We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some good, some bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Deal - Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Whippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“some good, some bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were disappointed by the room's amenities. If we had come with 2 suitcases, I don't know where we would have put them. The small sink was right next to the bed and too high to use easily. There was only one small mirror in the room over the sink and no full length. Lighting was insufficient to put on makeup or anything else! Perhaps there are better rooms. This room would have been fine for a single person, but not for a couple. Be sure to ask.

The staff was wonderful! They were friendly and helpful. We got some great dinner suggestions from Abigail. The location is perfect and the lobby and night life are great for meeting others. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast. We loved sitting on the large front porch just watching people go by.

Room Tip: Ask about size of room and take a bigger room. Remind them you want a full length mirror as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Doug V, thank you for your review. We're pleased to know our amazing staff was of help to you during your exploration of Santa Fe, and that you got to lounge in our lobby and enjoy the people watching. Sounds like you hit all the high notes! Our rooms do have a range of sizes and configurations; should you come to stay again be sure to inquire about a full length mirror, different room options, etc. Meanwhile, we appreciate your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    181
    79
    43
    30
See reviews for
68
295
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in April for 3 nights
This is the oldest hotel in Santa Fe, filled with charm. Location is perfect. Beds are super comfy
But rooms are small and the bathrooms are small but the good outweighs the negatives so we would return
Fun to hang out and have a drink after a long day on the spacious front porch or bar
Also the price is right

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear clesser, it's great to get your feedback. We love hearing the charm and friendly service hit high notes with you during your stay. Even though our traditional sized guest rooms are intimate, it's nice to know you were comfortable on our excellent mattresses and Frette linens and that room size would not stop you from coming back to see us again! We would love to see you for top-notch people watching and hand crafted cocktails on our front Loggia this summer! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The decor was refreshingly simple - no art on the walls in the room, yet beautiful, white, with iron and wood furniture. Tons of pillows on the bed, an operable window for fresh air, and amenities that worked. Front desk folks were friendly and clearly aimed to make the stay comfortable. Parking was full in the hotel lot, but they reimbursed for parking in the municipal lot across the street. Parking was $11 per day, but was worth it to have a car to get to Taos and outer hikes. Would've been great to have a pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Jonasty; thank you very much for posting a review of your stay. Our guest rooms were designed with simplicity in mind; Santa Fe can be a sensory overload, and we strive to be a peaceful escape in the midst of the "city different". It is great to hear we struck this chord during your adventures in the area! When you come see us again during summer months, inquire about the 5-minute shuttle drive to our sister hotel's beautiful outdoor pool. We would love to welcome you back. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The rooms were so ungodly hot that we barely slept all night. We called the front desk and they were unable to change the room temperature, so we opened the windows and were forced to listen to loud music, noise, and vehicles on the street below all night. We paid a lot of money for a classic hotel near the plaza, but the only view we had was of the alleyway next to the hotel. I was disappointed to not have breakfast or welcome drinks included in the cost of the room. When we went to have drinks in the bar of the hotel, it took more than 20 minutes for a server to greet us. The hotel doesn't even have a pool. There are many other options for beautiful hotels in the Santa Fe area, so I would NOT recommend Hotel St. Francis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Elizabeth M, thank you for taking the time to create a review of your stay at our historic Hotel St Francis. Since our property is one of the oldest buildings in Santa Fe, our 4-pipe air system can make room temperatures tricky during springtime at 7,000 feet; we are still getting nights when it is 30 degrees outside. For example, this morning we had a snow storm! So you are aware, we offer deluxe room accommodations with better views and more space for nominal upgrade fees, based on availability. However, I am sorry to hear your expectations were not met during your stay and we will certainly pass along your valuable feedback to our bar management. We appreciate you coming to stay with us. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I am old enough to remember Disney 's Zorro TV series. How I loved the gracious Spanish rooms with their high ceilings, massive furniture and wrought iron staircases. The Hotel St. Francis is a visit to that world, only it's real, not a Hollywood set. The recent renovation preserves its historical character yet all the modern comforts are there, along with a friendly, helpful staff and hospitable touches such as a citrus water station in the lobby. The air smells deliciously herbal, and concierge Inger is a special treasure. The location is perfect, right on the square. We definitely will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Robert C; thank you for your lovely review of our historic Hotel St Francis! We are proud to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, from the location to the staff and concierge service to the old-world style decor and stellar location. Our staff thanks you for coming to stay with us and we would all love to see you again on your next adventure in Santa Fe. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here when we passed through Santa Fe on a road trip. The location is unbeatable, you are within walking distance of the plaza, shops, and restaurants. It is also right across the street from my favorite Santa Fe breakfast spot, Cafe Pasqual's. I loved the old Spanish style stucco throughout. Its design is simple, but that is in keeping with its historical past. I found it very classy, especially next to many of the businesses in Santa Fe that can go a little overboard with "Southwestern" decor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear KathrynZB, thank you for coming to stay with us and then giving a review! We are so glad to know that you loved the location and the design of our historic hotel. Our design scheme was planned with simplicity and elegance in mind, and it's nice to hear that translated well for you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We loved the historic nature of this hotel. Our room was a good size. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Perhaps LED bulbs in the room light fixtures would add more light. We had difficulty operating our luggage locks due to dim light. Also, wall fixtures on either side of bed were very difficult to operate when guest has even mildly arthritic hands. Perhaps devices could be attached so that one merely has to touch the historic fixtures to operate. Last, we would have liked safety bar in tub as well as one to help enter & exit tub/shower. Fortunately, we remain agile, but other guests appeared to require help. I know that handicap room(s) exist, but believe that many would benefit from suggestions posted herein.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Hello 2starbirdwatchers; thank you so much for coming to stay with us. We are all pleased to know that our historic property with its range of room types and helpful staff worked well for you during your stay! Thank you for your review regarding the details in our guest rooms; we appreciate you taking the time to give us this valuable feedback and we hope to see you again! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.