We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You gotta do this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe Balloon Company

Santa Fe Balloon Company
Santa Fe, NM (Downtown)
(505) 699-7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 76 activities in Santa Fe
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Amarillo, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You gotta do this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

It's no wonder the Santa Fe Balloon Co. has received 33 reviews and 33 excellent ratings. Very professional and safe. The crew works hard and Johnny is both incredibly knowledgeable and informative and is quite a character. We had never been in a hot air balloon before but will definitely be back. Do not miss this!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Johnny Lewis is a Rock Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I planned on doing this as a birthday gift to each other on our trip to Santa Fe. We thought this would be great and would be something nice to cross off of our bucket list. Unfortunately due to the weather, we had to scratch our flight. There was an opening the following day, so we're decided to get up awfully early a second day in a row to give this a go. Let's just say that the utter lack off sleep over two days was a VERY small price to pay for an experience that exceeded our already high expectations!
Johnny picked us up early (~5:00 am) and regaled us with interesting conversation on the way to the site. Once there, Johnny and his crew (Jeannie and Michael) got to work and rapidly set up the balloon (even putting me to work, to my delight) while we got beautiful pictures of the early morning desert.
Before you could say "up, up, and away", we were sailing over the desert. Johnny continued to entertain his four passengers while getting us low through canyons and giving us the true feeling of soaring acrobatically. After an hour of entertaining flight, Johnny's accuracy set us down within feet of his intended target. We gently set down on the desert floor, with the crew waiting there.
After quickly packing away the balloon, Jeannie set up a wonderful post-ride feast of champagne mimosas, cheese and crackers, New Mexican cookies, and other treats, as Johnny gave us some history on hot air ballooning. We were back at our hotel by 10:00 am. As another reviewer said, we expected this to be a once-in-a-lifetime experience, but we would love to do this again, and we couldn't imagine doing it with anyone other than Johnny and his crew! It was definitely the pinnacle of our trip to Santa Fe!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than we even imagined!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I took a flight to celebrate our 20th anniversary. This expreience was amazing! While we were a little crowded, there were 7 plus Johnny in our basket, the flight far exceeded our expectations. We went into this thinking it was a once in a lifetime thing. After this flight, we are definitely planning to do it again!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Our Texan pilot made the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Johnny, professional and funny, an outstanding story teller and experienced pilot, made our trip thought he canyons fun and memorable. Small group size and hard working ground crew exuded confidence and positive experience. The champagne at the end made a beautiful finish to the morning.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bucket List Musts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

For our anniversary, my wife and I decided to take a hot air balloon flight. We'd been wanting to since we attended our first Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta (another bucket list must). I researched Santa Fe Balloon Company on Trip Advisor and the internet and though my wife is afraid of heights, we decided to do it. We were picked up around 4:30am at our hotel (Inn of the Governors) and driven to the Bureau of Land Management site north of Santa Fe. There are no high wires, telephone poles, etc., just beautiful country. On the way to the launch site, we were entertained with stories about Santa Fe and Johnny. As for Johnny, I can't say enough. He is very, very funny and has many stories of his own. He's one of the most experienced pilots in the world, has worked for National Geographic, and if you ever see the movie "Crazy Heart" with Jeff Bridges, there's a scene where Jeff and Maggie Gyllenhal go up in a ballon with Johnny. He explained how the flight would progress, and once we got in the gondola and up in the air, my wife's fear of height completely disappeared. He allowed us to operate the burners and truly experience the joy of flying. While we were still 1000 feet in the air, he pointed out the crew truck and radioed them the precise location where he intended to land. The landing was simply amazing! We could barely tell when we touched down, and he put it right in the middle of the dirt road where he told us he would. Afterwards, we each got a certificate along with champagne, cheese and hor d'oevers. We'd both do this again in a heartbeat and if you're ever going to be in Santa Fe, you owe it to yourself to cross this off you're bucket list.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Balloon Company also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe Balloon Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe Balloon Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Santa Fe Balloon Company to your Saves list