We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Staying at Sailor Moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Save
You added Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon to your Saves list
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Loved Staying at Sailor Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My friends and I visit this Japanese spa every time we visit New Mexico. This time we decided to spend the night and stay in one of their rooms. Three of us shared the Sailor Moon room. It was perfect - from the spacious shower to the heated bidet to the twinkling stars over my day bed. Breakfast was provided via milk, granola and fruit in our room. We loved being able to walk from the spa back to our room and relax even more. As their restaurant isn't open yet, they have a great delivery service from Santa Fe - food is delivered right to your room from local vendors. We absolutely loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Ten Thousand Waves on the way back from Lake Powell. After having slept in a tent while on the lake, the nice comfy beds, quiet rooms, massages and private hot tubs were a welcome relief to my arthritic body. I agree with some others about the communal hot tub which is clothing optional. Kinda yucky. Why is it that it's always the people who SHOULD be wearing swim suits who don't!!! The private hot tubs on the other hand are quite nice. Though in August, the cold plundge is not so cold. We said something about that to the staff and they said that it's the ambient temperature. Whatever. It wasn't cold.
We spend one night in New Moon, which was very nice. We later moved to Yado, which is the lowest end room in the complex. We would definitely choose a different room next time given the fact that there's only about a $40 difference in room rates from the low end to the high end. If you're spending $200+ a night for a room anyway, splurge!
We both enjoyed our massages. My husband splurged and had the four hands one. I just had a traditional one since that was only the third professional massage I've ever had. I enjoyed it thoroughly and am now convinced that I need to get one on a more regular basis...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Due to the setting and concept of Ten Thousand Waves, which is stellar, we have returned year after year hoping a few of the kinks will be worked out. Since there isn't any air conditioning, doors and windows must be left open in the summer for circulation. The screen doors do not close properly, so there is a gap where bugs etc. can enter while you sleep. We found cobwebs and dead bugs in the windowsills. If you approach this property as a cabin rental with a few luxury touches, you will set your expectations at the right level. Last year, the pillows smelled funny, so I took one of the covers off - and found the oldest, most disgusting pillows I've ever seen. They are very spare with towels, wash clothes, hangars, etc. Again, it's more "roughing it" than luxury spa setting. Since they allow pets, we have also encountered the barking dog left alone for the day and/or evening (some people love their pets and can't stand to be without them - others don't want to spend the money on a kennel so they bring them and let their neighbors endure whatever goes on while they are gone). This dog barked from 2 p.m. to 10:30 p.m.

The spa treatments range from some of the best to some of the worst depending the service provider, but the confusion at the front desk is not relaxing or reassuring. They always seem a bit disoriented and confused. I would definitely stay away from the communal baths - yuk! Lukewarm water with lots of possibly un-showered people - and no treatment of any kind in the water. A great way to get an unwanted infection or fungus. As a previous reviewer mentioned, this is not an authentic japanese bath. There is also a restaurant in the works, but the opening has been pushed back again. One final complaint, after spending thousands of dollars for spa treatments and lodging, we have never once been remembered by the staff, and after receiving an e-mail stating a "special" for their new facial of 20% for both July and August, they retracted the August discount and wouldn't honor their e-mail. Our verdict, we won't be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the property. Driveways are gravel, and Hyde Park Road can be heard fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent Spring Break of 2013 skiing in Santa Fe NM and this fantastic Hotel/Spa was our home for a week. The Kids loved it and so did we. There was a PS3 in the room so the kids had a blast. We are going back for Christmas holiday this year and perhaps Spring Break of 2014. Looks like they will have a restaurant up and running by the time we get there, can't wait to check it out. The place is so conveniently located close to the Ski area that allowed us to cut out time to get to the mountain to actually add more time in the slopes which was a win win situation.

Room Tip: Love the suite with the kitchen, made breakfast easier every morning before heading to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There's two parts to this review, the baths and the lodging, but the problem with both is the same - they're fake.

