We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #27 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel St. Francis is austere in terms of décor-humble with muted tones which is befitting it's namesake. The simplicity of the décor is what makes the Hotel St. Francis so lovely. My husband and I had taken advantage of a Groupon offer and we'd made our reservations months before our actual weekend stay. I had all of my paperwork handy, but the folks at the front desk didn't need to see a thing. They even let us have a choice of two different rooms! Even though it was chilly, we couldn't resist opening the European style windows (no screens) that open up to the fresh air. I can imagine that this feature is especially nice in warm weather. We couldn't believe how comfortable the bed was and the shower had great water pressure. You have to treat yourself to a cocktail at the hotel bar- the Secreto-the bartender brings the science of "mixology" to a whole new level and is amazing to watch. The hotel restaurant, Tabla de los Santos has a new chef and they offer up a farm to table menu. We ate breakfast there twice and everything was beautifully presented and delicious. The service was impeccable. Also, I saw a reviewer indicate that there is no coffee pot in the room. We simply asked the front desk for one, and they gave us everything we needed to make ourselves a nice hot cup in the morning. Lastly, you can't beat the location...one block off The Plaza. We enjoyed our brief stay very much and will return as soon and as often as we can....especially if they put out another Groupon offer!

Room Tip: If for any reason you aren't thrilled with your room, it never hurts to ask the folks at the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hi Karen T; it's so nice to receive your review. We thank you for coming to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you many more times in the future! Truly, it's great to know that your stay went well, from the staff service to the comfort of our beds and Frette linens to the unique mixology in Secreto Bar. We can't wait to welcome you back. Best Regards, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    231
    101
    48
    35
See reviews for
81
366
82
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The St. Francis is trying hard to please. We go to Santa Fe often and stay where we get the best "deal" in the center of town. Right now that seems to be the at the St. Francis. Yes, the room was small (our choice to get the lowest price) but it was comfortable, quiet, and the bathroom was more than adequate. Service was prompt and courteous. If you have a choice stay on the ground floor because you can get wi-fi in your room.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear CBRS, thank you for reviewing your stay at our historic Hotel St Francis. We are so happy to hear our great guest service and excellent location worked well for you during your trip to the "City Different", and we appreciate the time you took to post your review! All of our guest rooms come with wi-fi; however the rooms on the first floor do generally have larger bathrooms and taller ceilings; it's good to know you liked the size and comfort. We hope you will stop in and visit us again on your next time in the area. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I always enjoy coming to Santa Fe, but this trip was by far the best! The Hotel St. Francis has excellent service and is in a great location! Everyone was helpful and willing to help us in anyway they could. The room was cozy and tastefully decorated. Not to mention the restaurant was delicious!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Hello Kelly B; thanks so much for your kind response to your stay at our hotel! We love hearing how much you enjoyed your time with us at Hotel St Francis, particularly considering your multiple trips to Santa Fe. We take pride in our guest service and in the property itself, and it's gratifying to hear these factors stood out to you. Not to mention the wonderful food in Tabla de los Santos! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived late and were met with a room issue. The front desk addressed it with compassion and promised to upgrade the following day. The called and left a message as we were out and about, they left a note under the door, and greeted us as we walked in. No, really they recognized us and actually greeted us. It was how I wanted to be treated on vacation. Jeremy helped us with dinner plans, and other niceties one would expect from a concierge. Thanks to the hospitality we will be staying here again. It was the first time in a long time that I actually enjoyed staying at a hotel!

Room Tip: This is more European with smaller rooms then normal. However they are quite comfortable. Try the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review, Steve B! We appreciate you coming to stay with us and then taking the time to share your comments, particularly since an issue was brought up and then resolved. It's so nice to hear our level of guest service truly impressed you; we strive to treat all guests the way we would like to be treated and we love knowing that this made a difference in your decision to come back! We all look forward to having you with us again for another peaceful and relaxing stay in the heart of downtown Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have always stayed at Hotel St. Francis since the early 90s. We love the atmosphere, the people are very nice, and the cozy little rooms are very appealing. But why is it that,unlike even Motel 6, they do not provide coffee for guests in the morning. Even more strange, the restaurant off the lobby in the hotel can't charge the $3.25 for a cup of coffee to your room. It's cash and carry. The folks at the desk shrug and say they know but no one listens to them when they pass the complaints up the chain. So, I write this and send it to the ether for dissolution.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member, thank you for taking the time to post a review of our historic hotel. We're pleased that the atmosphere and the service keep you coming back, and your review is very valuable to us particularly since you know the hotel so well. We are currently in the planning stages of getting a coffee service in the lobby; meanwhile please inquire at the front office if you would like a complimentary coffee maker sent to your room during your stay. We really appreciate the time you took to give us this valuable feedback and we cannot wait to see you again on your next adventure in Santa Fe. Sincerely, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Everything went smooth and all the staff were extremely helpful. From finding us the most quiet room possible (and offering to try alternate ones if it didn't work) to bringing up our Living Social deal tactfully and without any hint of being condescending, the people made the experience. On top of that the hotel is historic but beautiful with great handmade furniture an attractive stairwell with great historical black and white pictures and generally great decor. Te restaurant served organic delicious food and was in the heart of Santa Fe. Excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hello Conorado and thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you loved the excellent service here at Hotel St Francis. It's great to know you liked the decor and historic ambiance of our hotel and the great food in Tabla de los Santos Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for another all around great experience! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.