We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advice on the Cottage and Casita rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn
320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Years Special 20% OFF
Ranked #9 of 43 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Advice on the Cottage and Casita rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

These are two story rooms. The bedroom only is up a winding staircase. The bathroom is downstairs along with the kitchenette area. We chose not to bring our suitcase upstairs due to the nature of the staircase. Take all this into consideration when booking either of these rooms. That said, the place was charmingly rustic. Different from any B&B we have stayed in but then Santa Fe is very expensive and this was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you very much for writing in to Trip Advisor. I am so very sorry that you were surprised to find spiral staircases in Casita and Cottage. We do our utmost to let guests know of all these details before booking: we let guests know of the spiral staircases when they call to book, it is part of the room description online, there are photos of the staircases online, and it is written in the confirmation letters. We feel this aspect of the houses is critical information, so take great pains to communicate this characteristic. It is also communicated several times that these little houses are two blocks from the main inn.

It is our hope to provide charming and comfortable accommodations to our guests, and to ensure that each guest is guided to the room/house that is most suitable for their needs. Clearly, despite our best efforts at this, there remained some misunderstanding in this case. I have now included this information two times in the room descriptions in hopes of avoiding any such misunderstanding in the future. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience these stairs may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    35
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
256
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas in Santa Fe to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We had a fantastic, romantic three-night stay. Our room (the Nicholas Suite) was very comfortable and spacious, with a rustic gas fireplace to add to some ambience and warmth during the cool Santa Fe nights. The property is a short walk to the plaza, so you can pretty much park your car for the duration of your stay and see the sites. The breakfasts were fantastic, we really enjoyed meeting other guests during breakfast and late afternoon social hour to share backgrounds and dinner ideas. Best of all was the staff, who were very helpful and always there to provide suggestions on where to eat and what to do. I special shout-out needs to go to Diane, who really took care of us and helped make our visit a trip to remember. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here over Easter because we had never been to Santa Fe before. We chose this place after reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor. It is everything as advertised! Wonderful hosts, great breakfasts with interesting guests, good social hour every afternoon sharing adventures and tips with others, within easy walking distance to the plaza. Merrylee was a great help with eating recommendations and made a great breakfast every morning. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

When you are walking in with the pleasant greeter, learning the code for the gates and doors, your eyes soak in the beautiful flowers, the rich nut brown adobe color of the buildings with the blue heather trim and the outdoor fireplace. Inside you are immediately welcomed in the luxury of inviting sofa's and beautiful carpets with Gustave Bauman lovely prints on the walls. Talavera tiles in the shower and bathroom tell you you are in Santa Fe. The common room and bedrooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. Even the dishes are attractive, serving a superb breakfast. Parking is abundant.

Room Tip: The Sage room overlooks one of the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Hacienda Nicholas was more than we hoped for. The personnel extremely helpful and welcoming, the food was great and plentiful (love their cookies!), and there was an adorable enclosed patio that we could've hung out all in. Their beautiful property is situated 3 blocks from the Plaza and within walking distance of the Canyon drive as well. To top it off they were pet friendly. I don't think you can find a better value in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights for her 50th birthday. The Chamisa suite was wonderful. Location is perfect, close to the plaza and Canyon Road. It is my second stay and both were great. Breakfast and "happy hour" were great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We spent ten days at this wonderful B&B and enjoyed every minute of it. The cozy, rustic atmosphere, the friendly, helpful staff, meeting & talking with interesting people at the inn's "happy hour," and the delicious breakfasts, all contributed to a great Santa Fe vacation. A special thanks to Merrilee who graciously helped us find the most delicious restaurants in the area. The location of the inn is perfect...quiet, yet within walking distance to the downtown area. There is so much to do in the area and we hope to return one day. When we do, we surely will stay at Hacienda Nicholas again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 320 East Marcy Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This enchanting B&B offers guests a true taste of the Southwest. Enjoy a great night’s sleep in our beds of feather and down. Unwind in the peace and tranquility afforded by extra thick adobe walls or go one step further and experience sublime bliss next door at the Absolute Nirvana Spa. Savor the luscious scents from our heavenly rose garden and partake of delectable Southwestern inspired breakfasts and afternoon wine & cheese. Let our dedicated staff help you make the most of Santa Fe so you can have the holiday you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Nicholas Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Nicholas Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.