We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special event visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho de las Golondrinas

El Rancho de las Golondrinas
334 Los Pinos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
505 471 2261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 76 activities in Santa Fe
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Ranchs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This living history museum, located just south of Santa Fe, recreates 18th-century ranch life. Guides, dressed in period clothing, show how people lived in early New Mexico.
Zaltbommel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Special event visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were here in the weekend of the 5th of May. During that weekend they had a reinactment of the Civil War. We had a great time in the ranch it self. We spoke to the people that played the residents or work(wo)men druring the hay day of the ranch. It was really informative and fun. We walk to the blacksmith, mill and other buildings that were further in the fields around the ranch. As a bonus we saw campsites of Southern and Federate Soldiers with canons, horses, tents etc etc. We loved it. The actual reinactment of a battle was interesting to watch and hear. The guns and canons were shot multiple times and it hurt the ears, so loud !
The ranch is on higher altitude and it was really cold that day, please bring a jacket or sweater it will make your day even more enjoyable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    23
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fiesta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I can't really say much about "normal" days at the Rancho, because we timed our arrival for their opening day fiesta. It was wonderful, with mariachis, folklorico dancers, and costumed interpreters all over the place. It's a big place, and you can easily spend four hours or more there. I was a bit surprised to find that about half of the 60 or so numbered stops on the guide map were buildings from the 1880s, rather than the early 1700s as the Rancho itself. Take all the time you can to talk to the interpreters; they all are unique and you can't help learning something (don't tell the kids, they'll just have fun). Most of the interpreters are going about the daily business of the place as if locked in time, but come out of character to answer any questions you have. In several places there were hands-on activities, like making tortillas or grinding corn. Just a great good time. You probably should follow the signs rather than rely on your GPS.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So much history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you want to learn about New Mexico history, this is a great place to start. A former parada on the way to Santa Fe, you will see and learn about Americas history, along with Spain and Mexicos history. Docents will inform you and on festival weekends you can participate in activities. A great family place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pecos, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ren Fair is a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had SO much fun! What a beautiful outdoor museum with lots to see & do! We went for the annual Renaissance fair watched jousting, ate turkey legs & drank beer...Oh & the kids had fun too! Blowing bubbles, building fairy huts & even seeing a real live unicorn!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Living History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Venue for the Santa Fe Wine Festival, as well as other specially featured weekend events. But an interesting way to learn New Mexico history even without a special event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho de las Golondrinas also viewed

 

Been to El Rancho de las Golondrinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho de las Golondrinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Rancho de las Golondrinas to your Saves list