We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent Spring Break of 2013 skiing in Santa Fe NM and this fantastic Hotel/Spa was our home for a week. The Kids loved it and so did we. There was a PS3 in the room so the kids had a blast. We are going back for Christmas holiday this year and perhaps Spring Break of 2014. Looks like they will have a restaurant up and running by the time we get there, can't wait to check it out. The place is so conveniently located close to the Ski area that allowed us to cut out time to get to the mountain to actually add more time in the slopes which was a win win situation.

Room Tip: Love the suite with the kitchen, made breakfast easier every morning before heading to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    28
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

There's two parts to this review, the baths and the lodging, but the problem with both is the same - they're fake.

The baths are not Japanese onsen baths, but just an American Jacuzzi. The water is not hot, and there's nowhere to scrub clean beforehand, so it's just a bunch of dirty people in bathing suits sitting in a lukewarm Jacuzzi.

The rooms similarly claimed to be a Japanese resort room, but were not. The promised "tatami" room was not tatami but a sisal mat. The washlet toilet would have been nice, but the buttons to operate it were placed on the other side of the bathroom, which is useless. And a Japanese breakfast is not cereal and milk! The room had Buddha heads everywhere - on the counter, in the tokonoma (fresh flowers belong there), even Buddha head chocolate. We felt like we were in a bad Pier One. And the Japanese signs claiming to be a member of the Japanese Hotspring Hotel Association must have been picked up at a garage sale, because this place certainly can't be a member and displaying this sign here is dishonest..

Overall, we came here for the baths. If the baths had been good, all the other fake kitsch would have been forgiven. But there was no Japanese bath here, and our visit was horribly disappointing. Don't be fooled by this fakery.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The luxury of the Houses of the Moon does not scream, but as with still water, it runs deeply... in every area of the lodging. If we could reserve our favorite casita here at the Houses of the Moon for every year until eternity, we would. We have been guests at Houses of the Moon for several times each year for quite a while and recommend it without reservation (even to the most demanding guests).

For the spa goer, it makes it convenient to have lots of spa services and then walk to your casita for a nap. Close to the ski area too.

Built along the mountainside on the same property as Ten Thousand Waves Japanese Spa, the architecture is a mix of Santa Fe adobe and Japanese. The building materials are superb and everything is hand crafted as in a high end Roykan in Japan. Every casita and room have different layouts.

The landscaping is beautiful and exceptionally well maintained, the towels are Turkish cotton and plentiful, beds are like sleeping in clouds, fitted with white cotton sheets as soft as the Swiss cotton bed linens at the Villa Mallor in Zakopane. The bathrooms are generously stocked with shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion from the Spa gift shop.

Housekeeping is fantastic. Every day they make the rooms perfect, provide fresh fruit and dark chocolates, etc.

Most rooms and casitas have a wood burning fireplace and there is an abundance of kindling and logs of piñon wood to burn (the smell is divine).

On the property, there is a restaurant that has been under construction for several years and not yet open, but the Spa has a selection of food for purchase. All rooms have a small bar (at the least) fitted with equipment for coffee and a fridge. Coffee beans and a selection of teas are provided along with rice milk and granola for breakfast. Almost any Santa Fe restaurant will deliver here, which is amazing.

The internet connection has been upgraded but most cell phone service will not work here (the mountains block the signal), so both long distance and local calls are complimentary from the rooms. However, after the main desk closes at night, incoming calls go directly into voice mail - remember this if someone needs to reach you.

If you visit, please be a good guest: do not shout when on the property. Most guests are here for the serenity and relaxation and a loud "Hey dude, let's party" at midnight carries all across the mountain and is not appreciated (I mention that because only once have I heard that).

Perhaps the most interesting aspect of this property is that there is constant improvenemt in all that is here. The owners keep looking for ways to make it better, and they work hard at it, too. It is truly a bit of paradise, the Japanese way, in the mountains of Santa Fe.

I would suggest that, if possible, you reserve your room as far in advance as you can as there are limited rooms available.

I recommend this property without reservation. If you have read my reviews on other hotel properties, you know there are very few to which I give this endorsement.

Room Tip: Make reservations as far in advance as you can because there are very few rooms on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I watched 10,000 Waves grow from a much loved spa to an equally loved inn/spa in the years I lived in Santa Fe, but never had the chance to experience either personally until I returned for the premiere of Oscar at the opera last week. Everything about our stay was magical--the decor, the grounds, the massage, the staff. Not having cell phone reception was no problem; free local and long distance telephone is provided. And wi-fi was adequate when the serenity got to be more than we could handle. Our only regret is that our stay was a month too soon. A new restaurant is under construction and due to open in September. What better reason to return?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

THis was my second visit to the spa, the first to the hotel. The Japanese aesthetic is so serene and meditative, just sitting in the room is like having a massage. In fact the massage was one of the best I have ever had, and the hot tub/sauna/cold plunge was a wonderful complement. I will definitely stay again. The service was superb - when a sudden storm blew up I went to get an umbrella from the service desk, and the concierge met me at the car door so that I wouold not get wet. Extra such as coffee beans to make french press, granola, fruit and milk meant a relaxing morning contemplating one's good fortune to stay in a hotel such as this.

Room Tip: High moon is closest to the spa; blue moomn is the farthest. All requires about 30 steps to the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

So I never have stayed in the rooms offered, never had a massage or participate in any other services other than going for just the communal use of the tub n sauna. On that nite I can say the sauna is pretty darn nice! I been in a few n this place, in my opinion, still has the best sauna. Plus the cold dunk tank is always a consistent temperature. The only down side to doing the communal is sometimes it seems every Tom, Dick and Harry are there. You need to time the visit just right for the communal n you may get to experience the sauna n tub all to yourself!!! I have a few times! Before signing off, please be a stand up guest(or mature adult) n not a creeper, because nudity is allowed but not required.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have wanted to stay at the Houses of the Moon for many years...we were not disappointed!
We stayed in the Sailor Moon Suite, which is themed for the anime character. The room was complete with an Apple TV that could be "air stream mirrored" with your PC. Our lodging included a beautiful courtyard with a Zen garden. The queen bed was beyond comfortable, and the day bed had an awesome overhead "twinkling" starlight panel. All rooms have a small kitchen area/frig, plenty of tea and condiments, also filtered water, rice milk & granola. Bathroom was great...especially the Toro washlet toilet system (you will just have to stay here to understand). Kimonos and sandals are provided and you can visit the hot tubs at the spa if you wish. TTW is expensive, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Each room has its own experience, so take your time and check them all out on the web-site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Also Known As:
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon
Ten Thousand Waves
Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're the best destination spa they've ever experienced. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon to your Saves list