We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a wonderful, classic hotel - quiet and with charming and competent personnel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Austin, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is a wonderful, classic hotel - quiet and with charming and competent personnel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The St. Francis in Santa Fe, NM is one of our four favorites in the world. It has been classically renovated and is a quiet, charming place with gracious and competent personnel. A must stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsMgr, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We have taken the time to emphasize the simple beauty of our historic hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    231
    101
    48
    35
See reviews for
81
367
82
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

A charming place to stay in the heart of the Plaza shopping area. Many great restaurants and unique shops. Be sure and get adivce from the people at the front desk who made great suggestions and always routed our trips on a map so we wouldn't get lost. A drive around town is a must.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The Hotel St Francis is perfectly located one block from the Santa Fe Old Town Square and next to the palatial Inn of the Governors. Beautiful, large lobby and whole theme is that of a monastary. We liked the available parking lot, the location and had a wonderful breakfast in the dining room. Rooms nicely done and decently sized. Lovely refreshing lemon water available and beautiful lit fireplace. Reasonably priced for the location and ambiance.
Cons: The bath lighting was so dark you could not see well for make up or shaving. The bar was understaffed and too busy to be a choice for tapas or cocktails; we were warned by the only person serving: sit down but I don't know when I can get to you - we did not stay for cocktails even though we would have preferred not to walk elsewhere after a day of driving. I left an expensive magnifying mirror in the bath (too dark to see it) and when I called Housekeeping, they were out and never called back.
Nice place, within the limitations of baths, especially. We used 2 rooms for 4 people and everyone talking about the inconvenient bath lighting. WOuld be simple to fix.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The service was very friendly. The room was perfect for a vacation: comfortable bed, nice bathroom. The location of the hotel is perfect: one block from the main plaza, with many restaurants and stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

I travel a lot for work and hotels are really important to me. This hotel has good points and bad points, but the 1 major issue was the size of the room. I literally felt like I was back in Europe because the room was no bigger than a closet.

Decor: Lobby was very nice and spacious. The decor was very well appointed and everything was extremely clean. The hallways have beautiful artwork of the old days of Santa Fe and the walls and floors are all white/white marble.

The staff was very polite, but the hotel was not busy, so they were not rushed.

Food: Bar was okay. I had the guacamole and red cabbage salad. Coming from California where we have an amazing restaurant (North Woods Inn) that serves the best red cabbage salad ever, I decide to try it here. Neither was very good, but not awful. The red cabbage had a lot of blue cheese. But in defense of the salad, the bartender did warn me about the blue cheese.

Room: WOW! When I walked into the room and literally directly into the bed I quickly realized I was not in the average American sized room. In fact, you can literally sit on the bed and reach your legs into the bathroom (pictures attached). Perhaps I was given the smallest room in the hotel, but the fact that they sell these types of rooms to people is amazing. When I booked the room I remember nothing about the square footage saying 150sq ft. I am quite honest when I say: "Your toilet, sink, and shower are literally side-by-side and if you are over 5'8 or weight more than about 140 pounds than this room is WAY too small for you. Honestly, this hotel room is the reason I would not recommend this hotel. Now, in the room's defense, the bed was comfortable, the flat screen nicely appointed in the cabinet, the coffee maker quipped with Starbucks, and the windows allowed for nice air.(As a side note: when I entered the bathroom the toilet had not been flushed. Probably the worst part of the room.)

Gym: Very small. 1 bike, 1 treadmill, 1 weight machine.

General Opinion: Nice hotel, but the room was horrible. I would not personally recommend the hotel to families or people traveling for leisure. For business travelers, like myself, you would find the hotel adequate, but make sure to not get the small room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

First, the staff was very nice and friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant so no comment on the food. We stayed in a queen size room. It's an old hotel so expect squeaky floors and very small rooms (at least for the queen size). The decor and location was wonderful. The amenities were nice also with everything from in room safe to free wifi. If you are looking for the "old hotel" experience with some modernized updates you will like it. If you want a roomier place to sit and sleep, better look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel was a great place to stay and only one block off the plaza. Everything has been renovated and was impeccably clean. Room was tiny but the character and the great online price made up for that. Breakfast was great with optional eating on the patio.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.