We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Save Saved
You added Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon to your Saves list
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Chihuahua, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The highlight of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great getaway, staff was ver nice... The massage was THE BEST, very relaxing, very clean and organized. Price is good for what you get! The facilities are beautiful, we went night so we didn't experience a lot of people. It was worth it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    29
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
82
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just came back from another visit to Ten Thousand Waves (we've been there at least a dozen times!). From the minute you check in, until the minute you leave, you are totally pampered. Get the nose to toes treatment, it's a sampling of several treatments and wonderful. The private baths are worth the extra fee. And stay at least one night. The Japanese style cottages are fabulous, especially the High Moon. This is one of our favorite spots in the world!

Room Tip: All the rooms are exquisite but we love High Moon the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I've been coming to Ten Thousand Waves for over 25 years and it just keeps getting better.
I've stayed in their casitas during winter, spring, summer, and fall. Now we spend about 3 to 4 weeks here every summer. I've written reviews in the past, all excellent ratings. DOG FRIENDLY

If you are seeking a beautiful, quiet and serene place to destress and relax, with total privacy, this is for you. If you decide to have some spa treatments, they are available steps away. If you want to relax in a private hot tub, it's here. If you want Japanese food, there's a restaurant. If you want some Haagen-Das chocolate ice cream, it's here.

Japanese robes are provided and fresh ones replace the worn ones each day. Additionally, if you want to wear them, rubber flip flops are provided. Many of the casitas have wood burning fireplaces, grills for outside cooking, and spacious interiors.

All casitas have kitchen facilities and are stocked with coffee, tea, breakfast food and snacks. There are wonderful dark chocolates, shaped like Buddahas, put on your pillow each day after housekeeping has finished. If your stay is long enough to have laundry that needs washing, there is a washing facility available.

Each casita has a different floor plan and is decorated with the highest quality Japanese items. The bathrooms are spectacular. The beds are exceptionally comfortable, bed linens are 1st rate, and the duvets are to die for.

The landscaping is extensive and maintained with the eye of master gardeners. It's a mixture of Santa Fe and Japan…very well done and improved every year (hard to believe it could get any better).

The staff is outstanding and willing to assist with whatever you want. If you cannot figure out how to work the (pick one: television, dvd, stereo, phone, stove, coffee press, whatever) they will quickly and willingly help.

If you have difficulty climbing the stairs to the spa, there is a car and driver on the property and they will quickly drive you to the spa or the restaurant, and back to your casita.

The only problem we have is to be able to extend our stay each visit because rooms book up a year in advance (there are usually rooms available for short stays). The on-line reservation system is great: you can see what is available on what dates, the cost, a floor plan of the casita and photos of the rooms. Nonetheless, you need to call the reservations department asap to actually book the room.

In conclusion, we return to Ten Thousand Waves for a month each year because, for luxurious serenity, this is the best it gets (and yet, it gets better each year with their constant improvements).

Room Tip: Tell the reservations person what your needs are and ask for a suggested room. All are different flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Several years ago my cousins and I came for a day visit and spa/massage. I vowed the next time, it would not be for the day, but hopefully at least 3 days to a week. So here I am again w/hubby and dog … loving our stay in HIGH MOON … and enjoying all the amenities. Restaurant Izanami IS A MUST - Terrific small plate dishes; everything we ordered was delicious! It may sound odd, but try the friend avocado -- you will enjoy it, trust us. I had 2 treatments … nose to toes (best massage/treatment ever) and he had 6 treatments, a combo we were able to work into "Waves of Bliss", omitting the private tub (since we were lodging guests and he really didn't need that). As mentioned by other reviewers, be sure to research your choices carefully and visit the spa reservation desk to be sure your understanding is in line with theirs. We found that the staff, including the manager, was a bit confused about the specials until I was able to bring the pages up on my computer to show them the details/restrictions. All totally resolved to our satisfaction, but initially I was a little annoyed that they weren't exactly following what was posted on their website. Hubby said the Masters Massage was outstanding and that his shoulder problem hadn't felt so good in several years. High Moon house is closest to the spa, but still >100 steps uphill. Not a problem for us (we characterized it as good exercise), but could be a problem for the less mobile, especially at elevation almost 8,000 ft. We lived in our robes and slippers for 3 days and loved every minute. The day I needed to head into Santa Fe (<4 miles down the mountain) to the post office and a few groceries & wine from Trader Joe's, I put on shorts/t-shirt but left my purse in the room. That's what Ten Thousand Waves does to you -- mind, body, spirit is floating and it's hard to get back into the regular grind/routine. Guests should stay with their pets if they are unaccustomed to being alone, as we did encounter some who continued to bark until their handlers returned from the spa. Our dog does not behave in that manner, so it was a bit of an annoyance in the tranquil and beautiful setting of the resort to hear dogs barking. The only downside was that there was pine tar that had our dog anxiously trying to remove it from her paw pads. I don't think there's much that can be done about that unless we put booties on her (yeah, good luck w/that!). We are of the more modest type, so bathing suits worked fine for us in the communal tub and we didn't feel awkward at all. Just give consideration where you stand on that before arriving. We hope to make Ten Thousand Waves an annual or biennual visit in the future … and for a week's stay! Yes, it was that good and we loved the size and relatively private location of HIGH MOON! We did not find the road noise to be an annoyance as mentioned in other reviews. We are city folk (Oakland, CA) and I am Japanese American, born in Berkeley. We have spent quite a bit of time visiting the onsen in Japan and found this to be as close as you can come to the real deal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

While the decor is a bit "Zen Disneyland," the tranquil setting cannot be denied. Helpful staff show the features of your room, which has fine amenities, upon arrival. My room ("New Moon" - pictured in the banner shot) had a fireplace with enough wood to keep a fire going all night. Just a short walk to the spa and restaurant. Unlike anyplace you've ever stayed and as far from "Santa Fe Style" as you can get - you'll love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are different. Check website for pictures and amenities of each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is my second stay at Ten Thousand Waves. We stayed one night in Full Moon and it was the height of comfort and amenities. There's a very nice shower, a washer/drier, fireplace, dishwasher, and an extremely comfortable bed! It was also very clean! Mostly, the stay was first-rate because of the front desk staff. The two women at the front desk made our time extra great with their kindness and hospitality. I highly recommend Ten Thousand Waves!! Next time we will stay longer!

Room Tip: Full Moon is near gravel, but worth it for the light, the openness of the layout and the comfort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
364 helpful votes 364 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Because of the convenience of being right at the spa and restaurant, we definitely recommend this place. Our room was lovely and serene That said, if you want a larger breakfast, bring some food. What was available in the room was fine, if you like granola...I'm one of those weird people who would rather have an egg. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable but set very low to the ground on a low platform. I got up in the middle of the night and took a tumble, not bad but it could have been much worse. We would stay here again most likely but would choose a different room with a larger patio and would definitely bring food for breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great d destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.