We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% Off Nidah Spa
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
La Luz, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located just a block off the plaza...VERY convenient!!! It's an classic old building with small-ish but nice rooms. They have parking available next to the hotel for $11.00 per night.
Abigail at the reception desk did a great job of getting me and my folks checked in and was very kind and helpful with finding an appropriate room for my folks who are in their 80's. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear KMinNM,

We try to make all our guests feel welcomed and comfortable, so thank you for letting us know how helpful Abigail was during your stay!

I hope your and your parents had a wonderful time in Santa Fe and have the opportunity to come again soon.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    187
    85
    44
    31
See reviews for
71
307
70
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tulsa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On a girls weekend get away, I stayed here with 2 fellow co-workers last weekend. The hotel is wonderful. It's beautiful and clean. The lobby is very beautiful with lots of places to sit (inside or outside) and watch the people, or just sit back and read a good book by the fire. Rooms are small but nice furnished with antiques and treasures. The bed was wonderful and we had everything needed, with plenty of hot water even. Even the floor squeaked when you walked in the room. As far as size, how long do you spend in your bedroom anyway...change, shower and sleep...the public areas are beautiful and you really do want to spend time there. Secreto's bar and Loggia is lively and fun. It's right in the middle of Santa Fe, walking distance to anywhere you might want to go. Prices were great. We could have paid double and not had better accommodations. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear marynTulsa,

I'm glad to hear you and your co-workers had a wonderful time with us while on your girls weekend getaway! Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on our rooms, public spaces and bar.

We look forward to having you visit us again.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

When I first started looking for properties in Santa Fe, I was amazed at the prices for shoulder season (October). I first booked this as a Bed and Breakfast package and then was told they had severed their relationship with the restaurant so went for a stay three get one night free. Santa Fe was a great walking city for first timers so we were able to leave our car next door upon arrival ($11 per day) and not use it again until we left. I booked early and splurged on a corner queen room which was nice except for the noise level outside. We left the windows open and seemed to get a lot of street noise was people leaving bars late and street people who had taken up residence across the street on a bench by the city parking lot. Otherwise, the location of the hotel was great. We did take in the award wining bar which drew a lively crowd at Happy Hour. The first night we had to approach the server to get our order taken but the second night was better service.

Room Tip: The rooms are what you would expect from a older property - on the small size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Rosie L; thank you for taking time to create a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay at our historic hotel and had a good time in our award-winning bar. Thank you for mentioning the various adjustments and small issues; we appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again next time you are traveling in northern New Mexico! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stumbled across this hotel during an unanticipated stop in Sante Fe. I was fortunate enough to get a double queen room that overlooked Don Gaspar Ave (thank you Alder!). The room was big with high ceilings and the view was great. This is an old place so the bathroom was a bit tight and not well lit but there was plenty of hot water. The location is great - you're right there in the heart of it. Be sure to stop for a drink at the Secreto Bar in the lobby. It's top notch!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello lark536! Thank you for posting a review of your stay at our lovely old hotel. We're thrilled to hear you liked the room and the convenient downtown location. It was my pleasure helping you get the best room available. We would all love to see you again the next time you need a place to escape. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights over the summer. Our room was small but well done and we didn't spend much time in it anyway. To be fair, we had the smallest room on the floor according to the fire exit map (yes, I read those at each hotel we go to).

There is a nice little bar in the lobby with a tasty smoked sage margarita. Grab one of those bad boys and head out to the patio for some great people watching. Across the street from the hotel is Pasqual's—you must eat here during your stay. It gets busy for breakfast, but is well worth the wait.

The staff was friendly overall (good not great) but the concierge really stood out. Her name is Inger and she could tell you anything about the area. She even offered to make us restaurant reservations in Las Vegas since she knew that's where we were heading.

I look forward to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear ztwalsh, thank you for coming to stay with us! We appreciate your review and we look forward to seeing you for another great stay in the "City Different". Our concierge is incomparable and we are glad you took advantage of her extensive knowledge of the area. The award-winning bar, Secreto, is indeed perfectly set up for the best people watching in Santa Fe, not to mention the unusual and hand-crafted cocktails. Our entire staff would love the opportunity to provide you with a great stay when you are next in the area. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Groupon deal we purchased. The groupon included a bottle of wine and they brought it up both times without even having to ask. The staff is extremely friendly and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very clean rooms and a quaint atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello LaBoheme3; thank you for taking time to review your stay at Hotel St Francis! We're all so pleased to hear you loved your stay at our historic hotel. Our friendly staff would love to welcome you back anytime you're having another adventure in our "city different". Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We looked forward to a week at this historical hotel, but sadly were greatly disappointed. We booked a "deluxe" king with several amenities listed on the web site, none of which were available unless we asked for them (like in room coffee) each time we wanted them. The first "deluxe" king was a very tiny room with only one chair looking out over a mess of weeds. Far better choices available in Santa Fe. So disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking valuable time to post this review, Dan W. We appreciate the feedback; this provides us with continuing opportunities to train our staff and improve guest experiences. We truly hope to welcome you back for a better stay and excellent food and drink in our award winning bar and the separately-owned restaurant. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.