We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place in Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Place in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The oldest hotel in Santa Fe...beautiful! Some rooms are small. We had a standard King which was fine. The common areas are warm and welcoming. Sat near the fireplace one night. The bar is cool, drinks pricey but the place is pretty sweet. The restaurant is outstanding. A previous reviewer mentioned that it is owned by a separate party than the hotel, so dinner cannot be charged to room. And this is a problem why? Really?

Anyway, incredible location in a really cool town, good value, everyone was nice and accommodating...Jeremy, Alda, Ben...everyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello docloch and thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay with us! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We are happy to hear you liked the "feel" of the hotel and the staff's level of service. We pride ourselves on this lovely building and our guest service. Our entire staff hopes to welcome you back for another comfortable stay in our amazing downtown location. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    195
    89
    44
    32
See reviews for
71
317
74
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I thought I got a great deal on a room thru Hotel Tonite. I suspect we were given the smallest room on the hotel for $95. It was a corner room that was really ok since it was just 2 of us and we weren't spending a lot of time there anyway. However, we did have to laugh at how small the berth room was. I've literally never seen a hotel bathroom that small even in Europe! How small was it?! It was so small that when showering, it created a kind of convection with the shower curtain pulling it into the shower and sticking to me. I couldn't help but wonder how many bodies that curtain had been up against. Overall, nice hotel though. Clean with comfortable bed and nice linens. Young lady at check-in was very nice and personable. Went to the nice hotel bar at happy hour. Amazing cocktails served by a young lady bartender with a poor attitude. We decided to stay for 2nd drink since there was a shift change!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello Carmen 1981; thank you for coming to stay with us and for posting a review. We are pleased to hear you liked the overall feel of the hotel and enjoyed the drinks in our award-winning bar, Secreto. Your comments were discussed at our manager's meeting this week and we appreciate your feedback. Constructive comments like yours give us the opportunity to continually train our team so we can provide the best guest service possible. We hope to welcome you back for another stay and delicious cocktails if you find yourself in the area again! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We visited Hotel St. Francis through a Living Social coupon offer. We love Santa Fe and so we signed up for the voucher immediately. It turned out to be a very good decision. We enjoy experiencing the history of the places we visit and so this hotel was a great choice. It was evident that there has been some restoration and renovation at the hotel, but it was done very tastefully, preserving the historic aspects of the building as much as possible while adding updates that added to the comfort of the guests. Sometimes when we use a coupon for a visit, the room assignment is one of the least desirable rooms. We were completely satisfied with our room - very nicely furnished, comfortable and quiet. The front desk receptionist, Lauren, was very helpful and patient during our check in - we had driven from Phoenix and were tired and probably not at our best humor. She made us feel comfortable and welcome. The only thing that would have made the experience better was if the hotel accepted a paperless voucher confirmation, as is recommended by Living Social. It took an extra 20 minutes for check in to go to the business center, upgrade the browser software so I could access my Gmail account, and print out the voucher. This could have been easily avoided if I could have brought up my voucher on my phone and have the staff verify and/or scan the confirmation tag.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Earthchord; we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at our historic hotel. It is so nice to hear you appreciated the historic nature of our property and the look of the remodel. I apologize for the confusion with the voucher at check-in; we have been working to streamline this process and we appreciate your understanding. We would love to see you again for another lovely stay at our lovely old hotel next time you visit our "City Different". Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I visited Santa Fe and stayed at the Hotel St. Francis. The hotel is very clean and well kept. You can tell they take pride in the service they provide and it's reflected in the staff and their interaction with guests. This hotel Is quite old but clean and unique. I love the look of the lobby and the historic pictures that are displayed in the lobbys of each floor. I was quite comfortable in the room and the bed was quite clean and comfortable. Slept like a baby. I would recommend it on your trip to Santa Fe. The Secreto Bar is also very nice. I like the patio that is provided in the front of the hotel, nice place to relax but yet take in some fresh air and scenery. I had a great time!

Room Tip: I stayed in a queen room. It's perfect for a solo or a couple. So cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Hi Juanita H.,

I'm so glad you enjoyed staying at Hotel St. Francis. We do take pride in our service and accommodations! Thanks for letting us know how we're doing.

I hope you had a good time in Santa Fe and get to come again soon.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Luz, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located just a block off the plaza...VERY convenient!!! It's an classic old building with small-ish but nice rooms. They have parking available next to the hotel for $11.00 per night.
Abigail at the reception desk did a great job of getting me and my folks checked in and was very kind and helpful with finding an appropriate room for my folks who are in their 80's. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear KMinNM,

We try to make all our guests feel welcomed and comfortable, so thank you for letting us know how helpful Abigail was during your stay!

I hope your and your parents had a wonderful time in Santa Fe and have the opportunity to come again soon.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On a girls weekend get away, I stayed here with 2 fellow co-workers last weekend. The hotel is wonderful. It's beautiful and clean. The lobby is very beautiful with lots of places to sit (inside or outside) and watch the people, or just sit back and read a good book by the fire. Rooms are small but nice furnished with antiques and treasures. The bed was wonderful and we had everything needed, with plenty of hot water even. Even the floor squeaked when you walked in the room. As far as size, how long do you spend in your bedroom anyway...change, shower and sleep...the public areas are beautiful and you really do want to spend time there. Secreto's bar and Loggia is lively and fun. It's right in the middle of Santa Fe, walking distance to anywhere you might want to go. Prices were great. We could have paid double and not had better accommodations. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear marynTulsa,

I'm glad to hear you and your co-workers had a wonderful time with us while on your girls weekend getaway! Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on our rooms, public spaces and bar.

We look forward to having you visit us again.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When I first started looking for properties in Santa Fe, I was amazed at the prices for shoulder season (October). I first booked this as a Bed and Breakfast package and then was told they had severed their relationship with the restaurant so went for a stay three get one night free. Santa Fe was a great walking city for first timers so we were able to leave our car next door upon arrival ($11 per day) and not use it again until we left. I booked early and splurged on a corner queen room which was nice except for the noise level outside. We left the windows open and seemed to get a lot of street noise was people leaving bars late and street people who had taken up residence across the street on a bench by the city parking lot. Otherwise, the location of the hotel was great. We did take in the award wining bar which drew a lively crowd at Happy Hour. The first night we had to approach the server to get our order taken but the second night was better service.

Room Tip: The rooms are what you would expect from a older property - on the small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Rosie L; thank you for taking time to create a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel and had a good time in our award-winning bar. Thank you for mentioning the various adjustments and small issues; we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you are traveling in northern New Mexico! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.