We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful japanese style spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Save
You added Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon to your Saves list
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful japanese style spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've been to the baths at this wonderful mountain spa, each time at night, and found the experience fantastic. Looking at the Sangre de Cristo mountains,with the stars starting to come out, while soaking in one of their hot spring pools was an amazing experience, and very "enchanting", just like Santa Fe. It's a bit of Japan in the heart of the Southwest!

Room Tip: Come at dusk so that you can watch the stars come out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    31
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
84
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

For a relatively expensive hotel, it does not deliver. It is a faux Japanese experience. It is run by Americans and as Americans. The parking and walkways are gravel, very dark and an accident waiting to happen. The spa itself is up a series of very long gravel/timbered stairways that are poorly marked leading to many people trying to figure out where they are. It is a long trek to the lodging from the spa, which they bill as pleasurable, while it is anything but that. They say they have a "shuttle," but most of the employees never heard of it, and when you ask for it, you have to squeeze into the back seat of an employee's two-door car. The rooms are pleasing, except the mattress and pillows should have been replaced ten years ago.

All of the bathing pools are outside. There is a women's pool and a communal pool, aside from private pools that you rent for quite a lot of money by the hour. There is no separate pool for men, so if your any woman accompanying you will either have to be in a separate pool, join you in the clothing-optional communal pool or wait to bathe with you from 8:15 p.m. to 9:15 p.m. (the only time that bathing suits are required in the communal pool). While we do not object to clothing optional bathing, those who do should realize the limitations. Departing from other reviews, we found the water to be closely monitored and crystal clean. There also is a sauna as part of the communal bath that is quite nice. There were a good mix of people in terms of age and body build, and anyone could feel quite comfortable. Others have commented about how dark it is around the communal pool at night because it really is a problem. I saw many people stumble. The staff checks the pool area frequently to make sure there are towels, but they do not remove used ones with the same diligence, so there may be dozens of towels lying around on chairs. Unsightly.

My biggest concern has to do with the lack of facilities for anything other than massages and bathing. If you are just there for the day, maybe that is okay, but it is a real issue if you are staying overnight. Here is why: Although I asked about the facilities and was told there is a lounge for when you are tired of sitting in the water and cannot sit outside because it is too cold (as it was on November 6-7, 2013), the "lounge" area actually is a padded bench where people sit while waiting for their massages. There is a "meditation room" which is quite nice in that it has places to sit with pleasant music and big windows; however, it gets very cold when it is busy and the doors are opening, and it gets warm when it is not busy. You are required to wear mid-calf length house robes throughout all common areas (meaning everywhere except the women's bathing tub and the communal bathing tub.) So what do you do when you cannot sit outside and there is no other place to go? Not the "lounge." Not the meditation room because even though you have just left a sauna or hot tub and are very hot, you must wear a large house robe instead of just a towel in the meditation room. I was told that I had to wear the robe instead of a towel in the meditation room, even though the spa advertises on its web site, as you come into the spa and on flyers in the area with a picture of a nude man taking a sitting shower. Kind of silly. Anyway, the point is that you have no place to go to hang out or even be comfortable, and that is a real drag when you are staying at a place that bills itself as a resort/spa where you should want to spend some time as an overnight guest.

