We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon
Save
You added Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon to your Saves list
3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Hyde Park)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We don't usually stay in expensive accomodations but we decided to slurge because it was our 20th wedding anniversary. We stayed at a stand alone casita with a walk out patio. Our casita is nice but a llittle cramped. However, we like this place because my husband is a big fan of Japanese onsen and we would like to try the spa treatment. There are only a handful of rooms and we appreciate the woodworking skills/details and the lay back atmosphere. The spa is a little hectic because it is a popular place. It is not a luxurious place but it is pretty and unique. Light breakfast comes with the room and it was adequate for us. We both enjoyed the soaking and the treatment. Having stayed in all kinds of B&Bs and hotels in Santa Fe, I think it is a little on the expensive side but if you take advantage of the spa, it is worth the money. So if you just use it as a place to stay in SF and travel around, I don't believe it worth the money. Very nice treatment at the spa, really nice relaxation room and the outdoor tubs for soaking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    32
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
93
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

While residing in Japan, I learned to relish the onsen experience. When traveling across the U.S., I try to include a hot spring visit whenever I can. While Ojo Caliente seemed to be much more popular, I liked the Japanese ambience that Ten Thousand Waves promoted. It isn't Japan so don't go with that expectation, however it still delivers.

We had whittled down our room choices to two, and at the suggestion of the hotel staff, we chose Luna. So glad we did. It has it's own enclosed courtyard, so our puppy had free range. They welcome pets, and provide pet beds, bowls, and poop scoops. It also has a wood burning fireplace. They provide split logs and tinder in the rooms, and stock more wood in cupboards strategically placed along the walk way.

Luna does not have a separate bedroom, but others do. It also does not have a full kitchen, but others do. We were only there overnight, so we didn't think it was necessary. The hotel does stock fruit, filtered water, coffee (you need to grind it, which was lovely), an excellent granola, almond breeze/rice dream milk, and tea in every room.

Luna does have a beautifully appointed organic king mattress, made by a Japanese family in Albuquerque, that's a modern version futon. The beddings are organic cotton, tightly woven and so smooth. The bathroom was huge, and Toto toilets cannot be surpassed by any other brand. There are yukata, hopi coats, and bathroom slippers for guest use. The spa soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion are provided for guest use and can be purchased as well.

The reception desk for lodging is along the lines of a small condo check-in. Hours are limited, and the office area is cozy. Everyone we dealt with made us feel welcome. They are undergoing some renovation in areas, and landscaping is being upgraded right now. The gift shop is stocked with quality goods, and we found quite a few neat things to purchase.

The spa area was extremely busy for a Sunday night. Many patrons not staying on property use the spa facilities. Some of the spa staff could use lessons in handling clients while under stress. We watched some patrons mishandled, and could see why some reviews have been negative. Our personal experience, from the planning & appointment setting all the way through the service was as good as any we've experienced anywhere.

My husband was not thoroughly satisfied with his full body massage as I was, so it's important to be as specific as you can when you request a masseuse. He did enjoy & benefit from the head and foot massages. I recommend the cryopeel with Desiree, the salt glow, and use a private bath. You won't regret it. The Ichiban private bath has it's own sauna, and cool down room. Make the bath your last service,but you'll have to schedule the salt glow after your soak.

What would earn it an excellent rating? A Japanese dining facility, which is under construction and due for completion in the summer of 2013. They could easily include ramen in the gift shop, and maybe find a caterer who would prepare somen to be sold as well. Food delivery is limited, and there is not a lot of choice in the spa shop. So we recommend you take your own food for lunch/dinner. It shouldn't be a problem since you don't have to pack much clothing, and you can cut the toiletries in half : ).

We would return. Families would find it welcoming, and there are large private baths that would keep children from disturbing others. The larger accommodations have full kitchens. We liked the fact that we had a hibatchi on our patio, but better for warming up while enjoying the outdoors since there isn't a sink for clean up.

