We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just finished our 4th of July weekend getaway and loved the hotel! The staff and housekeeping was very attentive. The rooms were small but worked fine for us! Loved all the windows in the room! The room was very bright, clean, and we always left the windows open since the weather was wonderful there. We had drinks at the hotel bar Secreto Lounge...the bartender Chris was great! Drinks were wonderful especially the Spicy Secreto...my fav! The covered patio in front of the hotel was a great place to relax with a drink in the afternoon and evenings. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, HuskerGalFromDenver! We're so glad you got to experience the lovely sunny weather and the best cocktails in Santa Fe during your time here at Hotel St Francis. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back for your next visit; meanwhile thank you for taking the time to post a review. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    236
    102
    50
    36
See reviews for
82
373
84
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BETHESDA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was very ill during my stay at the hotel due to a cold picked up on an airplane. The staff at the hotel took wonderful care of me by checking on me periodically, providing urgent care directions, providing a thermometer to test my temperature, etc. Both Anne and Brad were very helpful and made me feel well taken care of when I was feeling so sick I just wanted to go home. I got well and really enjoyed the rest of my stay at the friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want at the desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello Robert G; we're so happy to have been of help to you during your stay and we appreciate your kind words regarding our staff! Anne and Brad will be thrilled to get your feedback, and it's good to hear you got to enjoy at least some of your visit to the "City Different" sans cold. We would love to roll out the carpet for you whenever you're in the mood for a relaxing return visit. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotczech
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

From start to finish this was a miserable experience. Starting with reservations there were issues. The reservation service cannot handle a reservation from a block of rooms. After many phone calls to the coordinator at the hotel were not returned, I finally reached Teresa who said that she would book my room and cancel the reservations that I had made at their sister hotel the Chimayo which I had made just to have some place to stay for the wedding. Teresa was supposed to send an email verification but of course nothing came. The week before our arrival I received a reminder from the Chimayo about my stay there - obviously Teresa had not cancelled the booking. I immediately called the St. Francis and luckily she had booked us a room there.
We arrived on on Friday afternoon and there was one person at the desk who was valiantly trying to check three of us in at the same time, not very successfully!
As stated previously there is NO baggage help available.
Our friends warned that the A/C had been non existent the night before so we immediately asked for a fan. Sure enough there was no A/C on either night of our stay. Yes the nights are cool but if you open you window you have city light pollution and in our case the air handler outside was running all night even though it was not cooling.
We did get half off of our room for the inconvenience but the story is not over yet.
I inadvertently left my brushes in the only tiny drawer under the sink. I called on Monday after realizing that they were missing and were told that housekeeping would be contacted. I received no call back. Wednesday I called and spoke to Alder, the same Alder who is answering all of these comments, and she told me that the room was now occupied but that she would put a note in the log for housekeeping to check on Sunday when the current guests left. I waited patiently until Sunday at noon and was told by housekeeping that the brushes had been found on Friday and thrown out!
After that I decided that Heritage hotels needed to know what was going on so I called and spoke to someone in Guest Relations. She assured me that someone would call me back....that was Monday and today is Wednesday and I have not heard a word.
I give up!
I feel sorry for the desk staff who have to deal with all of these complaints. My experience is not unique, every member of the wedding group had similar issues and we all got reductions in our room rate.

This hotel is not worth it, there are other, better hotels in Santa Fe!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear hotczech, thank you for coming to stay at our historic Hotel St Francis. As we spoke on the phone while you were creating your review, I will simply say thank you for your feedback and apologize again for any miscommunication during my days off. Thank you, Alder Kaitlin Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a 3 night stay in a top floor room with an unobstructed view. It's an old property, the room was just large enough for a queen bed and a sink, with a small room for shower/tub and toilet. If you're needs are to have a quiet room for sleeping, while spending the rest of your time exploring the city, this is a great value. Since it's a very old property with a floor that squeaked with each step, I cannot say whether occupying a lower floor would be as quiet. The desk clerk, Jeremy, was outstandingly accommodating, good communicator, and most pleasant compared to the other desk staff who were less precise and responsive to specific questions. The bar has a top rating, but we found the servers were not very responsive and acted more like models on a catwalk. The room was booked for us through HotWire by a friend with whom we were trying to be close to, and the overall experience was nothing comparable to our favorite in Santa Fe, namely, the Inn on the Alameda, which is admittedly more expensive, but includes an outstanding breakfast and wine hour in late afternoon. You get what you pay for, and this was a good low budget alternative.

Room Tip: Read my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Stuart G, we thank you for your review! It's great hearing how much you liked your 3rd floor accommodations and that Jeremy impressed you with his service. It sounds like you got to do some exploring of the downtown area and we're glad the room rates helped you decide to stay here at our historic Hotel St Francis. Your feedback is valuable and we have passed it along to all applicable departments. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel but it was near 90 degrees and we had little or no air condition working in our room. It was uncomfortable and we were up most the nights hot. We enjoyed the location and the staff was good. I would stay again if they get their air working. A little over priced also

Room Tip: Check online for room pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Manon D, thank you for coming to stay with us and for typing up a review. We're so glad you liked the hotel! We have had our maintenance team up to the corporate level working on our chiller, which has had some recent issues. We believe the problems are now fixed and we sincerely apologize for the discomfort and inconvenience of a too-warm room. We hope to welcome you back for a comfortable (cool) stay! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel is a short walk to the main attractions around the plaza. You couldn't ask for a better location! The hotel itself is fabulous, and the front desk was so kind and helpful. My friend and I really enjoyed our stay. The only glitch was that I didn't realize that there was a charge to park in their side parking lot. Then when we checked out we had a bill of 20 bucks for parking there for 24 hours. It was a surprise, but did not make me regret our wonderful stay. I would recommend staying there, just know that there is a charge for parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hello Tina1Kel, we appreciate receiving your review and all of us are pleased that you enjoyed your easy access to the downtown world of our "City Different". Our staff takes pride in our level of customer service and we are glad this came across for you. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The only thing good about this hotel is the location. Room very tiny. Bathroom inadequate. The bedroom was so small that did not have a chair and the closet was also very small. I did not see why this hotel charged this room for way over $200.
Also they charge for parking. Never again will stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us Bertha K. It's nice to hear you liked the great downtown location of our historic Hotel St Francis. I am sorry to hear the room rate and size didn't meet your expectations; please keep in mind we have many rate and room size options, not to mention other hotels in the plaza area, if you would like to explore a return visit to Santa Fe. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to at least welcome you back for award winning drinks on our front patio! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.