We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Salida, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Not exaggerating, our room was TINY. It is a beautiful hotel, the bed was comfortable, and the location is right in the historic district. Extra plus that there was parking included with our stay. The price was a bit on the high side for us though. If they hadn't had a sale going on one of the travel sites, we probably would have stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: We skipped a view of the square for what the front desk called a "larger room."
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello aubrey w, and thank you for coming to stay at Hotel St Francis. It's nice to get your review and hear you liked the lovely beds and the simple beauty of the building. Our traditional rooms can be pretty intimate and we understand the desire for more space. We offer very reasonable upgrades to our deluxe rooms, which saves our guests money, vs booking at the deluxe rate. Please feel free to enquire about these options should you visit us again! We would love the chance to welcome you back. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    191
    89
    44
    32
See reviews for
71
314
73
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego oregon
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel St Francis was excellent, with only a few shortcomings:
smallish room, adjacent to traffic street, and no coffee or breakfast setup.
Still, nicely restored, friendly staff, excellent location near plaza and river walk,
convenient parking. Nice ambience inside and veranda outside.
Would definitely stay there again. Great for pets....

Room Tip: get room not on street; ask for coffee setup
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello and thank you for coming to stay at Hotel St Francis, Ablaf! We appreciate your review. Our hotel is historic yet lovely and we're glad you liked the feel of the property. The downtown location does lend itself to some street noise; however, the convenience to the plaza can't be beat. It sounds like you were able to easily explore Santa Fe. We are hoping to have a coffee setup in the lobby soon and are looking forward to welcoming you (and your pet) for another stay! Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you plan on staying in the plaza in Santa Fe definitely stay here. It is centrally located and has parking. If you are picky about your room upgrade to a bigger room. The standard rooms are small. I was upgraded to a bigger room and it was a wonderful experience. Prices In the hotel bar and restaurant are pricy but expected, but walk out the front door and there are plenty of other options.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Hello stbunco, thanks so much for staying with us and for taking the time to give us a review. We're glad we were able to upgrade you to a room better suited to your needs. It's nice to hear our great location enabled you to explore downtown Santa Fe. We look forward to seeing you again! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were disappointed by the room's amenities. If we had come with 2 suitcases, I don't know where we would have put them. The small sink was right next to the bed and too high to use easily. There was only one small mirror in the room over the sink and no full length. Lighting was insufficient to put on makeup or anything else! Perhaps there are better rooms. This room would have been fine for a single person, but not for a couple. Be sure to ask.

The staff was wonderful! They were friendly and helpful. We got some great dinner suggestions from Abigail. The location is perfect and the lobby and night life are great for meeting others. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast. We loved sitting on the large front porch just watching people go by.

Room Tip: Ask about size of room and take a bigger room. Remind them you want a full length mirror as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Doug V, thank you for your review. We're pleased to know our amazing staff was of help to you during your exploration of Santa Fe, and that you got to lounge in our lobby and enjoy the people watching. Sounds like you hit all the high notes! Our rooms do have a range of sizes and configurations; should you come to stay again be sure to inquire about a full length mirror, different room options, etc. Meanwhile, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in April for 3 nights
This is the oldest hotel in Santa Fe, filled with charm. Location is perfect. Beds are super comfy
But rooms are small and the bathrooms are small but the good outweighs the negatives so we would return
Fun to hang out and have a drink after a long day on the spacious front porch or bar
Also the price is right

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear clesser, it's great to get your feedback. We love hearing the charm and friendly service hit high notes with you during your stay. Even though our traditional sized guest rooms are intimate, it's nice to know you were comfortable on our excellent mattresses and Frette linens and that room size would not stop you from coming back to see us again! We would love to see you for top-notch people watching and hand crafted cocktails on our front Loggia this summer! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The decor was refreshingly simple - no art on the walls in the room, yet beautiful, white, with iron and wood furniture. Tons of pillows on the bed, an operable window for fresh air, and amenities that worked. Front desk folks were friendly and clearly aimed to make the stay comfortable. Parking was full in the hotel lot, but they reimbursed for parking in the municipal lot across the street. Parking was $11 per day, but was worth it to have a car to get to Taos and outer hikes. Would've been great to have a pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Jonasty; thank you very much for posting a review of your stay. Our guest rooms were designed with simplicity in mind; Santa Fe can be a sensory overload, and we strive to be a peaceful escape in the midst of the "city different". It is great to hear we struck this chord during your adventures in the area! When you come see us again during summer months, inquire about the 5-minute shuttle drive to our sister hotel's beautiful outdoor pool. We would love to welcome you back. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The rooms were so ungodly hot that we barely slept all night. We called the front desk and they were unable to change the room temperature, so we opened the windows and were forced to listen to loud music, noise, and vehicles on the street below all night. We paid a lot of money for a classic hotel near the plaza, but the only view we had was of the alleyway next to the hotel. I was disappointed to not have breakfast or welcome drinks included in the cost of the room. When we went to have drinks in the bar of the hotel, it took more than 20 minutes for a server to greet us. The hotel doesn't even have a pool. There are many other options for beautiful hotels in the Santa Fe area, so I would NOT recommend Hotel St. Francis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeth M, thank you for taking the time to create a review of your stay at our historic Hotel St Francis. Since our property is one of the oldest buildings in Santa Fe, our 4-pipe air system can make room temperatures tricky during springtime at 7,000 feet; we are still getting nights when it is 30 degrees outside. For example, this morning we had a snow storm! So you are aware, we offer deluxe room accommodations with better views and more space for nominal upgrade fees, based on availability. However, I am sorry to hear your expectations were not met during your stay and we will certainly pass along your valuable feedback to our bar management. We appreciate you coming to stay with us. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.