We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Save
You added Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon to your Saves list
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

From start to finish this hotel /spa was perfect. the staff was very accommodating. We drove from LA to NYC and were a bit behind schedule and the staff was very gracious about changing our reservation. The rooms were beautiful, comfortable and they provide fresh coffee beans and a grinder in the room plus fruit and granola and milk. The heated toilet seats are pretty nice too the spa was clean and nice, the restaurant has fabulous healthy but not boring food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    32
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
94
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

You know how sometimes a hotel or restaurant will try to do something in an “authentic” style of some sort, and you come away feeling a little theme-parked-out? That is NOT the case at 10,000 Waves. I’ve been coming here for 20 years (before they had the hotel rooms) and now I love the Japanese-style rooms on top of everything else that they offer. I find the rooms relaxing, and also kind of amusing. Let’s just say it makes me happy to stay there. And even when I’m staying elsewhere in Santa Fe, I always come for a hot tub and some treatments (in addition to massage, I love the salt glow & herbal wrap). This week I ate lunch at their new restaurant, Izanami – delicious. And if you book a tub and a treatment before 1:00, they give you a voucher for a complimentary 3-course prix fixe lunch. You could spend days on the mountain and never go into town – you’d be pampered, well fed and well rested. Sounds good to me!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West University Place, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Interesting place in the hills above Santa Fe. Can be a bit expensive, but a great choice for special occasions. Various private and public hot tubs. We took the "Waterfall". Very romantic. Massages of all sorts are available. My girlfriend and I did a couples which was great. I will recommend Brian. Next evening I had a different type. Pasqual was the "therapist". Not as good. The kimonos they provide at the spa are a nice touch. Changing room was very good. The onsite restaurant was Very nice. Very good atmosphere and food. Reservations advised for Friday & Saturday. The room we had "Blue Moon" was super. Well supplied, very clean. No complaints of any kind. Not many kids around, but they should be Okay. My gf verified the billing was correct.

Room Tip: Review the different options on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a great spa area that is perfect for apres-skiers and or people visiting Santa Fe that want a little get away. Wether you want spa services (amazing massages) or just to unwind at the hot tub/sauna/polar plunge (both communal and private) this is an amazing place to let the body unwind as well as the mind

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Sometimes you find a special location that enhances your journey. This place is it. There is a palpable sense of peace and tranquility in every little viewpoint, in every finish detail of the fantastic houses and baths.

If you need to be able to say with certainty "I have escaped" and you don't mind the somewhat high cost, then 10000 Waves is for you. Don't expect that you can be loud and stupid here or you will meet the Samurai.

Room Tip: They are all good. Leave $5 a day tip for the house cleaners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

While traveling across the country we spent our one night in New Mexico here. It was a relaxing treat.

The setting on the side of a mountain made for great views and an intimate setting for the little cabins crawling up towards the spa. The theme was Japanese but the amenities are western. I think they did a very good job of creating a Japanese like setting but still familiar enough for everyone to enjoy.

Our cabin had a private outside area with a grill, which could be really nice if staying for several days and there was seating to entertain. They allow children and pets, which means they are friendly to all sorts of families.

Walking up to the spa and hot tubs is a bit of a hike, and the stairs were built of rock into the side of the mountain and might be too challenging for some guest, but they also have a shuttle to drive up and down the hill.

We did not get a reservation for any services, but did go to the communal hot tub under the stars. There are dressing rooms and they give you robes and towels, and have showers with really nice products to use before and after your treatments.

They recently opened a Japanese restaurant at the top of the spa, where we had a leisurely meal to end the night.

Next time I am in Santa Fe I will be back here.

Room Tip: Check the website to see each room. They give big discounts for same day reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I decided to have a road trip adventure for our honeymoon and this authentic Japanese style bathhouse is unbelievable. We stayed in the crescent moon house which is well over 1000 sq. ft. and an unbelievable value. The baths, house and restaurant were so good we even extended our stay. Thank you to everyone for helping us have a wonderful stay. We will be back for our anniversary in years to come.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.