We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho de las Golondrinas

El Rancho de las Golondrinas
334 Los Pinos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
505 471 2261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 101 Activities in Santa Fe
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Ranchs, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This living history museum, located just south of Santa Fe, recreates 18th-century ranch life. Guides, dressed in period clothing, show how people lived in early New Mexico.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Living history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a great place. You can pick up the history of New Mexico by walking through this living history museum with original buildings. In most areas/buildings there is a person dressed in clothing from the era explaining in detail about life back in the days.
Nicely done!

There are lots of events througout the year as well. like wine festivals etc.

Great place, especially if you have kids ( = fantastic field trip...)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
132 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Special event visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were here in the weekend of the 5th of May. During that weekend they had a reinactment of the Civil War. We had a great time in the ranch it self. We spoke to the people that played the residents or work(wo)men druring the hay day of the ranch. It was really informative and fun. We walk to the blacksmith, mill and other buildings that were further in the fields around the ranch. As a bonus we saw campsites of Southern and Federate Soldiers with canons, horses, tents etc etc. We loved it. The actual reinactment of a battle was interesting to watch and hear. The guns and canons were shot multiple times and it hurt the ears, so loud !
The ranch is on higher altitude and it was really cold that day, please bring a jacket or sweater it will make your day even more enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
118 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Fiesta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can't really say much about "normal" days at the Rancho, because we timed our arrival for their opening day fiesta. It was wonderful, with mariachis, folklorico dancers, and costumed interpreters all over the place. It's a big place, and you can easily spend four hours or more there. I was a bit surprised to find that about half of the 60 or so numbered stops on the guide map were buildings from the 1880s, rather than the early 1700s as the Rancho itself. Take all the time you can to talk to the interpreters; they all are unique and you can't help learning something (don't tell the kids, they'll just have fun). Most of the interpreters are going about the daily business of the place as if locked in time, but come out of character to answer any questions you have. In several places there were hands-on activities, like making tortillas or grinding corn. Just a great good time. You probably should follow the signs rather than rely on your GPS.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you want to learn about New Mexico history, this is a great place to start. A former parada on the way to Santa Fe, you will see and learn about Americas history, along with Spain and Mexicos history. Docents will inform you and on festival weekends you can participate in activities. A great family place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ren Fair is a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had SO much fun! What a beautiful outdoor museum with lots to see & do! We went for the annual Renaissance fair watched jousting, ate turkey legs & drank beer...Oh & the kids had fun too! Blowing bubbles, building fairy huts & even seeing a real live unicorn!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho de las Golondrinas also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho de las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho de las Golondrinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.