We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historical beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Deal - Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
albuquerque n.m. 87120
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A historical beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A beautiful lobby area, easy access elevator to our third floor room. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Our room was smallish, but still very comfortable. Sink in main room, toilet and shower in a closed room off the main room. Bench for suitcase, small armoire for hang-ups, very comfortable bed. Phone in room. The receptionist recommended a smoked sage margarita in the hotel lounge, which was really different and delightful (for someone who likes smoky beers and scotches). There is a very nice patio in the front of the hotel. The location is excellent,being two blocks from the historic plaza. Parking alongside the hotel, for a fee. Terrific stay!

Room Tip: Even though our room overlooked the street, it was still quiet futing the evening and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    181
    79
    43
    30
See reviews for
68
295
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect spot to enjoy all aspects of Santa Fe. It's minimal, Southwest style is enjoyable,as well. This hotel is in the perfect spot to enjoy all aspects of Santa Fe. It's minimal, Southwest style is enjoyable,as well. This hotel is in the perfect spot to enjoy all aspects of Santa Fe. It's minimal, Southwest style is enjoyable,as well. This hotel is in the perfect spot to enjoy all aspects of Santa Fe. It's minimal, Southwest style is enjoyable,as well. This hotel is in the perfect spot to enjoy all aspects of Santa Fe. It's minimal, Southwest style is enjoyable,as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to this hotel for many years. It's simple, understated and peaceful. The walls are thick and i loved my room at the back #225.
Centrally located, I enjoyed my stay during Indian Market this year. I even watched a lovely sunset with a soft rain shower out my bedroom window.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely breakfasts by the fountain on the patio. First-rate service from Jerry, Eric and Leah! Back to granola and kale at home tomorrow, sigh...We didn't stay at the hotel but were drawn to the cool and shady spot as we walked by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for posting a review about your experience at Tabla de los Santos restaurant. Their staff members were pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and the service. We would love to welcome you back for more great food and a lovely night's stay at our historic Hotel St Francis. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

When you enter the lobby, it sets the tone. It is lovely, with stone floors, high ceilings and afelling of a time gone by. If you love big, modern, cookie cutter hotel rooms, this is not the place for you.
Yes, the rooms are small--but how much time do you really spend in your room. They are, however, nicely appointed, clean and full of old world charm. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our time was limited and the front desk got us on our way promptly after putting our luggage in storage as we arrived way before check-in time.
The location is perfect, off the central plaza but a stone's throw away--near all the fun of the hustle and bustle but far enough not to deal with the noise and crowds if you didn't want to.
The parking is very convenient, right next door to the hotel. It is self-parking, which frankly I prefer.
I go to Santa Fe and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello cbp59716 and thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay from the very beginning walking through our front doors. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back whenever you are in Santa Fe again! Thank you, Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I found a lot of travelers' comments to be fair so the hotel met my expectations. We had a good rate and stayed for 4 night. The rooms are small and the linens are indeed a little grey. We also had some slow service at the front desk in early mornings. However, the location is pretty good, the service was very friendly and the beds were nice. Since we were out most of the time the room size didn't bother us. We did the complimentary city tour which was enjoyable. I would recommend it to those who don't expect perfection that comes at higher prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello AnastaciaNYC; thank you for giving us a review. We appreciate you taking the time! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall location and service. We'd love to welcome you back the next time you are traveling in the area. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I can't not thank the Hotel St. Francis enough for making my wedding weekend, including my reception, an absolute dream. Christen Hadley, their event manager, instantly became a friend from our first encounter in December of last year. No matter what the request, Christen handled it with a smile on her face. She was the best part about planning my wedding, and I truly would say she treated me like family.

Every guest from my wedding stayed at this hotel, and was greeted by a wonderful staff with A+ hospitality. Upon my arrival, a couple of my guest's rooms had been lost in "the mix", but within 15 short minutes Alder, the front desk manager, had dissolved the problem and found everyone a room. No big deal.

If you are reading this and looking for a place to have your reception in Santa Fe for 50-120 people, this was absolutely the BEST place I ever could have imagined. The lobby area for our cocktail hour was so naturally beautiful that it didn't need ANY additional decorating. Our plated dinner was held in the restaurant (Table de los Santos) and once again this HARDLY needs decorating with the beautiful wood tables, leather chairs and stone fireplace creating a warm and intimate atmosphere.

The food and drinks I will certainly write about in another review, but WOW. The bar manager, Chris, could not have been more welcoming to myself, and my friends/family. He was more than accommodating, and he is a GREAT mixologist. Highly recommend getting a drink at the Secreto Lounge when you are in town. And then there is Julie who owns the restaurant. People could not stop talking about the food that was served at our wedding. This is NOT banquet-style food. This is gourmet food that is absolutely unforgettable, and cooked to PERFECTION.

The rating of "excellent" does not even begin to describe the experience I had at this location. Thank you, thank you, thank you to everyone who helped make my wedding a beautiful success! I will come back and visit soon:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlderKaitlin, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello hrod1031, and thank you so much for your lovely review of Hotel St Francis. We were all so pleased to be a part of your beautiful wedding and are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the festivities! It was our pleasure helping you and your wedding guests. From the sales team to the restaurant staff to the front office staff, we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for an anniversary celebration in the future! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.