We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in Casa Pinon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Winter Getaway
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
guyinlosangeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stayed in Casa Pinon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Would I go back? - yes. Would I refer a friend? - yes. Was I happy? - yes.

Stayed for 6 nights in Casa Pinon.

Regan was great when she took my reservation. Nice, friendly and helpful. Called back a few days later to ask if there was a blender in the house. She said no...but, that they would put one in. The house had a blender when I arrived...and pretty sure it was brand new.

Diane at check in was great. Friendly and helpful.

The wifi wasn't working when we got there. But, the owner (Carolyn sp?) had it taken care of within a few hours with a new router in place. She contacted me several times to keep me updated through the process.

Daily maid service was great.

It's in a great location very close to the plaza. Staying in a house...rather than a bland hotel room made all the difference in my trip. When I go back to Santa Fe...I'll be calling them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Pinon - I agree that staying in a house is far nicer than being in an anonymous hotel room! Regan, Dianne and the rest of the staff work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their visits with us, and we are always happy to accommodate requests from guests. Thank you so much for letting us know there was a problem with the router, as that sort of thing can be dealt with right away. Hopefully you will be able to get back to Santa Fe - we will look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    32
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
246
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We took the spacious Nicholas Suite and were not disappointed. Cozy, beautifully appointed, comfortable, in a perfect location to the sites of Santa Fe, and parking at the property was very easy. The fireplace was so welcome after chilly walks in the morning and at night after dinners downtown on the plaza. Each breakfast echoed the ingredients of the area and were served with sincere concern for our preferences by the staff.

Room Tip: All the suites were very secluded.
See more room tips
Green Features: This property bends over backward to be environmentally responsible, from locally sourced breakfast ingredients, the green cleaning products, recycle bins in-room,and the by-request policy of clean towels, bed-linens, and housekeeping.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
I too love the Nicholas Suite for its quintessential Santa Fe architecture and decor. The large fireplace in the room is a great amenity this time of year - did you know that room was the original kitchen, hence the large size of the fireplace? Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the breakfast offerings, and that you felt well cared for by everyone working at the Hacienda Nicholas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Take home the responsible ecologically friendly culture from the owners of Hacienda Nicholas, Madeleine and Alexander -

In each guest's room:
Special unscented body wash, shampoo and conditioner in shower
recycle bin beside the waste basket
separate washrags for makeup removal and washing the dog or shoes
personal towels can be fresh each day or remain to reuse during short stay

In the diningroom/lounge:
only linen napkins, ceramic mugs/plates/bowls, no styrofoam!

From the kitchen:
All breakfasts baked in reusable glass pyrex casserole dishes,
not time saving throw away containers.

I have probably missed some other careful choices -

Hacienda Hospitality With Care includes homemade granola, fresh baked sweetbreads and endless cookies under a glass domed plate.
GST

Room Tip: Charming poster beds have full, queen and king size beds. When I'm alone I like to stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Gail T,
I am pleased to know how much you noticed about our green operations, and how you value these choices: there is a complete list of all we do on our website. Everything we do at both the Hacienda Nicholas and The Madeleine Inn is with an attempt to be as eco-friendly as possible while continuing to offer guests the utmost in comfort and convenience. Some things cost a bit more, or take a bit more time, but overall, it is very worthwhile to operate in this fashion. Thank you for highlighting this on Trip Advisor, and thank you for your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Comfortable, clean, friendly hospitality well exceeds expectations. Location and staff helpfulness made our first Santa Fe visit delightful. Breakfast setting and evening snacks made for great forum to share experiences with other guests. Not to mention the breakfast food was varied and very tasty. When we are in the southwest we will be back.

