We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exasperating, but we like it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Holiday Sale - Save 25%
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Exasperating, but we like it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our second trip. Unlike the summer difficulties cooling the room, perfectly warm in winter. Still not for early risers, but on most mornings we could get a cup of coffee by 6:30am. (This is an improvement. Can't walk to Starbucks when it is 17 degrees outside.) No ice bucket in room unless you ask for it. The buttons on the phone aren't programmed, so don't expect an answer when you push "front desk." (Tip: dial 0.). The computer in the lobby is really, really slow. No fire in the fireplace unless you ask. Commplete turnover in front desk staff since our visit in August. Despite these minor exasperations, the place feels like home. Tranquil atmosphere, great location, comfortable beds, friendly staff, particularly restaurant staff. Tradeoffs, but at a 30% off for stays over 3 nights, we'll take it every time. At rack rates, there are less exasperating options.

Room Tip: Rooms with sink in the room give you more space in the small bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello Planningpro and thanks for your review of Hotel St Francis! We're glad you came back to stay with us a second time and we're thrilled to hear you still feel at home here. As you noticed, this is an "ask and ye shall receive" hotel; most any amenity not in the guest rooms can be provided for no extra cost. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay and we value your feedback! We hope you come back a third time and enjoy the tranquility and the comfy beds. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    191
    89
    44
    32
See reviews for
71
314
73
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel St. Francis, for nearly two weeks. What a perfect location - very central, within walking distance of restaurants, galleries, museums and shops. The hotel staff, from the front desk to the concierge to housekeeping were great - friendly and very helpful. The hotel's restaurant, Tabla de los Santos, was excellent - great food for reasonable prices, and the restaurant staff, in particular Alejandro, Eric and Jerry were friendly, professional and welcoming. The historic nature of this hotel builiding makes it a bit different from the "usual" hotel; the rooms, while cozy, were comfortable and well appointed. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Catherine W, thanks very much for your review of Hotel St Francis. Since you stayed here for an extended time, you got a better feel for our unique hotel than most of our guests ever get to! I’m delighted to hear that our entire staff took such great care of you; we do pride ourselves on excellent customer service. And the food is of course outstanding-- thank you for saying so. We’ll look forward to seeing you again next time you need a peaceful escape from reality. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This Hotel has a great ambiance and great view towards the mountains of the beautiful city in a snowy day.Jarenda helped us get a great room very personable and a beautiful smile a great front desk worker recommended the tabla restaurant for breakfast we went along with her recommendation and loved it Jerry gave us great service and the chef eddison made our meal tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Not only are we in the middle of downtown Santa Fe, we are situated facing east towards the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and we’re glad you enjoyed the setting! We’re also pleased to hear you received great service and great food from our staff in the hotel and restaurant. Thanks for taking a moment to write your thoughts, and we hope you come back and stay with us again. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the St. Francis for several nights. The hotel is centrally located on Don Gaspar Avenue (incidentally the confirmation email allowed for my iPhone map app to use the included address to guide us; it was sending us to the wrong place and I was blaming the Apple map app until I saw that the address on the email was for 210 Don GaspER not GaspAR - the hotel desk was notified of this when we got in). The check-in process was smooth. We were directed to park either at the parking lot at the side or, if this was full, at the public parking right across the street. We would just have to make sure that we had the hotel paper on the dashboard and the ticket validated at the hotel prior to leaving. Parking costs $9/day.

We stayed on the second floor facing the parking lot and thus away from the bar which had apparently made for a noisy stay for one unhappy reviewer. Fortunately we had no problem with noise from either the parking lot or fellow guests. The rooms are indeed small but not too cramped. The toilets were small but featured bathtubs. One room had the sink outside in the main room. My room had the sink/toilet/bathtub in the bathroom although the bathroom was raised about 6 inches above the rest of the room; I had to remember this every time I used the bathroom so I wouldn't trip or fall. The water pressure was good and the hot water came up quickly. There was a small flat-screen TV in a small wooden armoire/desk. There was a small closet containing a safe right by the door. On the other side of the door was a small bench and a row of clothes hooks especially useful when getting out of winter boots and coats. The bed was very comfortable, the comforter/duvet plush and warm and there were lots of pillows. Yes, the rooms were small compared to those in more modern establishments but they were comfortable. Just do not bring too much or too large luggage as this will not leave you with much space. The floors were wood and creaked slightly. Fortunately guests above me were light-footed

We loved the hotel grounds. It is an old building on the National Registry of Historic Places. The oldest hotel in Santa Fe, it dates back to the 1880s. The architectural style is not that promoted by the city, namely the adobe "Santa Fe Style" typical here but a more restrained (some called it austere), almost monastic approaches. Arches figure prominently both on the facade and in the lobby and hallways ("take the middle arch and head up the stairs . . ." or "the bathrooms are just past the second archway" are just some of the arch-based directions we were given). The furniture is made of what appears to be aged wood in keeping with the history of the place. There are black, wrought-iron chandeliers in the lobby. The lobby feature a stone baptismal font which surrounded by large, tall votive candle holders. At the front of the building is an outdoor patio running the length of the building pacing Don Gaspar, framed by arches. The patio has couches, armchairs, and end-tables. I could see this as a great place to hang out in the evening but not in February.

The entrance to their bar, Secreto, is right on the lobby. Secreto was crowded every evening but it never got noisy while we were there. Their restaurant, Tabla de los Santos, was situated beyond Secreto.

The Governor's Palace, St. Francis' Cathedral, Museum of Indian Arts and Culture as well as countless stores and restaurants were all a short stroll away.

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms may have been small but we slept well. The decor, as mentioned, was restrained and harkens to a monastic theme but was still very well done. There was none of the typical southwest theme of Native American woven blankets and ceramics with Kokopelli. The wi-fi was free. I appreciated the multiple outlet extension cord in my room. The rooms may have been small and some features quirky (bathroom raised above the rest of the bedroom level?) but we slept well in the comfy beds. The location can't be beat and the staff were very friendly.

When visiting Santa Fe definitely consider staying at the St. Francis.

Room Tip: I have heard the rooms facing the inner courtyard are particularly nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We’re glad to hear you appreciated the simple and comfortable décor and the unique tranquility that embodies Hotel St. Francis. The archways everywhere are one of my favorite features as well. I’m glad the mix of old world simplicity and modern convenience made a good impression on you. Some of our guest rooms do have steps up into the bathrooms; this hearkens back to a few decades ago when there were communal bathrooms on every floor. Since the hotel is on the National Registry of Historic Places, we cannot knock walls down and so when they renovated the hotel in the 1980s and put bathrooms in each room, the plumbing had to go beneath the floors. Our staff looks forward to taking good care of you again the next time you come to Santa Fe. Come back and have a specialty drink on our front Loggia when the weather warms up! Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As an Albuquerque resident who takes frequent get away trips to Santa Fe, we tried Hotel St. Francis this weekend. The location is awesome! It is walking distance to the plaza and tons of amazing restaurants. The rooms are hit and miss. We had to look at four rooms before we found one that we would be happy in. The first two we looked at were loud as they either faced the parking lot or were adjacent to the fitness center. The third had the tv positioned in a way that you couldn't watch it from bed.. we were there on the night of the Academy Awards so that made a big difference. t's not often that I need to look at four rooms before I find one that is suitable... but in my opinion, there are several rooms there that aren't great. The front desk was very nice in letting me continue to look to find the right fit, but I was still a little annoyed that there were so many rooms that were unsuitable. Some of the rooms are very small, which is clearly stated on their website. I don't need lots of space, but there was also strange layouts... like no real place to put your suitcase or toiletries in the bathroom. Other negatives... no morning coffee service unless you order room service (no coffee makers in the room or complimentary service in the lobby. No morning paper. The restaurant is mediocre for Santa Fe. Finally, the fire alarm went off twice between 9-11pm... I don't know why... I asked in the morning and there was still no explanation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Our location is indeed one of the best in town! Since it is a downtown historic property, the rooms vary widely in size and configuration as you were able to see. Because of this we typically do not keep luggage racks, coffee makers, etc. in the rooms but you can always request these amenities and we are happy to deliver them to you. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience regarding the fire alarm, and know that we have implemented training procedures for staff and management to help prevent anything of that sort from happening again. We appreciate your patronage and your time, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Boutique hotel was great, staff & service was excellent, bar & food very good. This place is in a perfect location seeing all Santa Fe & all in walking distance to all the old and historic sites. There are so many great food places along 5-6 square block area that any of them are top notch with great service.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room 2nd floor was a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks very much for your review. We are very happy to hear you appreciated our one-of-a-kind hotel. We’re glad you got to experience our tasty menus and that you got out and enjoyed the surrounding downtown scene as well. Staying here makes it very easy to do both. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Santa Fe. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Out room was a little bit small but enjoyable . Gerik was very friendly and helped us grt around town . The restaurant is located down the hall from the front desk Jerry was our server every morning and treated us very well . Down side is that they were out of bagels salmon cranberry juice and etc all items that we wanted to purchase. But overall Gerik , eric b, Greg, Jerry were all great help .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciate your review and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and super helpful staff. All of us here at Hotel St. Francis look forward to the opportunity to serve you again next time you visit Santa Fe. We do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay, and rest assured we have addressed this with staff and managers. Thank you again for taking the time to give us this valuable feedback. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#24 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.