We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Nidah Spa
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We happened upon the St. Francis for their Sunday brunch and were astounded to be served both bountiful and delicious food while dining almost all by ourselves. We had a wonderful window table in the historic dining room so we could watch the hoards of people standing in line across the street awaiting even a seat, while we were served our great food by an attentive and professional staff. By the time we finished, we were laughing because some of the people we had first seem were still waiting to go inside the other restaurant. The St. Francis is such a classy setting and offers a wide range of food at very reasonable prices, so we really believe we hit the jackpot that Sunday!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    187
    85
    44
    31
See reviews for
71
306
70
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Super location, about a three minute walk from the Santa Fe Plaza. If they are available and you have the means, the deluxe accomodations are significantly larger than the standard rooms. The hotel lobby is quite beautiful and the decor throughout shows great care. The bed was among the most comfortable I have ever slept in. My wife's complaints were that our room lacked a full length mirror and the bathroom was poorly lit. Really helpful and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Arizona
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The St. Francis has just undergone a remodel and it is very well done. Our room was bright and clean with a large window that opened, which was a big plus! The linens and bedding are very high quality and the bed was very comfortable.

The only negative was that the coffee pot, which was in a very nice amoire had to be taken out to be plugged in and the plug was not convenient to the amoire. We talked to the front desk and they said they were working a a solution and it would be remedied.

Other than this it was a very nice experience and a good value for being so close to the square-a short block away-no more than 2 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

This was our first time back to the St Francis since the renovations. They certainly achieved the "monastic" look in the decor both in the lobby area as well as the rooms. The bed was fabulous - very comfortable. A great nights sleep. Room was freshly painted with new carpet, etc. Excellent front desk service. We had made the reservation online on the St Francis website, but the dates that the front desk had for our stay did not match what we had reserved on the website. I had a copy of the confirmation printed from the website so was able to show the correct dates. Front desk staff was appologetic and upgraded our room to compensate for the mistake. This hotel is located just a couple of blocks from the Plaza so is a great location. I was somewhat disappointed that in the renovations they did not include any more shelf space in the bathroom so it is still difficult to store toiletries in the bathroom. Also, the lighting in the bathroom was horrible - very dim. Also no iron and ironing board - only a steamer which didn't work very well. But overall a good stay. All hotels near the Plaza are pretty high priced. St Francis offers a good value if you want to be close to the Plaza.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The hotel is unassuming on a quiet side street two blocks from the Plaza where all the interesting street activity centers. There is parking for guests which I think was free for us because of our meeting but is $9 daily on their web site. The web site pictures give an accurate impression of the hotel. The entry is flanked by veranda set back from the street separated by tall arches and a wrought iron waist high fence where there is bar service. The lobby has high ceilings and unpolished off-white marble floors with high arches. The center piece is an enormous goblet shaped stone water container with Holy Water surrounded by candles that are about 8 inches in diameter and up to 3 feet tall. The hotel workers light the candles in the evening with an unromantic but efficient propane torch. To the left is an enormous fireplace with chairs and sofas. To the right are more rustic tables and chairs along with their restaurant. Check in is to the right of the entrance. It was reasonably quick. Rooms are on the main floor (to the left of the entrance through an archway) and up either an open stairway or elevator. The arches, flooring and layout were quite reminiscent of the hotel that I reviewed here on Trip Advisor a few years ago in Verona, Italy. My room was on the third floor. It was small but extremely quiet. The floor was wood, comfortably warm to bare feet. There was a closet with two bathrobes, a large armoire hiding a TV (they have satellite TV) and a small refrigerator (empty) with 4 large drawers where the hotel guide, phone books etc were kept. There was one large chair of rough wood with a leather seat. It was not very comfortable. There was no desk which was a little bit of a problem, but creating a lounge chair out of the 9 down and 1 foam pillow on top of the enormous king bed took care of setting up a way to use my lap top. (Then it was a matter of staying awake.) Air conditioning was fine though the outside temperature was temperate anyway. Two windows let in a great amount of light, and neither window looked directly into any other window. (Room 330). The bathroom, on the other hand was dimly lit but had a reasonable tub/shower and toilet. The wash basin was in the main room. The bathroom floor was raised about 4-5 inches (also reminiscent of Europe) so this particular room was not ADA compliant. Linens, sheets and pillows were wonderful. The internet access was free and blazingly fast. The keyed safe in the closet is big enough for a 14 inch laptop, it just takes some maneuvering to get into. There is no ironing board or iron, but there seems to be some sort of steamer which I did not try. They have a main meeting room which was well set up and more spacious for a small meeting than I'm used to. Food catering was extremely attentive, and the food was very good. The unattended fitness center is a single small room with treadmill, reclining bike and weight machine with a single wall mounted television right above the treadmill. There were free weights, but it was too small a space to really use those. It was a short 3-4 block walk to the bottom of Canyon Road. I thought the location perfect. Check out was painless. I would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I loved the ambiance of the hotel, the lobby etc. The way to the room, the halls were very narrow and small, the elevator was falling apart. The room was older, windows have no screens on them and air did not cool very well. Had a nice bottle of wine that i wanted to enjoy, the fridge did not work. the bartender was great and gave us an ice bucket to use. bathroom was very very very tiny and cramped. Called front desk several times with problems, they refused to do anything because we booked through hotels.com, then hotels.com would not do anything becuase they said it was hotels problem. Even wrote a letter to hotel manager, received no response. only good thing, was the bed was very comfortable.

  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomsMgr, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
We are thankful that you have shared your experience with us. The intent of the hotel concept is to carry the same ambiance of the hotel that you enjoyed the lobby throughout the hotel. The guest rooms are designed with a simple pared down beauty concept. The furnishings are paragons of purity and simplicity and are inspired by the furniture located in the collections of the Palace of the Governors in Santa Fe. We will continue to take the experiences you had and continue to improve our concept to meet the expectations of all our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Hotel St. Francis has a great location close to everything for the tourist and is a real bargain for the traveler. If you are looking for posh, it isn't here but it has everything that the traveler who is used to European hotels could want. The staff is great! The rooms and are clean and pleasing. They may appear sparce but think about the life of St. Francis and it all fits perfectly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.