Room Tip: Take the time to research each room, and ask the staff for recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I spent a night at Ten Thousand Waves in September 2012. It was his first time ever at a spa but I have traveled to destination spas for several years. It seemed a little disorganized upon check in but that may just be because the other spa I travel to regularly is absolutely top notch and I probably shouldn't compare to it. The rooms at Ten Thousand Waves are absolutely gorgeous - we stayed in Rising Moon and it was perfect inside, but it sits right next to the highway and was loud. If you want quiet and relaxing, I highly recommend a room on the other side of the resort. However, I can't see how any of the rooms would be far enough from the highway that they wouldn't have some highway noise. That was the main negative of the stay. We both had massages and they were good. Mine was in a pagoda in the forest with open windows so I could feel a breeze and hear birds singing. Unfortunately I also heard the cars on the highway :( We reserved a private couples hot bath that night at 8:45. We had the Waterfall tub which was great -- LOVED IT. It's a big tub, more than we probably needed for two people, but would be good for larger groups. We also had a cold dip with the waterfall which was nice for cooling down after sitting in the hot tub for awhile. It's nice that these tubs are very private - they are fenced areas and gated with a lock so you can go in your swimsuit or not without being worried. We were there on a full moon so it was incredible sitting in the tub under a bright moon-filled sky.

Also, be aware that there is very little in the way of food on the property. There are a few grab & go sandwiches, etc., but for meals you will need to go into town or order in. There is a delivery service that works with about 10-12 different restaurants and brings it right to your room. We had originally planned to go into Santa Fe to eat dinner but after relaxing with a massage we just ordered in and really enjoyed that. The office has DVDs and we watched a movie and ate dinner in the room before our tubbing time.

Loved the experience, just wish it would have been a more serene location, especially for the $$.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, ask which rooms are furthest from the highway. The property sits lite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Came for a girls wknd from CO. The ladies tub is clothing optional. Most Santa Fe people are very natural & super friendly. We loved the hot springs & sauna. Some ladies were in town from CO celebrating a b-day & stayed in the room. They said it was super nice. We opted not to stay, kinda pricy I feel. The cold pool is COLD!

We both ate a late lunch. The salad was yummy & not overpriced. Love the robes you get to use there. Nice small gift shop.

Will be coming back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband had a conference in Santa Fe and I joined him for an extended weekend. We stayed at the Inn at the Loretto initially, which was a nice hotel. However, we had massages at ten thousand waves and decided to stay here for our remaining three days. We loved it. The entire property is meticulously landscaped (the hotel and the spa). Being Manhattanites, we loved the sense of being in the woods. We stayed in the Sailor Moon room--nice Japanese touches in the decor without being cheesy.
The spa is also excellent--fantastic massages.

Room Tip: They are all good, but all different. Ask the staff to help you pick one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

read an article years ago in Marie Claire or Glamour or some other such publication about the great lodging at Ten Thousand Waves -- Houses of the Moon. It was their offering of Airstream trailers that attracted me, but alas, they no longer offer them. I was offered the Luna room for my stay, and it was such a lovely retreat! The room is easily accessible from the front of the property, but also semi-isolated in that I never saw another guest during my stay. The decor is very calming, and I particularly enjoyed the small touches in the room -- there was fresh whole fruit awaiting me upon my arrival, as well as some granola, some soy milk and ice cold water in the minifridge.

The room was very large, as was the bathroom. There is no A/C in the room, but I was there in August, and didn't need it anyway. I can imagine the winter months would be nice to use the fireplace in the room, but I did not have a need for it during my stay.

My room had a flat screen TV (32'?) with cable channels and a nice assortment of music channels. Upon my arrival, the TV was set to a relaxing music channel.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place to couples or someone just looking to get away.

(For what it's worth, the spa facilities are amazing, too, although not included as part of the stay. That said, they offer shuttle rides up and down the hill [to and from your room] if needed, as the hill is steep and can be tough to navigate in the dark.)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Cozy, comfortable, relaxing and clean room/cottage. Staff was friendly and accomodating and that is including the staff in the spa. We stayed during winter time so noise was not an issue. Highly recommend the private baths and spa. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon

Address: 3451 Hyde Park Rd., 4 Mi From The Plaza On Road To Santa Fe Ski Basin (Box 10200), Santa Fe, NM 87501
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten Thousand Waves is a unique mountain spa resort near Santa Fe, New Mexico that feels like a Japanese onsen. We're primarily a large, beautiful day spa, but for those who plan ahead, we're a great destination spa. Just a short walk through the trees from the baths and treatment areas are thirteen hotel suites.Come for an hour or a week. Stop by briefly after skiing, or spend a romantic vacation sampling our luxury spa packages every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
10,000 Waves - Houses Of The Moon
Ten Thousand Waves - Houses Of The Moon Hotel Santa Fe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ten Thousand Waves - Houses of the Moon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.