Room Tip: Hollyhock is comfortable for two adults. Did not see larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
As I sit here in the midst of a slow recovery from hip replacement I am happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas, along with the staff, food offerings, service and location. I trust that when you come back through the southwest I will be fully back in the saddle and will look forward to meeting you then. Incidentally, we just got our Wine Permit and will begin offering a nightly Wine & Cheese Hour, starting this evening - a great amenity to enjoy during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were very fortunate to find Hacienda Nicholas. my husband and I were traveling through Santa Fe and although we had almost two full days to visit the area, we only stayed one night. We were so impressed with the staff, hospitality, rooms (Wisteria), and breakfast. At check in, we were told of the next morning's breakfast, which happened to be the french toast. When I inquired about a gluten free option, they were very willing and capable to present a delightful GF breakfast the next morning. We found the Inn to be absolutely accessible to most sights in Santa Fe. We walked everywhere and did not find the need to use a vehicle. We went to the Plaza (a few times), The Railyard, Canyon Rd and Cross of the Martyrs, Cathedral, Loretto Chapel. The Inn was also in a quiet, safe and picturesque neighborhood. There was plenty of parking. Only reason I didn't give The Inn an excellent was the HVAC. We had trouble getting the air conditioning to work properly. I'm sure had we tried earlier when staff was available, we would have been fine. We tried to turn it on at night and didn't want to call the innkeeper for instructions, it was around 10pm. Hence, it was a little warmer than we would have liked that night. Otherwise, we do plan to stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Wisteria is quiet. It is a narrower room, but very pleasant. Just be sure ask about setting the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We appreciate you writing in to share your Hacienda Nicholas experience with others, and are very happy to know how much you enjoyed your room, the staff, the location and the breakfast. With so many people with dietary restrictions and needs, we are prepared to accommodate most every wish.

I regret that you did not phone me to get help on the AC. As we write in a couple of places in the room, we encourage you to call if you need anything at all after hours, as we truly want our guests to be comfortable. I would have been happy to pop over to get that going for you, or to suggest an open window to enjoy the fresh mountain air. October evening temperatures are in the 40 degree range, making for a lovely night of sleeping. You are clearly a very thoughtful person, not wanting to bother the innkeeper, but that is what we are for. Again, I feel badly that you were uncomfortably warm.

Thank you for your offer to recommend us to others, and we certainly look forward to your next visit. There is so much to see and do in Santa Fe and the surrounding areas! We are happy to help you plan a rewarding vacation, adding to what you have already seen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at The Casita, a cozy and very private suite located just a few blocks from the Plaza and downtown Santa Fe. We loved being able to walk everywhere and really enjoyed the daily walk to and from breakfast at the main inn (which was 3-4 blocks away). While driving to breakfast was certainly an option, we loved getting some fresh air and sunshine in the mornings!

Speaking of the breakfasts, they were delicious, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed chatting with the other guests, who were friendly but not intrusive.

Our little Casita was just the right size for us and had everything we needed, from a teapot on the stove to warm robes in the bathroom. And we loved cozying up by the fireplace in the evenings. We hope to come back very soon!

Room Tip: The Casita is great if you'd like a more private room. Getting to breakfast does require a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We very much appreciate you writing in to let us know of your stay in the Casita, and how much you enjoyed the location, the breakfasts, and the suite itself. While many guests prefer being at the inn itself, I can certainly relate to the desire to have the privacy afforded by one of our off-site little houses, while also having all the B&B amenities of breakfast and the evening social hour. Sitting in front of the kiva fireplace at the end of a day of seeing the sites is indeed a lovely way to end the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I have returned over the past 10 years many times, typically stay in the Nicholas suite, and every time have no complaints. The breakfasts are wonderful, and the staff not only friendly but also available and helpful. (We have stayed at The Madeleine too, and, especially as the b&b's share the Hacienda Nicholas for breakfast, enjoy both sister lodgings.) We are particularly happy that the owner, Carolyn, is typically part of the breakfast experience, and we are pleased that she has always taken a serious part in the daily workings of both inns. We plan on returning annually, and look forward to another wonderful base for our treks in northern New Mexico.

Room Tip: It's worth a bit more to stay in the larger rooms; they are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I can't tell you how gratifying it is for us to have so many guests like you who come back time after time, year after year. As you pointed out, I am very much a hands-on owner, and for me it is heartwarming to see the familiar faces of returning guests, exchange hugs and get caught up on life. Thank you for very much for taking the time to write of your ongoing experience of staying with us at Hacienda NIcholas. I look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.