We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop and Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stop and Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me and my family are frequent travelers this has to be the best Hotel we have ventoured to in all our vacation time away.The staff is very friendly and is in a great location to all the great little shops.The hotel bar has great drinks and has a great restaurant.We will highly recommend this hotel.Special thanks to Jeremy,Samantha,Jerry,Alexander for all the hard work to make our time a memorable moment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us, brooks p. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the friendly staff and got to experience the downtown Santa Fe area. We're truly thrilled to know that as frequent travelers, you consider us a favorite destination! It was our pleasure having you here with us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    239
    103
    51
    38
See reviews for
85
379
85
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed there for my wife's birthday and could not have been more pleased. The staff was so amazing and helpful. They answered all of our questions about where to eat and there were right on with everything they suggested. I cannot wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear LobosFan, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay; we cannot wait to see you both again! It's so nice to know our friendly staff provided you with useful and fun recommendations. We pride ourselves on our guest service and our knowledge of the "City Different" and we all thank you for coming to stay at our lovely Hotel St Francis. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here for night on my trip to Santa Fe. Its very old but absolutely adorable. They did a pretty good job updating it as it is the oldest hotel in the area. They have a very cute bar and restaurant in the hotel. The bar makes some very unique and interesting cocktails which I absolutely loved. They have a smoked sage margarita that was the best drink I have ever had and have tried to duplicate many times with no success. The staff is very friendly and knowledgable about the area and are able to recommend places to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Justine H, we are so happy you enjoyed your experience at our historic Hotel St Francis and the award-winning Secreto Bar! We appreciate you taking the time to post the review. It's great to know our staff lived up to their excellent reputation for service. We have passed your comments on to the bar manager Chris Milligan; he let us know that there are videos online which show him making the Smoked Sage Margarita, if you want to know how to make the drink! We hope to see you for another great stay in the near future. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at this lovely hotel with my hubby for a couple of nights. It has a very soothing , romantic palette, particularly after being immersed in all of the colorful art and surroundings of Santa Fe. The furnishings, lighting, black and white photos adorning the halls gives this structure an authentic feel of yesteryear. The rooms are smaller, sinks are in the main room and the floors are bare natural wood. The bathroom is a small stepup and simply renovated sparing the historic white octogan tiled floors. The rooms were clean although my mom's room linens were not changed.The restaurant(Tabla) serves quality food although it is a bit pricey. The bar(Secreto) is wonderful and serves great tapas and fab drinks. The service is excellent, The front desk staff is helpful, knowledgeable and very professional. Parking is about $11/night. Only gripe is that there should be coffeemaker available in the room. You have to order it and then it is brought to you timely. we would stay here again. Very romantic place.

Room Tip: king room is the best as the rooms in this hotel are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello gigi n, and thank you both for coming to stay with us for a romantic getaway! Our historic hotel was designed to feel like a peaceful sanctuary and an escape from the bustle of downtown and we are so glad to hear you experienced that during your stay! We hope we get the chance to welcome you back for great food and drink and excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesilla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Everything was so nice; great attention to detail. Lauren Suina was the front desk person that we dealt with and she was awesome and really made our stay special. The restaurant was delicious for breakfast. We had always eaten in the patio but the dining room was lovely and food delicious.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear flexner, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. Lauren and the rest of the staff are so pleased to know you had a good time! It is great to hear both the hotel and restaurant impressed you and we would love to see you again during your next trip to Santa Fe. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

...or maybe it's just me, but I don't think so.
Reviews are supposed to be objective and not personal, yet, it feels very personal, indeed. You are living in this hotel when you stay here. The seasoned traveller will know the difference. Less-is-more, and simple, historical elegance graces this hotel. But, so true is the professional, discreet, and helpful staff I had the fortune to meet in Lauren and the gentlemanly, mustachioed Jeremy.
Housekeeping is outstanding (and they even do windows - thanks for letting the sun shine in Maria)!
You may go back to a different place in time here, but during your journey you may also find that regardless of the time, you just may fall hopelessly in love. Thank you for letting me into your home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello ctefan! We're thrilled to get your lovely review. Lauren, Jeremy, Maria and all the staff at Hotel St Francis look forward to seeing you again and providing you with the best customer service possible. It's great to hear that as a seasoned traveler, you found a home away from home in our historic property. We take pride in our hotel and we are so pleased to know this was apparent to you during your stay. We would love to welcome you back "home" for your next adventure in Santa Fe! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel advertised the government rate and when we went to check in they wouldn't honor it because they said it had to be charged to a government credit card. They wouldn't accept my government issued ID as proof, which every other hotel accepts and we are required to show at check in. Being a government contractor, we only have corporate cards for our company and no government credit cards are issued to us but we are still required to book at the government rate on travel. This caused a huge head ache for the 4 of us traveling on business at the time, we wanted to stay there since it was close to an associates house. We had to find other accommodations at the last minute because of this.

If they won't honor the government rate on business travel, they shouldn't advertise it. They wouldn't take any of our government IDs or corporate travel cards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review, krugirello. We are sorry and surprised to hear you had this experience. It has always been our policy to accept Government and Government Contractor ID's when giving Government rates, regardless of the credit card being used at check-in. We understand many Government employees get reimbursed by their agency upon returning home. Although we have spoken to all the front desk agents we cannot identify any individual at our property who wouldn't have accepted personal credit cards. Regardless, we sincerely apologize for your experience and we have already re-trained all of our agents on our Government rates policy. We very much appreciate the opportunity to correct any mistakes we may have made and we thank you for your feedback. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#26 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.