We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - walk to restaurants, galleries, entertainment!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Deal - Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location - walk to restaurants, galleries, entertainment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

The location of this hotel is it's best feature along with the lovely lobby. My trip to Santa Fe was both business and pleasure. My husband joined me for a long weekend and we parked our car and only used it to leave town for a day trip to Taos. The staff were all very pleasant, but we especially enjoyed and appreciated Jordan, the evening desk clerk. The room was small for two but very clean and nicely decorated. Our room overlooked a roof of one of the lower floors, but the windows opened out and we enjoyed the fresh air of Santa Fe. The restaurant was undergoing renovation so we were forced to leave the hotel for all meals, but there are many great restaurants, coffee shops, etc very close by. We were not told there was a charge for parking in the lot adjacent to the hotel and when I mentioned this fact upon checking out, the clerk removed the $5 per day fee. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and if the price were right, I would return to the Hotel St. Francis.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    180
    79
    42
    30
See reviews for
68
292
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We decided on priceline for a low rate and got this hotel. The only thing great about this stay was the location of the hotel.$5 a day parking across the street was available. Access to the Plaza was easy and we walked everywhere from this hotel.
We felt this hotel was run downed and needed major renovation in order for it to continue as a historical landmark hotel.
Rooms were decorated with mismatched old furniture with little use and the air was rather stale. Showers had good hot water and the beds were comfy despite the pillows provided. We do not intend on returning to this hotel. If you want an old hotel for nostalgia, perhaps this is the one.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor quality in rooms/hotel upkeep
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Saint Francis is a charming old-style hotel that's becoming increasingly rare in America. There's a plush lobby, a brass bar, an antiquated elevator, and small but comfortable individually decorated rooms. The location couldn't be better, just one block from the plaza. You can walk to numerous museums and galleries, including those on Canyon road. Although it's central we always found a parking space in either the hotel lot or across the street (I hear it's more of a problem in summer). The cleaning staff was also very pleasant and good. And for all that, it's not all that expensive. We had a standard room for $150 plus tax. So far, so good. The problem is that the front desk staff isn't the swiftest I've ever seen. A few simple issues such as getting a roll-away bed for our daughter and having a leak fixed in our bathroom took far longer, and led to many more headaches, than they should of. I guess it made us feel we were in Europe, with old charm and indifferent service. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you are independent travelers looking to take advantage of Santa Fe's many charms. But if you have any complications (you require special services, or are planning something like a wedding), you might think of going elsewhere to avoid headaches. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but I can't really judge it because we ate almost all our meals out.

  • Liked — location, charm
  • Disliked — front desk
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

I'd booked a B&B but we arrived a night early in Santa Fe and after driving around town decided to stay at the St. Francis. They were running a special so room was under 100. Great old hotel, huge lobby, wonderful food in bar (open late) and breakfast was delicious. The room was small but adequate and staff was friendly. I would have gladly stayed there longer: location was perfect.

  • Liked — Location and the duck salad
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

This was a beautiful, historic hotel near the plaza that met all our needs. The queen sized bed was quite comfortable and included a feather bed. It came with two good pillows, but an extra (non-decorative) pillow would have been nice to have as they tended to flatten out. We didn't eat in the restaurant or use room service, so can't comment on that. The room was very small by today's standards, and we were afraid of tripping on the step that leads to the commode. Apparently they shut off the hot water heater in the afternoon or evening. Although they have all the cable channels and some premium channels, we had a hard time watching it given the small room size. They have WiFi but the desktop space is consumed with the coffee pot and coffee, which is a minor annoyance, thereby making me use my laptop on My Lap! The coffee is Starbucks, always a nice treat.

  • Liked — Very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — lack of hot water in the evening
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

This is a great location and charming on the outside and lobby area. The concierge was very helpful and the staff in general was more than pleasant. The room we booked was probably one of their smaller rooms and needed remodeling. It was clean but the carpet was stained and the shower was very loud. We only ate one meal, lunch, in the dining room but the food was good. There is a walking tour that leaves from the hotel lobby, once in the morning and once in the afternoon that was really great and only $12.

  • Liked — Nice charm and only a few blocks from the plaza.
  • Disliked — Room needed updating.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

a real treat and important for giving you the flavor of santa fe, beautifully appointed rooms with history and class in mind. definitely recommend

  • Liked — location perfect
  • Disliked — lifting bags up stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.