We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay at Hacienda Nicholas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Rates starting at $99
Ranked #8 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Paso, Texas
1 review
“Fabulous stay at Hacienda Nicholas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas for my birthday. He decided to go one day earlier and the staff accommodated us with a room until our room with fireplace and king size bed was available. Both rooms were cozy and lovely, very Santa Fe. The inns obviously have had excellent attention both for comfort and aesthetics. Native American, New Mexican & Eastern Europe artifacts attract the eye and curiosity. I could sit for hours and just enjoy the surroundings. Location is my favorite part of our stay. Anywhere, I could walk in any direction easily: Canyon Road, downtown, the museums, galleries and oh boy! Shopping for gifts, fun and elegant clothes. The joy of Santa Fe is that it is so rustic and brags history in the now. Dirt roads, no paved huge parking lots - all offer the opportunity to enjoy what Santa Fe is and was: an ancient Native American land; a land of the Spanish conquerors, Pass of the North from Mexico to Santa Fe and New Mexican settlers. Please, don't ask for California or New York modern conveniences. I love the whole feel of the inns as much as I've loved visiting Santa Fe for 50 years. The staff is so generous with their time and directions. They made reservations for us, gave us directions and visited. My husband said that breakfast at the Hacienda Nicholas was the best breakfast in town. I agree. We had a grand time. The only disappointment was that we had to leave early because my husband had altitude sickness and got scared. Yet, he plans to return after a visit to his doctor and reassurance that he was okay. I Love the inns and the Nirvana Spa which is attached to the inns. I would love to spend alone time there and hunker down in my room and read, write and meditate. Our visit was spectacular. The staff, the owner and the inn are the answer to a real Santa Fe atmosphere and visit. I would recommend this to any visitor considering a trip to SF.

Room Tip: The Sunflower room in the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth and much-appreciated review. You certainly related with the heart and soul of Santa Fe, and I truly hope you are able to come back to finish your explorations of the city and surrounding areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed in the Nicholas Suite in mid January. The suite was very nice and decorated in a southwest motif that you see everywhere in Sante Fe. Our suite had a gas fireplace which was really nice and cozy. Breakfast was very yummy every morning and if you have an allergy or special food needs, the staff is very willing to try and accommodate. The staff was very friendly and happily answered all of our "tourist" questions regarding restaurants, directions, entertainment, etc. The only downside is the parking as is the same for all of that area. The parking lot is very small or you can park on the street. We drove my husband's larger truck and it was a little difficult to maneuver in the small areas. I would definitely recommend Hacienda Nicholas if you want a little more low-key homy atmosphere instead of a typical hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmitchell64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying here for a long weekend. We had visited here several years ago and also stayed at the Madeleine next door. We have yet to have a disappointing stay. Merrilee is a warm, wonderful Innkeeper who bent over backwards to make sure we felt comfortable. Her suggestions for dining were perfect as were her excursion suggestions. I love the Nicholas and it's great atmosphere. The group of folks we shared breakfast with in the beautiful great room were friendly and the food was excellent. The rooms were spotless and we especially liked how the owners strive for 'Green Living'.
What I was really happy about was the effort that was made to insure we were able to eat breakfast with our dietary restrictions. Thanks for helping make my birthday weekend perfect!!

Room Tip: The suites are fantastic. We have never been in a room that was anything less than charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This was our second time to stay at Hacienda Nicholas. The accommodations are wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable with comfy beds, nice living areas, TV and wifi. The common living area for happy hour and breakfast is a great gathering place. Location is walking distance to the historic square. Carolyn and Greg are great hosts. Greg's breakfasts were delicious and both gave us great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing locations. Hope we get the opportunity for another visit next year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txmcnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas in October. We really enjoyed it. The location is terrific, only a few short blocks from the center plaza. There was parking on site. Breakfasts each morning were quite good and varied. There were snacks available in the afternoon.

We were attending the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta at the time. Santa Fe is only about an hour's drive from the Balloon Fiesta site and the driving was easy. Santa Fe was a great place to return to after the morning ascents had been completed.

We stayed in the Nicholas Suite. The bed was quitte comfortable and the amenities were good. he separate living area and small refigerator made this convenient. This room opens onto a small courtyard, so it was away from the main foot traffic areas of the Inn.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: Pick the Nicholas Suite. It's a bit more expensive, but the seating area, refrigerator, firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobandginny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Region of New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent a fabulous 7 days over Christmas in this delightful B&B in Santa Fe.

Hacienda Nicholas is one of three neighborhood establishments and is the main breakfast room and gathering area for the three. There are 4 rooms in the main house and three suites across a charming courtyard.

We stayed in the Hollyhock room, named for the featured Gustave Baumann print in the bedroom. It's a comfortable room with a flat screened tv and wonderful cable service. The bathroom is separated by two steps down a small hallway. The closet is tucked away in a renovated shower stall in the room with the toilet, which is separated from the full bath and sink.

While all the rooms we saw had wonderful tiles in the bath, The Hollyhock room is the only one to have a rich collection of hand painted scenic tiles from the 1920s. The bathrobes proved were luxurious.

Breakfasts were wonderful. Juice, coffee, and tea were available with granola, yogurt, and fresh fruit cups. Every day on a rotation of 7 days, Doug prepares a sweet or savory hot dish. The standout was the blue cornmeal waffles with blueberries. Seating is at 2 communal tables for 6 and 2 smaller tables for 2.

Snacks are available 24 hours a day. And there is a social hour daily at 5 with additional food that varies every day. In winter there is a blazing fire every morning and evening.

Christmas is mostly high season and we paid roughly $200 a day with NM tax. There is ample parking.

While we thoroughly enjoyed the Hollyhock room and plan to return to it, some might prefer the slightly larger Wisteria. It has two large stuffed chairs (compared to our one) which would be pleasant if you spend any significant time in the room. We preferred the privacy of Hollyhock with its gorgeous tiled bathroom and the privacy. It only shares one wall with another room.

Note, Hacienda Nicholas is at the very end of Marcy Street just before it becomes Hillside. GPS and some guidebooks try to locate it on Marcy Ave which we could never locate. It is a comfortable 3 to 4 blocks to the cathedral, Governor's Palace, plaza, and wonderful shopping and restaurants. It is also conveniently located a short distance (3 blocks) from Canyon Road and its galleries and lighted Christmas Eve farolito walk.

Room Tip: As mentioned the Wisteria room is larger wit two big chairs but we preferred the privavcy of Hollyho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rkorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our stay at Hacienda Nicholas' Juniper casa (down the street from the inn) was great. We were surprised by the great views from the house, and we had everything we needed. We could walk pretty much everywhere we wanted to go, and the inkeepers were sweet and helpful when we had a question. Even though the house is attached to another accommodation, we had complete privacy. When we go back to Santa Fe, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing