We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant hotel but not for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Deal - Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 60 hotels in Santa Fe
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“pleasant hotel but not for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located and the restaurant is surprisingly good. It is 90 years old with a nice lobby and interesting objects in the hallway. However, there is a downside to being so old. There have been advances in hotel construction since then. The doors are neither as tight nor as soundproof as doors in modern hotels are. The floors are wood which is nice, but they are in great need of refinishing. Evidently, the rooms very in size. Our room was an adequate size but quite small by modern hotel standards (such as the Hampton Inn, etc.). The bathroom was old (it had the old-fashioned white marble hexagons for the floor, which was nice, but the updated tiles on the wall were an aesthetic disaster). The interior finish of the bathtub was chipped. The washbowl was in a tiny alcove and there was not enough room for our toilitries. The queen size bed was comfortable. Despite my criticisms, I would be happy to stay in the hotel in the future.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Lovinlv08 and thank you for taking time to review Hotel St Francis. We're very glad to hear you appreciated the convenient location of our hotel and that you enjoyed our restaurant, Tabla de los Santos. We very much appreciate all your feedback and we welcome you back to stay in one of our wonderful guest beds again! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    181
    79
    43
    30
See reviews for
68
295
65
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Located only a few blocks from the historic Santa Fe plaza (a great area for shops and eating, if you don't mind hippie drum circles), the hotel has some great southwestern style. Our room was had "antique" furniture and the comfy beds and were loaded up with more pillows than any other hotel I've ever visited. The hallways were lined with old photos of Santa Fe and store ledgers - very cool. My only complaint was that the front street was a bit noisy early in the morning, but it was a weekday and we left our windows cracked overnight. There is a bar on-premise, which looked cool, but it seemed to cater to an quieter crowd than what we were looking for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello JW and thank you so much for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our historic Hotel St Francis. Staying here makes it very easy to get out and about. We're also happy to hear you liked the old photos on our stair landings; it sounds like you got a good feel for historic and present-time Santa Fe during your stay. We hope you come back to join us in the bar for a hopping Friday night this summer! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful! Spacious and airy with artisan decor. The rooms are comfortable and roomy (the rooms facing the street can be a bit noisey, with morning produce deliveries, ask for a room away from the street if you are a light/late sleeper). The staff was AMAZING!! I tried to call the front desk with a question about the bar and the phone in the room didn't connect. I just hung up and thought I would go down later and ask...there was a knock on my door, hotel mantiance to check out the problem. SO FAST and it was only the plug on the phone.
The location of the hotel is great, a couple of blocks from all shopping and restraunts. The Tabla de Los Santos (the restraunt located in St. Francis) was AMAZING!! the food is all local and authentic, the guacomole was the best (you'll be fighting for the corn!!). Try the Smoked Sage Margaritta, it is like nothing you will find anywhere else. Thank you Eric B.

Room Tip: some noise from the street below, into the night and early morning (ask for a non-street room if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel St.Francis while visiting Santa Fe. We are happy to know that the amazing staff, our location, and hotel decor was an amazing experience for you. We would like to welcome you back during your next visit to Santa Fe for an amazing experience in a beautiful room and a local authentic meal with a Smoked Sage Margarita in Tabla de los Santos. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abiquiu, Nm
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for dinner; the service was excellent. Not only did our server take great care of us, but others stopped by our table to be sure everything was to our satisfaction. Food was good, also!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Hotel St.Francis-Front Desk at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing Tabla de los Santos for an excellent dining experience whiling visiting Santa Fe. We are glad to know that all the staff in Tabla de los Santos exceeded your needs. We would love to welcome you back for excellent guest service and a great meal during your next visit to Santa Fe. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This charming hotel provides an oasis of serenity in the center of Santa Fe.
Our room and linens were lovely. Quiet, courteous, helpful---wrapped
in a package of authentic decor. Bar service was less than polite and far from efficient.
Seemed to spend more time chatting with the regulars than serving new
guests.

Room Tip: Third floor room was quiet except for Friday night revelers...but they go away eventually.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hello Pamela G and thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at Hotel St Francis. We're very happy to hear our little "oasis of serenity" was to your liking right down to the linens! The bar staff has been given your feedback and we do hope you will come again to have an award winning cocktail this summer. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Beautiful building, upgraded rooms in an historic setting. Great location downtown for walking to everything. We were very happy with the restaurant and service. Many thanks to Eric and Jerry!
The lobby staff couldn't have been more helpful to our wedding party, thank you Jarenda and Gerik! I travel to Santa Fe a lot, and will stay at the Hotel St. Francis again. It was clean and bright, with windows that open to let in fresh air when needed. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel St. Francis during your visit to Santa Fe. We are happy to have provided you and your wedding party with excellent guest service. We are so glad you like our historic, clean hotel rooms and found the location convenient. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Santa Fe.Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked 2 rooms during Spring Break 2013. Our final destination was Durango, CO but we stopped for the night in Santa Fe. Although we needed two double rooms, only king beds were available at the time I booked. The staff offered roll away beds so I agreed to the rooms.

When we arrived only one room was available with a king bed. The other room was going to be a queen single, which was going to make it a bit uncomfortable for the teenage boys who were staying in that room. Before I could even express any discomfort about the situation the clerk apologized and offered us a free breakfast for our party (a total of 7). This was very generous & I graciously accepted. The breakfast was delicious and almost every teenager in our group ordered the French Toast and it was delicious as well as beautiful!

The rooms were lovely albeit small, but it is a historic hotel, so we expected the rooms to be small. The beds were comfortable & the décor was beautiful. The location was perfect...we walked all over the square & we enjoyed our stay immensely.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We're so glad you enjoyed your rooms and the delicious breakfast, and we appreciate your understanding with your guest rooms. We hope you and your family come stay with us again and take advantage of our unbeatable location. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#26 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.