We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff & Great B & B in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Santa Fe Summer Special
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff & Great B & B in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in the Wisteria Room with my husband in early April. The room was great with a comfortable bed, afternoon sun, & a colorful tile bathroom. We took advantage of the "feast for the palate special" that included a room discount, Santa Fe School of Cooking class discount & multiple restaurant discounts. Delicious breakfasts were served with my favorite being the wild blueberry stuffed french toast. Fresh baked cookies & snacks were avalable in the afternoons. The staff were very friendly and the inn was within walking distance to the plaza and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
I am so glad you took advantage of our Feast for the Palate April Special - we got some great restaurants to participate with deals this year, along with the well known Santa Fe School of Cooking. We are truly blessed with a great staff, our ideal location just 3 blocks from the Plaza, and the wonderful architecture of a historic adobe - so glad you enjoyed all of these features!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    30
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
234
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We received wonderful, warm hospitality from the minute we arrived, till the minute we left.
The accommodations were cozy, quiet and within walking distance of everything in the city -there's even a park across the street and a historical walking trail with a hilltop view of Sante Fe.
The staff provided excellent dining recommendations and the owner sent us on a hiking expedition that was the perfect precursor to Bandelier National Monument. The delicious breakfast meals were definitely "farm to table" and gave us the energy to explore the sights. We cannot wait to return to Sante Fe and stay at our favorite B & B.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect in the Alexander Inn Group - they will exceed your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review of your stay at Hacienda Nicholas! What a day - three five star reviews in one day! We are tickled pink! I am delighted to read that you so appreciated our breakfasts, as well as my suggestion that you visit my "secret" spot on the way to Bandalier. It is indeed a magical, mystical spot. We all look forward to seeing you once again in magical Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed here for the second year in a row in March and couldn't have asked for anything more. I spent 5 nights in the Madeleine and then another 3 nights in the Pinon Casita. Both are great properties with all the amenities and then some. I really like the options of either staying in the B&B or in more of an actual residence - both are unique experiences. The staff always make you feel welcome and are so helpful with any recommendations - shops, restaurants, things to do. And the food is terrific - you will not go home hungry! Next visit I will try the spa - have not had a chance to do that yet but it looks amazing too. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing to return to us, and for writing so favorably of your long stay. There is so much to do in Santa Fe, and almost half of our guests are repeat visitors, finding that it takes multiple visits to experience all there is to do in and around Santa Fe. We certainly hope to see you once again, and we will do our best to help you discover even more of the magic of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I happened across this fab Santa Fe B&B by happenstance while driving around and viewing accomodations in town. The welcome I received from Katarina and Diane immediately made me feel at home. I was given a room tour of both Hacienda Nicholas and the sister inn by Katarina who was quite knowledgable about the unique character of each of the rooms. She also proved to be an excellent go-to source for dining recommendations

The linens are luxurious, the food first rate and the quiet of the place, though bustling with guests was superb. My every need was met, quite often without expressing a one. Location is very nice and private despite being just a few blocks from the Plaza.

I can't recommend this B&B highly enough and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Every room I toured was lovely and quiet. I enjoyed a nice fire in my very quiet room both nights. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
It was a delight having you as a guest at Hacienda Nicholas in the Chamisa Room, and we truly appreciate that you took the time to write a review of your stay on TripAdvisor. It has been perfect springtime weather here lately, with warm sunny days and nights cool enough to enjoy the fireplaces - so glad you did! I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your warm welcome and help from the staff, and will be sure they read your review as well. Thank you so very much, and we hope to have the pleasure of accommodating you once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six nights in late February and the inn was perfect in every way! We were greeted at the reception desk at the sister inn and given a personal tour of both facilities. There were fresh cookies and hot beverages waiting for us. Maps of local attractions and personal recommendations were provided. The common room was cozy with a roaring fire and it was here that the delicious breakfasts were served each morning. The common room was
also a social hub for guests to gather in in the evenings and share stories of their daily adventures. Hacienda Nicholas is within easy walking distant of the plaza and Canyon Road. When we return to Santa Fe, we will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
What a lovely review you have written of your stay at Hacienda Nicholas! We truly appreciate that you have taken the time to write of your visit, and that you enjoyed the breakfasts, the location and the ambiance. We very much look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a really lovely place to stay In Santa Fe: great location, very helpful staff, delicious breakfasts, with a beautiful common area for breakfasts and 5 pm social gathering. Easy walking distance to Plaza but not in a touristy area. The staff was helpful if you needed restaurant suggestions or reservations, but not pushy at all. We stayed in the Nicholas Suite 3 nights. It was very roomy and tastefully decorated in a southwestern stye, with a great fireplace that we used a lot. We would definitely stay here again or try the companion Madeleine Inn next door (neat Victorian house).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
How wonderful to know that you were so pleased with your stay at Hacienda Nicholas. The Nicholas Suite does have a fantastic fireplace, with those vintage tiles making it a bit out of the ordinary. We love our location too - so close to the Plaza and Canyon Road, while also being in a quiet residential neighborhood. Hopefully we shall have the pleasure of accommodating you again before long, whether at Hacienda Nicholas or at The Madeleine (with the Absolute Nirvana Spa in the back garden - ahhhhh).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in February 2013 and found it a perfect place to stay and experience Santa Fe without having to stay outside of town and drive in. We took advantage of the afternoon social hour (which none of the other guests seemed to do), which allowed us to have a good conversation with our hostess Serge over cheese and chips about finding a reasonable, casual place for dinner. Breakfast the next day of blue corn waffles and bacon was excellent, and our room, one of the ones off the common area, was just fine. I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Santa Fe.

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a room off the common area; the walls are thick and double doors separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
I truly appreciate that you made time to write a review of your stay at Hacienda Nicholas, highlighting your enjoyment of the breakfast and evening Social Hour. Please know that I am currently in the process of working on a bill that would allow us to resume serving a glass of wine at our Social Hour. Amazing how much more popular the Social Hour is when it includes wine! With any luck, we will once again be serving wine by summer of 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.