We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Save Saved
You added Hotel St. Francis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel St. Francis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 35%- Exclusive Offer
Ranked #27 of 59 hotels in Santa Fe
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel St.Francis was mentioned to us by our friends in our hometown.The hotel is in a great location in downtown santa fe parking is a little difficult cause you gotta pay for it.But the staff at the hotel is GREAT.My husband wrote a review for there Tabla restaurant thats a must try so is there bar secreto Jerry from tabla is so sweet and attentive and Greg makes the best drinks the best bartender we have come across.The rooms are small but cozy.The prices are very good.Our stay was great I have no complaints on the other hand my husband did on his review in the restaurant just that the other server Eric g was wearing a filthy apron and unshaved and interrepted my husband while on the phone but I would rate the hotel a 10 scale superb service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Hotel St.Francis Front Desk at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take pride in our hotel, guest service, and food. We are honored to have exceeded your's and your husband's needs. We'd like to welcome you back to enjoy a cozy room and an excellent meal and beverage in Tabla de los Santos. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    166
    72
    39
    28
See reviews for
60
278
64
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Yes, the rooms are QUITE small, but I'm used to staying in European hotels, so this is
not that big of an issue for me.

Positives: Very friendly staff, excellent location, nice bar, comfortable bed, substantial
discounts (AARP, Government, etc.).

Negatives: Poor lighting--especially in vanity area. A rather peculiar smell around elevator
area in lobby (chlorine, perhaps).

As there are so many wonderful restaurants in Santa Fe, I did not dine in the hotel. Also, I did not have a car, so I cannot comment on the parking facility.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about room size, ask to see rooms available when you check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello BistroSA; thank you for giving our hotel a review. We're pleased to hear you liked so many things about our hotel and staff. We pride ourselves on our customer service here, and also on our unbeatable location! We're happy that you appreciated the range of different room rate options as well. Next time you come to stay please know we do offer lamps for the rooms at no extra cost; sometimes the lights in the bathrooms are on dimmer switches due to the historic nature of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again next time you are in Santa Fe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently enjoyed a High Tea in the hotel restaurant as a retirement event. The service was outstanding, especially the efforts of Alejandro Diaz & Eric Gonzales. The food display and presentation was fabulous and the entire meal was delicious. I wish I could make tea taste the way Alejandro & Eric served it. The staff made the event a really memorable occasion with their attentiveness and flexibility, especially when some of our guests arrived late. I would definitely consider returning for other special occasions if I was sure that Alejandro & Eric would going to be there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Hotel St.Francis- Front Desk at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for joining us for High Tea at Hotel St. Francis. We are happy to know that your experience was great. We take pride in our meal presentation and guest service no matter the occasion. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We'd love to welcome you back to enjoy our attentive guest service. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

my family and i stayed at the hotel at the beginning of the new year.Gerik was one of the nicest people we have ever meet we reccommended us to a few great places hthe best place was tabla the food is outstanding jerry was very helpful.inger was also so great the hotel has great employees jerry inger gerik.thank u all so much

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Hotel St.Francis Front Desk at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel St. Francis. We are glad to know that all of our staff was attentive to you and your family during your visit. We'd like to welcome your family back for an outstanding meal in Tabla de los Santos and excellent guest service in the hotel. Jarenda Ortiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Santa Fe is one of my favorite places to visit in early winter. I adore the charm of the historic square and the smell of pinion smoke in the air to welcome in winter. Staying in Santa Fe for one night on the way to Ojo Caliente is part of the magic of a New Mexico trip for us. We took advantage of a Snigueaway deal for one night at Hotel St.Francis.

The front of the hotel holds most of the charm of this historic Santa Fe landmark. I would be remiss not to honor who the hotel is named after, St.Francis of Assisi. The St. Francis Cathedral nearby is awe-inspiring. However, once you journey inward into the hotel halls, creepy is the only way I can describe it. The attempt to achieve transcendence with the historical religious decor is just plain creepy.

Our room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. I would liken it to something a monk or nun would stay in while on a religious fast. Here are a few low lights: no closet space for hanging clothes (the suitcases barely fit in the room), the lighting is horrible, no art in the room whatsoever, the small TV is in an armoire directly to the right of the bed (the remote did not work unless you shoved it right next to the TV), the bathroom is so small the toilet is almost under the sink (I had to side saddle the toilet), the drapes were old and dingy, and the carpet was old, gross stripes. The room had zero charm, was dark, uncomfortable and claustrophobic.

Here are a few highlights: the bed was somewhat comfortable with decent linens and good pillows. You may hang a sign on the outside of the door requesting morning coffee for $5 per two cup carafe (plus 21% gratuity). We did so at 7:45 a.m., it came on time and was the best part of the stay.

After paying $189 for a "deal" at the St. Francis hotel, rest assured we will never return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael b, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear valued guest. Thank you for staying at Hotel St. Francis. We have read your review and are extremely sorry you were so dishearten with your stay with us. Please keep in mind that our Hotel is very historic here in Santa Fe. With that in mind, yes, some of our guest rooms are smaller than most. But what a few of our rooms lack in size, we surly make up for in service and amenities. I wish you would have said something to our front desk agents about your concerns. We could have placed you into a bigger sized room of your choosing. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent a terrific New Years at Hotel St. Francis. Perfect location, wonderful staff, exceptional bar and bar tenders plus excellent food! This entire hotel is clean, organized and well run. We will certainly return!

Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Front Office Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello LandShark99 and thank you very much for your review of Hotel St Francis! We're so happy to hear you had a terrific stay with us. We do have an unbeatable location and we pride ourselves on excellent food and guest service as well. We're thrilled that you had such a great experience both in the rooms and in the restaurant/bar. We all look forward to the chance to accommodate you again during your next Santa Fe adventure. Alder Seaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We recently returned from a 3-night stay in Santa Fe for a Christmas ski trip with our two kids. The decor of the hotel lobby and rooms is nice- austere, old NM style. The room itself was fairly large, but the bathrooms are small and the lighting is dim. Our problem with the hotel started at 10pm when we tried to sleep. We started hearing repetitive pounding noises against the wall, as if the neighbor next door was throwing a ball against the wall. We then noticed we could hear every conversation from the intoxicated, loud people outside. We realized we were directly above the bar and the sound on the wall was the bar door opening and closing. We called down to the front desk- who clearly must know this is a problem- and they didn't offer any solutions. We were not the only room kept up until 1am- we heard our neighbor open his window to ask the bar patrons outside to keep it down. We checked out of the hotel first thing the next morning. Unbelievable! Oh, and we booked this hotel 5 months in advance. Do not stay in room #241!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael b, Manager at Hotel St. Francis, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your review on Hotel St. Francis. We apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory due to the noise you experienced. I have read your review and can assure you I am taking every means necessary to understand why this happened. I plan on using your experience as a very important training tool moving forward, so this never happens again. Once again thank you for staying at Hotel St. Francis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel
Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave., Santa Fe, NM 87501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#27 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Francis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.