We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Winter Getaway
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas in the Wisteria Room for the first leg of our journey to Prescott, AZ George took our reservation and he was pleasant and informative. Serge is the Innkeeper and chef for the breakfast. Each day the breakfast was wonderful and had the flavor of Santa Fe, NM. Serge was also helpful in answering all of our questions.
The Wisteria Room is nice with 2 chairs and a very comfortable bed. It is a narrow room, so if you want a little more space consider one of the other rooms. We had our Golden Retriever with us and his kennel. He takes up some space!! The lobby area is comfortable and cozy for reading or talking with other guests. While there we booked our return trip through Santa Fe for the Cottonwood Room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
It is so heart-warming to read of your enjoyment of Hacienda Nicholas, and that you had such positive interactions with George and Serge. They are both terrific people and stellar employees, with vast knowledge of Santa Fe. Both are terrific chefs as well - so glad you enjoyed the southwestern flair of our breakfasts. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you at breakfast this morning on your return trip from Prescott, and hope you made it home safe and sound through the morning snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    33
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
248
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We rented Casa Pinon for the Thanksgiving weekend and just fell in love with it! It is a delightful little house and very well appointed--we were able to make the turkey and all the fixings in the sweet little kitchen. The main rooms are so comfortable, the beds are simply WONDERFUL and the location was fabulous. We checked in late very at night and had no problems--due entirely to the great instructions sent to us via email, text and followed-up by phone call. Carolyn, one of the innkeepers, was so nice--coming out to help us with a very minor internet problem on THANKSGIVING! (Turned out it was our problem, not theirs). I cannot recommend Casa Pinon enough--we LOVED it! In fact, we loved it so much, we're already planning a trip back in the late Spring with visions of enjoying the outdoor deck while watching the beautiful sunsets over the mountains with a nice glass of wine! Mmm...missing Casa Pinion already!

Green Features: They’ve opted to forgo the little bottles & soap bars. Must admit I thought it was cheesy at first. BUT, once I pumped that oh-so-luscious shampoo into my hand, I knew they made the right choice. From a local place w/natural ingredients. I LOVED it--couldn't stop using the lotion!
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
How wonderful that you enjoyed your Thanksgiving weekend at the Casa Pinon. Having lived there with my family for many years, I have very fond memories of the house, and look forward to living there again one day. It is good to know that the kitchen had all you needed to make your Thanksgiving feast, and that you so enjoyed the house and location. I am glad that the internet problem was such a simple matter so everyone could enjoy their Thanksgiving. We look forward to your return visit when you will be able to enjoy the outdoors and the wonderful sunset views from Casa Pinon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Even with a record 8 inches of snow requiring us to enjoy the indoors, Hacienda Nicholas was a delightful retreat. Close to La Posada for food/drink and close enough to the square once the snow/ice melted, you couldn't ask for a better B&B. Hosts George or MariLee were so genuinely accommodating and helpful with everything from where to eat to what museums to see and stores to shop. The substantial and different breakfasts, served each of the 5 days we were there, were delicious. If all you wanted was fresh fruit and yogurt, it was always available. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: The Sunflower room opened onto the courtyard. It was sunny, roomy and the kiva fireplace was always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Wasn't that a lovely early winter snow we had? We are so lucky in Santa Fe to get lovely powdery snowfalls and then blue skies and sun the next day, making everything look so incredibly beautiful. I am so happy to read that George and Merrilee helped you find just the perfect restaurants and activities so you could enjoy Santa Fe to the fullest - so glad too that you enjoyed all the breakfast offerings! We very much look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guyinlosangeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Would I go back? - yes. Would I refer a friend? - yes. Was I happy? - yes.

Stayed for 6 nights in Casa Pinon.

Regan was great when she took my reservation. Nice, friendly and helpful. Called back a few days later to ask if there was a blender in the house. She said no...but, that they would put one in. The house had a blender when I arrived...and pretty sure it was brand new.

Diane at check in was great. Friendly and helpful.

The wifi wasn't working when we got there. But, the owner (Carolyn sp?) had it taken care of within a few hours with a new router in place. She contacted me several times to keep me updated through the process.

Daily maid service was great.

It's in a great location very close to the plaza. Staying in a house...rather than a bland hotel room made all the difference in my trip. When I go back to Santa Fe...I'll be calling them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Pinon - I agree that staying in a house is far nicer than being in an anonymous hotel room! Regan, Dianne and the rest of the staff work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their visits with us, and we are always happy to accommodate requests from guests. Thank you so much for letting us know there was a problem with the router, as that sort of thing can be dealt with right away. Hopefully you will be able to get back to Santa Fe - we will look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We took the spacious Nicholas Suite and were not disappointed. Cozy, beautifully appointed, comfortable, in a perfect location to the sites of Santa Fe, and parking at the property was very easy. The fireplace was so welcome after chilly walks in the morning and at night after dinners downtown on the plaza. Each breakfast echoed the ingredients of the area and were served with sincere concern for our preferences by the staff.

Room Tip: All the suites were very secluded.
See more room tips
Green Features: This property bends over backward to be environmentally responsible, from locally sourced breakfast ingredients, the green cleaning products, recycle bins in-room,and the by-request policy of clean towels, bed-linens, and housekeeping.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I too love the Nicholas Suite for its quintessential Santa Fe architecture and decor. The large fireplace in the room is a great amenity this time of year - did you know that room was the original kitchen, hence the large size of the fireplace? Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the breakfast offerings, and that you felt well cared for by everyone working at the Hacienda Nicholas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Take home the responsible ecologically friendly culture from the owners of Hacienda Nicholas, Madeleine and Alexander -

In each guest's room:
Special unscented body wash, shampoo and conditioner in shower
recycle bin beside the waste basket
separate washrags for makeup removal and washing the dog or shoes
personal towels can be fresh each day or remain to reuse during short stay

In the diningroom/lounge:
only linen napkins, ceramic mugs/plates/bowls, no styrofoam!

From the kitchen:
All breakfasts baked in reusable glass pyrex casserole dishes,
not time saving throw away containers.

I have probably missed some other careful choices -

Hacienda Hospitality With Care includes homemade granola, fresh baked sweetbreads and endless cookies under a glass domed plate.
GST

Room Tip: Charming poster beds have full, queen and king size beds. When I'm alone I like to stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Gail T,
I am pleased to know how much you noticed about our green operations, and how you value these choices: there is a complete list of all we do on our website. Everything we do at both the Hacienda Nicholas and The Madeleine Inn is with an attempt to be as eco-friendly as possible while continuing to offer guests the utmost in comfort and convenience. Some things cost a bit more, or take a bit more time, but overall, it is very worthwhile to operate in this fashion. Thank you for highlighting this on Trip Advisor, and thank you for your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Comfortable, clean, friendly hospitality well exceeds expectations. Location and staff helpfulness made our first Santa Fe visit delightful. Breakfast setting and evening snacks made for great forum to share experiences with other guests. Not to mention the breakfast food was varied and very tasty. When we are in the southwest we will be back.

Room Tip: Hollyhock is comfortable for two adults. Did not see larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
As I sit here in the midst of a slow recovery from hip replacement I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas, along with the staff, food offerings, service and location. I trust that when you come back through the southwest I will be fully back in the saddle and will look forward to meeting you then. Incidentally, we just got our Wine Permit and will begin offering a nightly Wine & Cheese Hour, starting this evening - a great amenity to enjoy during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.