We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel - great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special Offer - Save 20%
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel - great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came to the St Francis on a discounted wedding rate, so the value was exceptional. Hotel rooms were a bit small, but the furnishings were great -- and very comfortable beds.

Location can't be beat -- right in the heart of Santa Fe.

What set St Francis apart for us was the excellent personal service we received from the front desk crew. Gerik, Abigail and James were all great during our whole stay. Friendly, full of advice, helpful...they really went above and beyond and made our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    237
    102
    50
    36
See reviews for
82
374
84
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NM
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I know this hotel recently went through a big remodel. I'm not a big fan of the results. The lobby is very sterile feeling in my opinion. It no longer has the warm feeling the downtown SF hotels are known for. The room was small - and the bathroom was tiny. The location is great and at least on the night we were there the rooms were quiet. Not my first choice for a return stay but I would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay with us, DaisyBlue999. You are correct; the 2009 remodel definitely changed the look and feel of the property- the Franciscan theme is a large difference from the older "Victorian" theme. We are happy to hear you had a quiet night's sleep and would love to welcome you back the next time you want a mini-vacation in Santa Fe. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A friend and I loved our stay at Hotel St. Francis! It is a hotel that is warm and inviting from the moment you step in the door. There is also a wonderful patio if you just aren't ready to be indoors yet. The location is perfect, just a block or so from the historic plaza which puts you right in the middle of the action. We were also extremely grateful for the people who work at the hotel. Everyone we encountered was helpful and welcoming, especially Jeremy. Jeremy helped us find our (seemingly hopeless) way to the hotel from the Rail Runner, even staying on the phone with us until we were all on the same page. He was gracious, charming, and handsome. We are very thankful to have had the experience we did. I highly encourage anyone that can, to stay at Hotel St. Francis and hope to go back again myself!

Room Tip: Just ask the front desk what they would suggest. They know their hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Hotel St Francis, Sarahschneiderwind. We are all very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! It's nice to hear you liked the convenience of our location; it's even better to hear that our friendly staff impressed you across the board. We do indeed pride ourselves on the guest service and we would all love to see you again when you visit Santa Fe again. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Not a fan of the parking fee and please replace the towels, they are beneath a place of this star level.
Cant ask for better location, tranquil hotel.
My room is a little small for my taste, and the bathroom shower is very dark.
bed is very comfortable. I do recommend if you are in Santa Fe on tourism, if just passing through, perhaps a little inconvenient.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here the night before my wedding and the night of my wedding. I was put in a really gorgeous room right above the main entrance to the hotel. I did take some of my wedding photos in the main lobby and the surrounding area. It's a very tranquil, lovely place. It has great old world ambiance and the staff was really great. I can't wait to find another reason to get to stay again!

Room Tip: The rooms over the main entrance have a really beautiful sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were delighted with our three day stay at Hotel St. Francis. I chose it for its proximity to the historic Plaza and we were able to easily walk to many museums and attractions in the area. The lobby was stunning, especially at night when lit by candlelight (yes, they were LED but beautiful). The decor is very spare and rustic, with the feeling of an old monastery. There is a long covered veranda across the front of the hotel, furnished with a variety of sofas, chairs and tables, the perfect spot to unwind and people-watch. The excellent bar, Secreto, serves amazingly original cocktails (some have won national awards!) and the bartenders are personable and professional. We did not eat in the restaurant which has both an inside dining room and a pretty courtyard. Front desk staff was really wonderful and truly concerned that we had what we needed. A concierge is available and she is well-known in the Santa Fe area as being top-notch. Our room was lovely and larger than I had expected. We had three large windows! Decor was once again spare and serene. The bed was excellent with very good linens. We had 11 pillows on our king sized bed! Loved it! Despite the downtown location, our room was quiet and we slept very well. The bathroom, however, was really tiny. It was quite hot when we were in Santa Fe, but the A/C worked well, not always a given in an older hotel. The windows are operable, too, and we noticed quite a few open at night. Parking was great, in a lot right next to the hotel, or, in a lot across the street if the first lot was filled. The daily charge was very reasonable. I disliked having to pay a daily resort fee, however. The entire hotel was very clean and everything was in good repair. The housekeeping staff were friendly, courteous but unobtrusive. We would love to stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyards are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque n.m. 87120
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A beautiful lobby area, easy access elevator to our third floor room. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Our room was smallish, but still very comfortable. Sink in main room, toilet and shower in a closed room off the main room. Bench for suitcase, small armoire for hang-ups, very comfortable bed. Phone in room. The receptionist recommended a smoked sage margarita in the hotel lounge, which was really different and delightful (for someone who likes smoky beers and scotches). There is a very nice patio in the front of the hotel. The location is excellent,being two blocks from the historic plaza. Parking alongside the hotel, for a fee. Terrific stay!

Room Tip: Even though our room overlooked the street, it was still quiet futing the evening and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#25 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Santa Fe Inn
#4 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,229 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.