We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Located in a central location, I enjoyed being able to walk around to many of the stores and restaurants in area.

The room that we had was clean and modern. It looks like they recently renovated the bathrooms.

Beautiful lobby and helpful staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Hello Daniel Ardeshir R; we appreciate you coming to stay at our historic Hotel St Francis! It sounds like you really got to enjoy all that downtown Santa Fe has to offer; we're thrilled that our great location helped your explorations. Our friendly staff would all like to welcome you back for another great stay on your next adventure in Northern New Mexico. Best, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    224
    100
    48
    34
See reviews for
78
354
80
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The lobby is stunning and the staff are very friendly. Wish they could still continue the high tea they used to serve in the afternoon. Concierge Inger is wonderful and knows her stuff having worked there for 27 years. Hotel is within walking distance of almost everything. Front veranda is wonderful in afternoon and evening.
Problem areas because it is an old structure:
Bathrooms are very small and you have to remember to step up in the night when you enter.
Basin and mirror are in the main bedroom area and mirror is very small and can't be accessed by more than one person at a time.
Side chairs are authentic but not comfortable.
Lighting is very bad for putting on makeup and also for reading in bed.
Television is old with out high definition picture.
Price is high in comparison to amenities at other hotels.

Room Tip: Be careful about taking two hot showers back to back because you could set off the fire alarm which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Lynn S, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We're so happy you like our beautiful lobby and our top-notch customer service! We are lucky to have such a convenient location and the greatest Concierge in Santa Fe, and it's nice to know you enjoyed these aspects of your stay with at Hotel St Francis. Should you choose to plan a return trip, do not hesitate to ask for any extra amenities in your room such as a lamp, extra chairs, and reasonable upgrades to deluxe accommodations. Thank you for staying with us! Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location near the Plaza. Front porch sitting area great for people watching, drinks and something to eat. Due to age of hotel rooms are small but feel larger due to the big windows. Restaurant and bar are friendly and the food and drinks are very good. Staff is friendly and responsive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Zepper50, we're glad you came to stay with us at the Hotel St Francis! Your review is much appreciated, and it's nice to know our location, friendly staff, and food and beverage choices worked so well for you. We will look forward to seeing you again for the best drinks and people-watching in Santa Fe. Best, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Deposit, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The lobby of the hotel is stunning, with the feel of a Spanish courtyard and the location is also excellent within easy walking distance of historic sites, restaurants and museums. The rooms were small, but clean, tastefully decorated, comfortable and quiet. Definitely enjoy an evening drink on the the outside patio and people-watch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Emily2453, it's wonderful to get your review. We thank you for coming to stay with us, and are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed the easy access to downtown and the award-winning drinks on our front loggia! People watching is indeed top-notch here at our historic Hotel St Francis and we hope to welcome you back during your next vacation. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is a beautiful historical hotel in a great location. Front desk service (Sean) was excellent, he seemed to be there around the clock but was always friendly and helpful. Rooms are small when compared to modern hotels but they were comfortable, clean, attractive and functional. Kelsey (bartender) provided excellent service in the lounge. She was friendly and made great drinks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of your stay, Jbhes. It's so nice to know that you loved the excellent service at our historic hotel, not to mention the comfort of the rooms and the overall experience. Your review has been printed and posted in our back office so the employees mentioned will get recognition! Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel for me as solo motorcycle traveller to spend almost a week in downtown Santa Fe. Since I did a lot of camping on my 10'000 miles trip, I was looking for a hotel both comfortable and classy, but not overly fancy. I was prepared to pay more than the usual motel rate. I got a surprisingly fair deal. The hotel is in mission monastery stile, has several floors, the modern renovation maintained this and at the same time offering great comfort. Location couldn't be better. Very nice loggia at the entrance. The lobby, unlike so many american hotels with freezing a/c, was at comfortable temperatures, sth a european traveller realizes with pleasure. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Lot56, thank you for making our historic Hotel St Francis a part of your motorcycle trek! It's wonderful knowing you liked the combination of old-world style and modernity, not to mention the best downtown location in Santa Fe. We hope to see you again for another great stay or an award winning drink on the front loggia during your next adventure. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Really neat hotel right in the middle of downtown. Close to shopping and artisans. Small clean room. Bar is nice with patio. Food service ends at 9:00 pm which makes for a hungry night after a few beverages.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review, Denise S! Our staff and management are happy to know how much you enjoyed the location, ambiance and the #1 bar in Santa Fe. We hope to welcome you back for another great stay; there are some great late-night restaurants open here in downtown Santa Fe which we would be happy to point you to! Best regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.