We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy B&B close to the center of Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Santa Fe Winter Getaway
Ranked #7 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy B&B close to the center of Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Hacienda Nicholas is very well managed. The rooms are cozy and furnished with evereything you need. The breakfasts are delicious and offer good variety. The location is very convenient to the center square, Canyon Road galleries, and many excellent restaurants. The staff is helpful beyond measure. You can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: View rooms online to decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    30
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
236
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Top Contributor
321 reviews 321 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Regan was so sweet and accommodating on the phone which gave me great comfort. From the moment we came in, everyone was so pleasant and friendly. The place is very Santa fe but the decor was nothing special The breakfasts was great, cookies around all day long whenever you want them and they have an okay cocktail hour but bring your own wine,etc. they did provide some grapes and a Mexican dip with tortilla chips. It was sitting outside and mingling with other guests. The people working he Re what made the difference.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Nicholas, and particularly that you enjoyed Regan's gracious help on the phone along with the warmth of the rest of the staff. We are certainly hoping to be able to once again serve our own wine - the New Mexico legislature decided it was unlawful for New Mexico B&B's to serve wine or beer, and were we to continue doing so we would risk a lengthy jail term plus a $5000 fine. We decided to stop the wine service and go with non-alcoholic beverages for the time being. I have been appointed as the representative from the New Mexico B&B Association to work on getting new legislation which will allow us to once again serve wine to our guests. Things look promising for this to occur during the upcoming legislative session, so we are hopeful that we will be able to once again turn out Social Hour into a Happy Hour. Keep your fingers crossed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our stay at Hacienda Nicolas was over the premier event in Santa Fe, Indian Market. The location of the Hacienda is ideal and well within walking distance of The Plaza and all that goes on in downtown Santa Fe during "market" from shopping to dinning while remaining in a quiet neighborhood setting. The rooms vary in size and appointments (also price) so you don't have to be T. Boon Pickens to be treated to gormet breakfasts and a very attentive staff. The atmosphere is that you are staying at your best friend's house with a bunch of other people that you like better than your relatives. If you're lucky enough to get to stay there you will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspen
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hacienda Nicholas is a terrific place to stay in Santa Fe. This was our second trip to Santa Fe and we have stayed at the Nicholas both times. The staff is warm, and it feels like you are seeing your second family again. The breakfast was great, and we got some valuable shopping tips which saved us time and money. Convenient location, superb staff and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just returned form five nights at the Hacienda Nicholas and were very pleased. The Nicholas Suite was lovely - super comfortable bed and plenty of space for us to relax after a fun-filled day. All of the staff are friendly and helpful. The book of suggested itineraries for day trips was very useful and spot-on. Breakfast was very good and it was so nice to sit outside and start the day with a delicious and filling meal. (You do have to ask for them to brewdecaf! which I found a little surprising). The location is great - close to the plaza, but a nice enough walk to work off a great dinner. And if you are heading out for day-trips or the opera, it is easy to get to 84. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Suites are really nice and open onto the patio/courtyard. Didn't see the interior roons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are 2 weeks back from our annual trip to Santa Fe. We have been staying at Hacienda Nicholas for many years now and our latest visit here was up to the Inn's usual high standards. Everything is just great; location, the staff, owner, and ambiance. We are looking forward to our return next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hacienda Nicholas had everything we were looking for in a Santa Fe B&B: privacy, comfort, charm, exquisite food, and a very gracious and friendly staff. Their top priority was clearly ensuring we had a wonderful visit, and we did! We stayed in the Casita, and when our college-age son decided to join us for the weekend from Colorado, Carolyn (the lovely owner) brought us a futon. Marilee gave us fabulous restaurant tips, and Greg prepared glorious breakfast meals each morning. In it's atmosphere and top-tier staff, Hacienda Nicholas embodies the welcoming Santa Fe spirit. The hummingbirds greeted us daily, and we were sorry to ever leave! The location is perfect for exploring Santa Fe, so bring a hat and good pair of walking shoes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.