We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
mesilla
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Everything was so nice; great attention to detail. Lauren Suina was the front desk person that we dealt with and she was awesome and really made our stay special. The restaurant was delicious for breakfast. We had always eaten in the patio but the dining room was lovely and food delicious.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear flexner, thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. Lauren and the rest of the staff are so pleased to know you had a good time! It is great to hear both the hotel and restaurant impressed you and we would love to see you again during your next trip to Santa Fe. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    195
    89
    44
    32
See reviews for
71
317
74
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

...or maybe it's just me, but I don't think so.
Reviews are supposed to be objective and not personal, yet, it feels very personal, indeed. You are living in this hotel when you stay here. The seasoned traveller will know the difference. Less-is-more, and simple, historical elegance graces this hotel. But, so true is the professional, discreet, and helpful staff I had the fortune to meet in Lauren and the gentlemanly, mustachioed Jeremy.
Housekeeping is outstanding (and they even do windows - thanks for letting the sun shine in Maria)!
You may go back to a different place in time here, but during your journey you may also find that regardless of the time, you just may fall hopelessly in love. Thank you for letting me into your home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hello ctefan! We're thrilled to get your lovely review. Lauren, Jeremy, Maria and all the staff at Hotel St Francis look forward to seeing you again and providing you with the best customer service possible. It's great to hear that as a seasoned traveler, you found a home away from home in our historic property. We take pride in our hotel and we are so pleased to know this was apparent to you during your stay. We would love to welcome you back "home" for your next adventure in Santa Fe! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The hotel advertised the government rate and when we went to check in they wouldn't honor it because they said it had to be charged to a government credit card. They wouldn't accept my government issued ID as proof, which every other hotel accepts and we are required to show at check in. Being a government contractor, we only have corporate cards for our company and no government credit cards are issued to us but we are still required to book at the government rate on travel. This caused a huge head ache for the 4 of us traveling on business at the time, we wanted to stay there since it was close to an associates house. We had to find other accommodations at the last minute because of this.

If they won't honor the government rate on business travel, they shouldn't advertise it. They wouldn't take any of our government IDs or corporate travel cards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post this review, krugirello. We are sorry and surprised to hear you had this experience. It has always been our policy to accept Government and Government Contractor ID's when giving Government rates, regardless of the credit card being used at check-in. We understand many Government employees get reimbursed by their agency upon returning home. Although we have spoken to all the front desk agents we cannot identify any individual at our property who wouldn't have accepted personal credit cards. Regardless, we sincerely apologize for your experience and we have already re-trained all of our agents on our Government rates policy. We very much appreciate the opportunity to correct any mistakes we may have made and we thank you for your feedback. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly staff. Having my wedding here and they have been very helpful in recommending a bakery, and seeing to our needs. The ambiance is beautiful. Also in the heart of Santa Fe right in the Square. Lots of shopping and resturaunts within walking distance. Soft ivory white during the day, and rich gold colors from candlelight at night blanket the hotel. I am lucky to have found such a wonderful place to have my wedding. Def recommend checking it out and coming for a stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear MLaCombe1, thank you for choosing our lovely old hotel for your wedding! It was absolutely wonderful having you and your partner here with us and we were all so pleased to be a part of it. It is just great to hear the charm and convenience worked well for you and your party, and we would be thrilled to welcome you back for your wedding anniversary, if not before. Again, congratulations to you both, and thank you! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

it's very difficult to write a review about this Hotel, how can somedody not like it ? or how can you describe a place that could be in an old French downtown.
it's a piece of history, with the Santa Fe charme, several hundred years old with a silent touch of modern amenities. All made of stone, quite, very charming, has a nice bar and a few minutes walking to downtown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Gi pizzaguy! Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It's truly great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the easy access to downtown. We look forward to seeing you on your next journey through Santa Fe; stop by our award winning bar and have a hand crafted cocktail while you rest. On behalf of all our staff, thank you. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night in a king room back in mid December 2013. We are locals and wanted just a one night getaway near Christmas. The staff was great, very warm and friendly and the hotel is an easy one block walking distance to the Plaza.
The bed was amazingly comfortable and was actually the most comfortable hotel bed we've slept in in along time. Also there was a huge wall unit armoire so there was plenty of room to put your bags away and keep the clutter down.
The bathroom was nice, a little old and odd, because the sink was in the bedroom and you had to step up a couple of steps into the bathroom itself. The tub was slightly pitted, but not junky. Water pressure, which can be an issue especially in old buildings, wasn't a problem. The only thing was that there is a lot of air in the water too, so be prepared for misty looking water if you're pouring a glass of it. It tastes fine, we just thought it was weird. The only complaint about the room was that the lighting wasn't all that bright, especially over the in-room sink. It was very hard to see at night to apply makeup etc.
Wifi was available in the room and it was reliable, didn't kick me off or anything.
If you are used to, and are ok with street noise, then you're good with any room facing the street, otherwise get a interior room. The street noise was a bit loud until very late and if you are straying during prime season that can be irritating.
The downsides to staying here is there is no longer afternoon tea and since the restaurant is apparently contracted out there is no more room service (but we were told that depends on restaurant staffing). Their private parking is minimal and you have to pay $11 a night. There is the larger lot across the street but you would have to pay more.
We ate breakfast at their restaurant, Tabla de Los Santos, and it was good. The food and service was great, and they serve Illy coffee which tastes amazing.
The downsides weren't enough to deter us, so we would stay here again and I would recommend it for sure. The convenience to the plaza alone is worth it.


Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear LocalFoodie70, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as locals and are happy you chose to come "play tourist" at Hotel St Francis! It's nice to know you slept well on the premium mattresses and Frette linens, and that you got to explore the plaza area close by. We are also happy to hear the hotel's combination of old world style and modern convenience worked for you. Our friendly staff looks forward to welcoming you back for another stay away from home! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We were on a month long cross country vacation by train and only had one night in Santa Fe. We once lived in Santa Fe for one year. This was our return visit over 20 years later. We couldn't have made a better choice. We were well located to restaurants, shops, all in walking distance. The room was well appointed, loved the decor and the staff was pleasant. The bar had great ambiance as did the beautiful lobby. We hope to return, soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear KanaryTraveler, thank you for your kind review of your stay at our lovely hotel. We are all so pleased we could help make your return visit to Santa Fe special. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the unbeatable access to downtown and the friendly staff. We would love to roll our welcome mat out for you on your next return trip to the 'city different'. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.