Bottom line: if the weather is warm, you are only there for the day, you do not mind clothing optional and you are okay with nothing other than sitting in a small bathing area with limited seating, fine. If you are thinking of staying overnight, think again.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra bucks for a room above the basic. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friends and I visit this Japanese spa every time we visit New Mexico. This time we decided to spend the night and stay in one of their rooms. Three of us shared the Sailor Moon room. It was perfect - from the spacious shower to the heated bidet to the twinkling stars over my day bed. Breakfast was provided via milk, granola and fruit in our room. We loved being able to walk from the spa back to our room and relax even more. As their restaurant isn't open yet, they have a great delivery service from Santa Fe - food is delivered right to your room from local vendors. We absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Ten Thousand Waves on the way back from Lake Powell. After having slept in a tent while on the lake, the nice comfy beds, quiet rooms, massages and private hot tubs were a welcome relief to my arthritic body. I agree with some others about the communal hot tub which is clothing optional. Kinda yucky. Why is it that it's always the people who SHOULD be wearing swim suits who don't!!! The private hot tubs on the other hand are quite nice. Though in August, the cold plundge is not so cold. We said something about that to the staff and they said that it's the ambient temperature. Whatever. It wasn't cold.
We spend one night in New Moon, which was very nice. We later moved to Yado, which is the lowest end room in the complex. We would definitely choose a different room next time given the fact that there's only about a $40 difference in room rates from the low end to the high end. If you're spending $200+ a night for a room anyway, splurge!
We both enjoyed our massages. My husband splurged and had the four hands one. I just had a traditional one since that was only the third professional massage I've ever had. I enjoyed it thoroughly and am now convinced that I need to get one on a more regular basis...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Due to the setting and concept of Ten Thousand Waves, which is stellar, we have returned year after year hoping a few of the kinks will be worked out. Since there isn't any air conditioning, doors and windows must be left open in the summer for circulation. The screen doors do not close properly, so there is a gap where bugs etc. can enter while you sleep. We found cobwebs and dead bugs in the windowsills. If you approach this property as a cabin rental with a few luxury touches, you will set your expectations at the right level. Last year, the pillows smelled funny, so I took one of the covers off - and found the oldest, most disgusting pillows I've ever seen. They are very spare with towels, wash clothes, hangars, etc. Again, it's more "roughing it" than luxury spa setting. Since they allow pets, we have also encountered the barking dog left alone for the day and/or evening (some people love their pets and can't stand to be without them - others don't want to spend the money on a kennel so they bring them and let their neighbors endure whatever goes on while they are gone). This dog barked from 2 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

The spa treatments range from some of the best to some of the worst depending the service provider, but the confusion at the front desk is not relaxing or reassuring. They always seem a bit disoriented and confused. I would definitely stay away from the communal baths - yuk! Lukewarm water with lots of possibly un-showered people - and no treatment of any kind in the water. A great way to get an unwanted infection or fungus. As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is not an authentic japanese bath. There is also a restaurant in the works, but the opening has been pushed back again. One final complaint, after spending thousands of dollars for spa treatments and lodging, we have never once been remembered by the staff, and after receiving an e-mail stating a "special" for their new facial of 20% for both July and August, they retracted the August discount and wouldn't honor their e-mail. Our verdict, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the property. Driveways are gravel, and Hyde Park Road can be heard fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent Spring Break of 2013 skiing in Santa Fe NM and this fantastic Hotel/Spa was our home for a week. The Kids loved it and so did we. There was a PS3 in the room so the kids had a blast. We are going back for Christmas holiday this year and perhaps Spring Break of 2014. Looks like they will have a restaurant up and running by the time we get there, can't wait to check it out. The place is so conveniently located close to the Ski area that allowed us to cut out time to get to the mountain to actually add more time in the slopes which was a win win situation.

Room Tip: Love the suite with the kitchen, made breakfast easier every morning before heading to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There's two parts to this review, the baths and the lodging, but the problem with both is the same - they're fake.

The baths are not Japanese onsen baths, but just an American Jacuzzi. The water is not hot, and there's nowhere to scrub clean beforehand, so it's just a bunch of dirty people in bathing suits sitting in a lukewarm Jacuzzi.

The rooms similarly claimed to be a Japanese resort room, but were not. The promised "tatami" room was not tatami but a sisal mat. The washlet toilet would have been nice, but the buttons to operate it were placed on the other side of the bathroom, which is useless. And a Japanese breakfast is not cereal and milk! The room had Buddha heads everywhere - on the counter, in the tokonoma (fresh flowers belong there), even Buddha head chocolate. We felt like we were in a bad Pier One. And the Japanese signs claiming to be a member of the Japanese Hotspring Hotel Association must have been picked up at a garage sale, because this place certainly can't be a member and displaying this sign here is dishonest..

Overall, we came here for the baths. If the baths had been good, all the other fake kitsch would have been forgiven. But there was no Japanese bath here, and our visit was horribly disappointing. Don't be fooled by this fakery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great d destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.