ever had in our more than 30 years of extensive travel, and one of our three or four best lodging experiences overall. (For the curious, the others would be the Awanhee Hotel in Yosemite, Kantishna Lodge in Denali, and perhaps the Austria Trend Hotel in Vienna)

  • Liked — spectacular breakfasts
  • Disliked — Well ... maybe the parking space is a little tight. That's as bad as it gets.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash., DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed two nights at Hacienda Nicholas (they only had two nights available), a great B&B across the street from La Posada, from Aug. 1-3. Great location for hopping over to the Plaza, the main drag in Santa Fe. The weekend manager, Ann, was lovely and helpful. Amazing delicious breakfasts in a super adorable courtyard in the morning (hot entree, homemade yogurts, fresh homemade muffins, homemade granola, etc.), a free wine and cheese reception 5-6:30 each night (delicious interesting homemade hors d'oeuvres like hot artichoke dip). Fresh muffins, cookies and coffee left out all the time. The rooms were nicely done, in a rustic "hacienda" fashion with hardwood floors. Just know that this is a B&B, not a four-star hotel (where we later went). Hacienda Nicholas has a policy they only change sheets every four days, they keep the air conditioning set at 74, and there's a fan on at all times in the room to counteract the fact that it was warm (we were there in record-breaking heat). You have to know what you're getting. We were fine, having read the reviews and enjoyed the ambience of friendly guests for the time we were there (everyone sits around the courtyard eating breakfast at group tables grouped in the flower-surrounded little courtyard). We stayed in the Nicholas room, charming, rustic smallish king-sized sleeping room, with a separate large sitting room with tiny tv. It had a place to put your clothes in drawers, which I always love. I can't stand these minimalist places where there's no place to put stuff. The shower was hot and adequate. The sheets nice and bed comfortable. The soap and shampoo in those gym-style dispensers in the bathroom smelt nice. For $275/night including breakfast, wine and cheese reception and all taxes (and free parking) we felt you couldn't beat it. The last day they converted our room to a spa package. They own the spa next door, called Absolute Nirvana, which has been written up on this site, and apparently by Conde Nast. I had a 90 minute massage at a great discounted rate. Not sure what all the hype was about Absolute Nirvana. It was a fine massage and again a great deal with the room; nothing remarkable I thought about the setting. I know they do have some special Balinese "deluxe" massages, but I didnt' get one of those. We heard many people recommend 10,000 Waves Spa. I will say that it was a great deal with the package, and perhaps I should have done a deluxe ($220!). I wish the management much success with their properties. They have put care into this welcoming hotel, a cut above the "lace-doily" B&Bs my husband doesn't like.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Would have liked the air conditioning cooler
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2008
Thank you for such a comprehensive review of the Hacienda Nicholas. I just want to say that we keep the common room cooled to 74, but the interior rooms are set to 72. The Nicholas Room has its own control, though we discovered there was a problem with the ac which was rectified immediately. That room can be set to whatever temperature the guest might like.

Also, I have just replaced the small flat screen with a 22" flat screen TV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

Hacienda Nicholas was really fantastic. They served a gormet breakfast each morning and served fresh home made cookies in the afternoon. The place was clean and neat and there was a cozy little courtyard we enjoyed sitting in while eating breakfast. It is within walking distance of the downtown plaza, museums and restaurants. I would love to stay there again. They are booked so far in advance that it may be difficult to do.

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

From the Bed to the Breakfast, this inn delivers excellence. Slipping into at night was like laying on a cloud. Breakfast the next morning was worth leaving the inviting bed, especially for the delicious local coffee. Probably so good because it is organic and gets roasted fresh each week and delivered right to the inn. We bought a couple of pounds to bring home. There are some really healthy choices as well as the decadent cheesey Santa Fe burritos we had the first morning, and the waffles covered in whipped cream and strawberries. It would have been nice to have a New York Times available in the morning. The local paper is a bit sparse. There is a place to buy it right down at the street at La Posada, which we did the second morning. The friendly and helpful staff plus the great cookies make this place a winner.

  • Liked — staff, breakfasts, location, decor
  • Disliked — no NY Times delivered
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.