The baths are not Japanese onsen baths, but just an American Jacuzzi. The water is not hot, and there's nowhere to scrub clean beforehand, so it's just a bunch of dirty people in bathing suits sitting in a lukewarm Jacuzzi.

The rooms similarly claimed to be a Japanese resort room, but were not. The promised "tatami" room was not tatami but a sisal mat. The washlet toilet would have been nice, but the buttons to operate it were placed on the other side of the bathroom, which is useless. And a Japanese breakfast is not cereal and milk! The room had Buddha heads everywhere - on the counter, in the tokonoma (fresh flowers belong there), even Buddha head chocolate. We felt like we were in a bad Pier One. And the Japanese signs claiming to be a member of the Japanese Hotspring Hotel Association must have been picked up at a garage sale, because this place certainly can't be a member and displaying this sign here is dishonest..

Overall, we came here for the baths. If the baths had been good, all the other fake kitsch would have been forgiven. But there was no Japanese bath here, and our visit was horribly disappointing. Don't be fooled by this fakery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The luxury of the Houses of the Moon does not scream, but as with still water, it runs deeply... in every area of the lodging. If we could reserve our favorite casita here at the Houses of the Moon for every year until eternity, we would. We have been guests at Houses of the Moon for several times each year for quite a while and recommend it without reservation (even to the most demanding guests).

For the spa goer, it makes it convenient to have lots of spa services and then walk to your casita for a nap. Close to the ski area too.

Built along the mountainside on the same property as Ten Thousand Waves Japanese Spa, the architecture is a mix of Santa Fe adobe and Japanese. The building materials are superb and everything is hand crafted as in a high end Roykan in Japan. Every casita and room have different layouts.

The landscaping is beautiful and exceptionally well maintained, the towels are Turkish cotton and plentiful, beds are like sleeping in clouds, fitted with white cotton sheets as soft as the Swiss cotton bed linens at the Villa Mallor in Zakopane. The bathrooms are generously stocked with shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion from the Spa gift shop.

Housekeeping is fantastic. Every day they make the rooms perfect, provide fresh fruit and dark chocolates, etc.

Most rooms and casitas have a wood burning fireplace and there is an abundance of kindling and logs of piñon wood to burn (the smell is divine).

On the property, there is a restaurant that has been under construction for several years and not yet open, but the Spa has a selection of food for purchase. All rooms have a small bar (at the least) fitted with equipment for coffee and a fridge. Coffee beans and a selection of teas are provided along with rice milk and granola for breakfast. Almost any Santa Fe restaurant will deliver here, which is amazing.

The internet connection has been upgraded but most cell phone service will not work here (the mountains block the signal), so both long distance and local calls are complimentary from the rooms. However, after the main desk closes at night, incoming calls go directly into voice mail - remember this if someone needs to reach you.

If you visit, please be a good guest: do not shout when on the property. Most guests are here for the serenity and relaxation and a loud "Hey dude, let's party" at midnight carries all across the mountain and is not appreciated (I mention that because only once have I heard that).

Perhaps the most interesting aspect of this property is that there is constant improvenemt in all that is here. The owners keep looking for ways to make it better, and they work hard at it, too. It is truly a bit of paradise, the Japanese way, in the mountains of Santa Fe.

I would suggest that, if possible, you reserve your room as far in advance as you can as there are limited rooms available.

I recommend this property without reservation. If you have read my reviews on other hotel properties, you know there are very few to which I give this endorsement.

Room Tip: Make reservations as far in advance as you can because there are very few rooms on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I watched 10,000 Waves grow from a much loved spa to an equally loved inn/spa in the years I lived in Santa Fe, but never had the chance to experience either personally until I returned for the premiere of Oscar at the opera last week. Everything about our stay was magical--the decor, the grounds, the massage, the staff. Not having cell phone reception was no problem; free local and long distance telephone is provided. And wi-fi was adequate when the serenity got to be more than we could handle. Our only regret is that our stay was a month too soon. A new restaurant is under construction and due to open in September. What better reason to return?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.