We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Limited Time - Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Santa Monica
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I had room 326, plenty of space for 1 and a cross-breeze. The A/C worked quickly. You can't beat the location if you want to see the museums etc downtown. Small parking lot next door and they validate for the public lot across the street. Housekeeping was efficient and quickly replaced items that I had used. I didn't have the gray towel problem that other reviewers described. My Santa Fe friend says they have the best bar in town. Negatives: The in-room wifi was slow and there is no room service.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear David0077, thanks for taking time to create a review. It's great knowing you had a good time at our historic hotel and got to do some exploring of the surrounding downtown. Do come see us again and try out our craft cocktails in Secreto Bar; until then, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    211
    97
    48
    32
See reviews for
72
342
78
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Not one to give out compliments easily, I must commend the St. Francis lodging in downtown Santa Fe is absolutely one of the best deals in town (especially if you can locate a good deal with them). I found nothing whatsoever to about which to offer criticism. Yes, the rooms might be considered a bit small, but travelers really have no reason to stay in their rooms - Santa Fe is simply a great place to explore.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello DRE262 and thank you for your review! We're glad to know you got to use our centrally-located hotel as a "springboard" to enjoy Santa Fe. There is so much to see here, and we are thrilled to know we provided a good place to stay during your adventures in the City Different. We appreciate you taking time to create a review and we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The rooms are tiny, like cruise ship tiny. There was just a cuple of feet of room around the queen-size bed, byut the hotel is beautifully elegant. It's reminiscent of a monastery, in a very good way. Simple, clean, quiet. The lobby and especially the lobby bar are great places to hang out. Beware, parking adds $$$ to the cost of the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Faygelah, thank you for coming to stay with us at Hotel St Francis, and for reviewing your stay. We look forward to welcoming you for another stay in our elegant, historic property and would love to show you the option for a deluxe room upgrade as well! Come back and enjoy the best drinks in town on our lovely front loggia anytime. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I have stayed in Santa Fe many times and have had beautiful stays all over the city, except this time. I was traveling with my elderly mother who is in no condition to help with lugging suitcases and the such and upon arrival and check-in there was no help whatsoever with the process of getting to our room. I even acquired the bus-rack myself and delivered all to our room. During check-in, they had our room rate at a higher price than our quoted price (which I'm still working on!). Then there was a wedding reception going on completely blocking all entrance to the only way to the elevator. I was given many a nasty look while I alone tried to get our things delivered with no hotel wedding administrator to aid in this. I had to dodge (much to the chagrin of the wedding party) many a photo as they were doing this on the staircase before the elevator. Then misfortune struck our first day and we had a family emergency and had to leave the following day. The staff informed me it could all be taken care of the next day. YEAH, sure! The staff had given us 15% coupon for their own Secreto bar. They refused to use the coupon for our bill saying our order of drinks didn't qualify, although there was no such disclaimer printed on it. We would have been happier at La Posada where I know the margaritas to be MUCH better than these and saved the disappointment. Finally, when we began our check-out process everyone was friendly about our situation, but no-one helped facilitate it and kept passing the responsibility to a mother front desk person. This was difficult because I was forced to deal with three different people, and as I write this at home in Colorado- it's still not resolved! Now here's the clincher- I just called because my pending charge for my printed invoice was TWICE the amount! I immediately called to resolve this and got the first man Jeremy who had been so nice yesterday when I began my check out who began reprimanding me saying, "You need to deal with Lauren who'll be here in a while and also I don't appreciate that you told her that I would give you a better rate!" I repeated exactly what he had said to me (that I wouldn't be penalized for my early departure) and he agreed that was what he indeed had said. He apologized, but I just felt so dejected and disappointed and sad about a hotel staff person in such a hotel treating me so shabbily. Now I just received a "call" from Lauren and I can just tell I'm not going to be happy. I did let Sean (another hotel receptionist) know that I would say he was fine, but that's it for compliments for this joke of a "luxury" hotel. They will now have a conversation with my husband and I don't think they're going to like it. Never, EVER will I stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was so noisy being next to pump outside our windows had to stay shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear AntoinetteS326, we thank you for taking time to create this valuable review. I am so sorry to hear your experience did not live up to your expectations and your frustration is understandable; you were not expecting a wedding in the middle of your hotel lobby! I sincerely hope any confusion with your billing has been resolved and if not please email me at aseaman@hhandr.com; I will see what I can do to help. We appreciate your feedback, as this gives us the opportunity to train our staff and improve our guest experiences. Thank you for coming to stay with us! Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We visited in September 2013 for fiestas. It was my first visit to Santa Fe and this location and trip could not have been better. Our room was a little small but the decor and style of the hotel was beautiful. We got a great room rate, more affordable than many of the other hotels in the area. This hotel is in the best location-just step outside and you are in the plaza! We recommend this hotel to family and friends and will return!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi there TravelBugK25! It's nice to get your review and we are so happy we could be a part of your Fiestas visit to Santa Fe. We appreciate hearing that the affordability and location helped make your trip special, and we certainly hope to see you again this fall for another unforgettable stay. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I must say that the location is what makes this property valuable. The staff would be another asset, as all at the hotel were warm, informative and helpful. The welcome letter on the bed stated "In simplicity there is complexity", and I would have to agree with that. Upon opening the door to our overpriced room, it hit the nightstand, as the room was that small. While I has expected "quaint", I did not expect "uncomfortable". The space to walk from the bed to the bathroom (between the bed and TV hutch) was approx. 10-12 inches. Had this been the only unpleasant finding, I could have accepted it. Upon going to bed the first evening, it was noted that the bed sloped terribly towards the head, with a large depression in the center of the bed. It was positively the most uncomfortable bed I have slept in at a hotel ever. The room faced the parking lot, and was extremely noisy with street traffic late into the night (even with the window closed and cooling on). Additionally, my aging eyes battled with the lack of lighting every day. One bulb is not enough to see to put makeup on or contacts in! I am unsure if the restaurant had recently been removed as part of the hotel, running independently, but we were told on check in that the restaurant was separate. Because of this, the bar only served food when the restaurant was open. We arrived at 2:15pm, having not eaten lunch, and were looking forward to relaxing at the outdoor patio with drink and snacks. It wasn't until after we ordered our drinks that we were told they had no food. The Spicy Secreto was good, but not worth the price. The décor is clean, simple, and attractive. If the rooms had been more comfortable and food (even small plates like Tapas) had been available at the bar, I would have made it a top place to stay. Unfortunately we will not be back. There are other comfortable hotels close to the plaza we will go back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street side, and ask for a good bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear thefosterfarm, we thank you for taking valuable time to write a review of your stay at the historic Hotel St Francis. It's great hearing how much you liked our convenient downtown location, simple decor and top-notch staff. We would love to welcome you back to try a deluxe room; keep in mind we can provide any amenity such as extra lamps upon request. We are always happy to let guests explore other room options as long as we have availability. Meanwhile, we sincerely appreciate your feedback and will communicate it to all departments. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My friend and I stayed at this lovely hotel for our friends' wedding, we live here in Santa Fe and it was nice to play tourist! A group of the wedding couple's friends are from Dallas...we had a blast out on the patio drinking the bar's fancy delicious cocktails and the service was impeccable! Our A/C in the room wasn't working, but the sweet gal at the front had one of the maintenance guys come up to fix it, he turned out to be the nicest guy! If I remember correctly, his name is Bradford? Not only did he get our room to a nice chill, but he brought us the bottle of wine that we ordered from the bar downstairs! That, to me, is going above and beyond...we will DEFINITELY be staying here again! It's a two thumbs up staycation location!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Hi Kayla M, it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel St Francis. We're always happy to have Santa Fe locals come visit. It's great that you and your friends got to enjoy the best drinks in town on our front Loggia! Bradford is thrilled to get your feedback and all of us would love to see you again for drinks and dinner, if not a "staycation" of your own. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.